We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Restaurant

Bamboo Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Calibishie
Price range: US$10 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Description: We serve breakfast every morning from 7.30 AM till 10.30 Chef will be in the kitchen awaiting your orders from12.00 PM till 05.00 PM : LUNCH06.00 PM till 09.00 PM : DINNER. We cook every day with fresh food and local products, so, it is possible that the meal you order will be out of season.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This restaurant belongs to Calibishie Lodges where we stayed for two weeks so we originally planned to eat here a lot. However, after one breakfast and one dinner we took our custom elsewhere as the food was much better in other restaurants. Portions were too small and the wine too warm. Pity as it could have been lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrshappySevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worst food in Calibishie but the highest prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The food here is not bad, in fact the cooking is quite good: we had some excellent pumpkin soup. What lets it down is the quality and quantity of the ingredients. Bacon should be more than a handful of scraps; a fish steak should be a decent piece of fish, not a scrag end; it costs almost nothing to serve decent portion sizes of bread and toast, yet all you get here is a couple of tiny slices each. This could be a good restaurant, but it simply does not match up to the competition, which is pretty fierce in Calibishie.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

On our first night out we thought we could have a nice romantic dinner. We've eaten at a lot of different places but this one seemed to want to be a high end restaurant without the service, quality or quantity of food for the pretentious price tag. You can definitely do better

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skibunnyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Tiny portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Even Heston Blumenthal would have bigger experimental portions. We couldn't believe the main course was smaller than a mini starter. Waitress was so miserable. Fresh juice was made of sugar and water.
Not a nice dining experience.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hearty meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is very near the Calabishie cove. The Managers are nice but the food was just avereage. In fact after that visit we decided to cook for the rest of our stay

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Restaurant also viewed

 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing