We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD AND COTTAGE”
other travellers have booked this property
A balcony view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff
Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
#4 grounds
#4 interior
#4 balcony
Cottage #2, a two bedroom
#2 living area
#2 kitchen
Studio Cottage
BBQ picnic area.
Cottage #3 a one bedroom
#3 cottage kitchen
The river just below us and you can swim in it !
Cottage #5 a two bedroom
#5 view
#5  interior
Cottage #5 kitchen
interior #5
grounds
Cottage #1, Studio
Another balcony view
#1 Studio
#1 view from #1
grounds
a back yard picnic area under the almond tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
mmikeeee9...
Dover, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD AND COTTAGE”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent 4 nights and the cottage was very clean and things worked. The hosts were nearby and one of their employees, Pascal, guided us to the nearby "Boiling Pot" waterfall and a great beach nearby. We picked fruit from the property and the kitchen was equipped so we could prepare a lot of our own meals. It was a short walk to an interesting beach with a fresh water river that also entered the ocean there. The front porch was a nice place to sit and look over the ocean and eat and play cards. Would love to return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are 5 cottages there together so we felt safe. It was a nice neighborhood.
Liked least: The air flow in the bedroom was not the greatest so it was a little warm a couple nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith...
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay! Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Sea Cliff Cottages was a perfect find. My Husband and I went here on our Honeymoon and stayed for 9 days. It is the perfect location in my opinion. Close to the beach, village, and a 30 minute drive from Portsmouth. Fresh fruit trees everywhere. The Mango tree in the back yard is incredible. I was sad they were not in season when we were there. We rented a car for the week and explored the area. There is a lot to do just on this one side. Gwen and Jim were a pleasure to work with, and really made us feel at home when we arrived. I highly recommend staying here, especially if you want some quiet and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location! Hoges Beach was amazing. I liked the the cottages were outside of the village, and it is a short drive to the airport.
Liked least: I would have liked screens on the windows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkepler
Brockport, New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd visit to the island and our 2nd stay at Sea Cliff Cottages. We have only been home a week or so and are already planning our return trip. Our hosts are just the best, they provide a wonderful place to stay and are ready to assist you in any and all ways that they can.
We so love the island and the generous people who get to call this magic place home. It is quiet and unspoiled, not filled with ugly highrise hotels and endless troughs to feed at, just kind folks living their lives; working, raising their families and going to school, etc. letting tourists experience what they have there.
Will admit, it can be a daunting visit if you are looking for all inclusive type atmosphere. But if your prefer just peace and pleasant people this is it. We love our accommodations and felt at home and more than comfortable and will most definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: feeling of privacy
Liked least: driving on the island is an adventure!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandG...
Cascade, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Sea Cliff was everything we hoped for and much more than we expected! Pascal was the first "face" of Sea Cliff that greeted us, he picked us up at the airport, and what a fine fellow! He stopped by several times, during our stay, to check in and visit with us. Jim and Gwen are perfect hosts - down to earth and very gracious! - we instantly felt like we'd known them forever. Gwen shared her vegetables and suprised us with fruit in the mornings, now and again...a fresh pineapple, a custard apple, grapefruit... We stayed in the Studio for 10 days and could barely pry ourselves away from the veranda to go exploring...the view is AMAZING! The north end, and Calibishie, were perfect for us, who love to hike and go to the beach....great jumping off place for exploring the most gorgeous part of the island! And Sea Cliff was perfect for us...we prefer to stay "home" and cook for ourselves. Who wants to leave that view and the quiet neighborhood?!

It's a short walk to town, but being used to walking at home, it was no problem...we walked everywhere we could since we didn't get a rental car until 4 days after we got there. Wander through town, the locals are friendly and willing to help if you've got a question or need to be pointed in the right direction. We even had folks recognizing us by the time we left! We felt safe and comfortable. Great little village!!

Sooooo much to do and see....we just have to come back next year..., we booked the Studio again....I guess that ultimately tells you how we feel about the place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I have to pick one thing?! The location/view
Liked least: No real b-bque
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMHLondon
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Cottage 5 for about 10 nights this January. It was just perfect - lots of room (there were only two of us - but there would have been lots of room for four as there are two good sized bedrooms and an excellent kitchen/living room space. It was spotlessly clean with good cooking facilities and a beautiful view from the balcony of Hodges Beach below.
Gwen and Jim could not have been friendlier, or more helpful.

We didn't rent a car until we left ....... The buses are brilliant and very cheap. Any van with an "H" numberplate will pick you up and take you as far as you want to go, within reason. And the buses are fun to travel on - it is a great way to meet people and share experiences.

We walked to Woodford Bay beach several times - about half an hour's walk - which is wonderful - otherwise went down to Hodges or to Pointe Baptiste - also a good walk, whether you take the coastal path or the road.

Calibishie is a friendly village - the second time we've stayed there - and I would thoroughly recommend staying at Sea Cliff Cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb g
Caribbean
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Pascal picked us up at the airport and took us to Sea Cliff. We arrived early for check in and Gwen allowed us to keep our bags and freshen up in another cottage until ours was ready. Then Pascal took us on an interesting trip throughout North Dominica.
Gwen, Jim and Pascal were the kindest and most generous persons I have ever come across. Whenever Gwen noticed we were outside she always asked if we needed anything and offered from what she had.
Pascal is very knowledgeable about Dominica and gave useful information on our tour. He also gave us a couple of delicious pink grapefruits. In the late evening, Pascal checked on us to make sure we were OK.
The studio cottage was comfortable and met all our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The sea view
Liked least: Proximity to shops
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traildog5...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Accommodations in rhythm with the island”
Reviewed 14 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent nine nights in the one bedroom cottage at Sea Cliff and had a wonderful experience there. Gwen and Jim are lovely hosts and it is a place where you not only feel welcome, but quickly feel at home. Wake up early, buy pastry from the bread truck which rolls past your door, pick some fruit from your backyard, and have a leisurely breakfast in the warm sun on your front porch. Pascal is great for airport pick-up and drop-off, as tour guide to many places on the island, and will stop by at night to chew the fat for awhile. Book Wendy for more physically demanding hikes--Boiling Lake and Victoria Falls were both world class hikes--and he's a friendly and interesting guy to spend time with. Having explored much of the island during our stay, we were very happy to have made Calibishie our home base. It is close to the airport, is in proximity to the most interesting beaches on the island, and has a nice quiet, welcoming vibe to it. For the traveler who doesn't need to be hand held (We cooked our supper many nights, for instance--and it was good. We also traveled many places by bus.) who is looking for a great value in lodging, away from the cruise ship crowds on a gorgeous part of the island, Sea Cliff Cottages is a terrific choice. And if we are lucky enough to return to Dominica, we will stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$95
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing