We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accommodations in rhythm with the island”
other travellers have booked this property
A balcony view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff
Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
#4 grounds
#4 interior
#4 balcony
Cottage #2, a two bedroom
#2 living area
#2 kitchen
Studio Cottage
BBQ picnic area.
Cottage #3 a one bedroom
#3 cottage kitchen
The river just below us and you can swim in it !
Cottage #5 a two bedroom
#5 view
#5  interior
Cottage #5 kitchen
interior #5
grounds
Cottage #1, Studio
Another balcony view
#1 Studio
#1 view from #1
grounds
a back yard picnic area under the almond tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Traildog5...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Accommodations in rhythm with the island”
Reviewed 14 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent nine nights in the one bedroom cottage at Sea Cliff and had a wonderful experience there. Gwen and Jim are lovely hosts and it is a place where you not only feel welcome, but quickly feel at home. Wake up early, buy pastry from the bread truck which rolls past your door, pick some fruit from your backyard, and have a leisurely breakfast in the warm sun on your front porch. Pascal is great for airport pick-up and drop-off, as tour guide to many places on the island, and will stop by at night to chew the fat for awhile. Book Wendy for more physically demanding hikes--Boiling Lake and Victoria Falls were both world class hikes--and he's a friendly and interesting guy to spend time with. Having explored much of the island during our stay, we were very happy to have made Calibishie our home base. It is close to the airport, is in proximity to the most interesting beaches on the island, and has a nice quiet, welcoming vibe to it. For the traveler who doesn't need to be hand held (We cooked our supper many nights, for instance--and it was good. We also traveled many places by bus.) who is looking for a great value in lodging, away from the cruise ship crowds on a gorgeous part of the island, Sea Cliff Cottages is a terrific choice. And if we are lucky enough to return to Dominica, we will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean A
Georgetown,Ontario,CANADA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot-with wonderful views!”
Reviewed 21 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Great location! Close to grocery and wine stores in Calibishie. Kitchen well equipped with SHARP knives! Spent 2 weeks on the balcony reading in total relaxing quiet. Safe walking about the area and taking local transportation. Enjoyed the local tradespeople coming down the street-selling bread,buns, roti, vegatables, and best of all fresh fish! Gwen and Jim a wealth of knowledge about the area and very approachable!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We were looking for a quiet area to enjoy the area and we definitely found it!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert A
Northern California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Heaven on Dominica”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the studio for 5 nights and would have loved to stay longer. Fabulous view and great exposure to the cooling trade winds. Kitchen w/ propane stove, lots of windows for light and ventilation, very firm mattress =), and a spacious shower. Owners and staff friendly and helpful. The nicest local man w/ a permanent smile delivers fresh hot delicious eats and juice every morning at 8:30ish. Great prices, we ate his food every day and I wish I had some now! Two trails lead to local beautiful deserted beaches, Wow, and also the best restaurant we found, a real gem, the Escape Bar and Grill! Don't miss it. Wild and scenic northern Dominica is tops and the Cottages are simply fantastic and a superior value. Robert Ayers

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It's all so nice, just stay there and decide for yourself
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JLFDurham
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superb Sea Views”
Reviewed 3 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We chose this venue because of its position and its price. Even so we were very pleasantly surprised at the amazing views from the property and the rest of the coast line. Jim and Gwen were most helpful particularly in advising us where to shop and how to make the most of the area. The purpose of our holiday was hiking and snorkelling and this was a good base for the former. The property was comfortable and well equipped and not far from the village of Calibishie. I would say that for those wanting to spend the days hiking and exploring - with a good map - and quiet evenings/early nights the cottage was ideal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArleneRos...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Nature Get-Away”
Reviewed 25 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
5
people found this review helpful

Sea Cliff Cottages are on the outskirts of Calibishe, and only half an hour from the airport. Calibishe is a village of friendly people who enjoy talking, walking and being outdoors. They grow their own vegetables and flowers, they are so helpful to point you in the right direction, and they drive by the cottages each day with fresly-baked bread, vegetables from their gardens, and sometimes even fish. From Sea Cliff we could hike to beaches and red rocks, hop the 'local van bus' to visit other beaches and waterfalls, walk into town and chat with locals each day. Calibishe is a town not for the usual tourist who wants to be waited on, but instead for someone who wishes to connect with the local color of the island, who enjoys nature, who wishes a comfortable, clean stay with birds flying through the open windows. The owners of Sea Cliff are really friendly, and we felt like we were accepted into the community. There is also Prim, a young man who will bring you to places on the island so you don't need to rent a car or drive the wild roads. And he knows the out-of-the-way hidden beauties and how to create a feast on the beach from coconuts, fresh fish and local vegetables. So if you are looking for nature, unpredictable adventures, bathing in waterfall pools, experiencing the natural beauty and beautiful people of Dominica, and feel the trade winds blowing ... then this is the place!!!! We ARE returning next year, for sure!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puravida2...
Valence, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: l'environnement
Liked least: la maison
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Sorry to hear all this now as you seemed quite happy when you were here! It is always a compromise when trying to keep a house full of light. The window screens do cut off some light but on the other hand they keep out the mosquitoes. The surrounding shade trees do keep the house cool on those hot afternoons but once again they do cut off some of the light. We have never heard this particular complaint before in the twenty plus years we have rented this cottage. Many of our guests eat on the full width balcony where there is plenty of light and air.
As far as being too far in the north of the island I feel you would have a better perspective if you had actually stayed in the south for part of your stay. The great majority of our guests who have stayed at both ends find the north much more lush and cool then the hotter drier south. Perhaps if you had asked we could have mentioned some of the many attractions in the north that typically keep guests amused for several weeks!
Oh well, better luck finding what you want next time.
Désolé d'entendre tout cela maintenant parce que vous avez semblé très heureux quand vous étiez ici! Il est toujours un compromis en essayant de garder une maison pleine de lumière. Les écrans de fenêtres coupent un peu de lumière, mais d'autre part ils gardent les moustiques. Les arbres d'ombrage environnants font garder la maison fraîche sur ces après-midi chauds mais encore une fois, ils coupent une partie de la lumière. Nous avons jamais entendu cette plainte avant dans les vingt ans plus nous avons loué ce chalet. Beaucoup de nos clients mangent sur la balcon où il y a beaucoup de lumière et de l'air.
Pour ce qui est trop loin dans le nord de l'île je pense que vous auriez une meilleure perspective si vous aviez réellement séjourné dans le sud pour une partie de votre séjour. La grande majorité de nos clients qui ont séjourné à deux extrémités trouver le nord beaucoup plus luxuriante et fraîche que le plus chaud plus sec au sud. Peut-être si vous aviez demandé, nous aurions pu mentionné quelques-unes des nombreuses attractions du nord qui permettre généralement les clients de s'amusér pendant plusieurs semaines!
Eh bien, plus de chance de trouver ce que vous voulez la prochaine fois.
Cordialement,
Sea Cliff Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riemann20...
Gap, France
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing