We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best of the "Nature Island"”
other travellers have booked this property
A balcony view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
A balcony view
A view of Hodges bay and island from Sea Cliff
Cottage #4, a one bedroom home with small apartment below
#4 grounds
#4 interior
#4 balcony
Cottage #2, a two bedroom
#2 living area
#2 kitchen
Studio Cottage
BBQ picnic area.
Cottage #3 a one bedroom
#3 cottage kitchen
The river just below us and you can swim in it !
Cottage #5 a two bedroom
#5 view
#5  interior
Cottage #5 kitchen
interior #5
grounds
Cottage #1, Studio
Another balcony view
#1 Studio
#1 view from #1
grounds
a back yard picnic area under the almond tree
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jim121282
Honesdale
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of the "Nature Island"”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at one of the Sea Cliff Cottages - great access to all of the East/Atlantic coast attractions. Convenient beach and river swimming, hiking, and gorgeous mountain and ocean views. The cottage was clean, felt secure and Gwen was an extremely helpful and friendly hostess. Near Calibishe for dining and only one half hour drive to Portsmouth. We'd definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Access to beach and river area.
Liked least: Lighting for reading.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ned154933
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“mega fauna”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from Calabishie Domonica,staying at Cliff cottages in the north end.Dominica is a very lush island,very tropical and large jungle.
Staying at cliff cottages is a very peaceful holliday,not far ,about 20m walk to the small town of Calibishei where you can go to nice restaurants and a couple of food stores which also cary local beer and a small amount of wines.There is also a small restaurant called Coz just around the corner from the cabins.
The cabins are really well built and safe on a couple of acres of lovely grounds over looking the ocean.They are very clean and well furnished with all you need,including a well established kitchen.The hosts Qwen and Jim,are very helpful and can provide you with lots of help and information about the area.They will arrange for a cab to pick you up at the airport etc.
Should you need a guide or tour for the island call Wendy Marcellin phone #767-316-7702' He is a young rastavarian fellow ,very friendly, you have use of a cell phone from the cabin.He also has a web site untouchabletours@yahoo.com
We would recommend this lovely holliday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views on the deck
Liked least: some taxies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We chose to stay at Sea Cliff Cottages for our month long visit to Dominica. This is a wonderful place so do not hesitate to book it. The cottages are in Calibishie on the Atlantic side. Our cottage (number 5) had a beautiful view from our back raised deck of the sea, surrounding cliffs and the mountains. We woke to beautiful sunrises every morning. Gwen and Jim, the proprietors, own 5 cottages. They live in one and rent the other 4. I viewed all of them and they are all lovely. There is a studio, two 2-bedrooms and a one bedroom. Our two bedroom had its own washer and a clothes line sor hanging clothes to dry. Everything you will need is included such as sheets, towels, kitchen equipment. Your stay here is s of catering, so you will need to walk or drive to town for supplies and food. For stays over one week, Gwen supplies fresh sheets and towels each week. Jim and Gwen are also very hospitable and help you plan your activities and make suggestions on what to do while here. Pascal and Angelo work on the property and one of them is around until 10 PM every night. Pascal is a certified guide and we hired him to take us to a few sites. He is extremely knowledgable and an excellent guid.

There is a beach down a trail right near the property. The trail at first seemed a bit steep and rocky but after a few trips, we were scampering up and down comfortably. Dominica, is after all, known as the "Nature Island". This is a mountainous and hilly place, so everywhere you go you find beautiful, natural sites, trails, and walks. We stayed 4 weeks and only rented a car for one, so we got plenty of walking in which was great for us. The town is about a. 15-20 minute walk down hill along the main road. Dominica has "busses" running continually on this main road. The busses are vans and cars. You can spot them because the license plate number begins with a letter H. All you do is flag one down and they stop for you. We rode these several times to other towns. I think it is a good way to get to meet some of the local people and see smaller villages. Often these busses veer off the main route to take an individual up into an interior town or village.

We loved our stay in Dominica at Sea Cliff Cottages and highly r commend that if you are planning a trip to this area you stay with Jim and Gwen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view from our balcony
Liked least: precarious path to beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
862Judy
Leverett, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sea Cliff is a place where you can emerse yourself in the unspoiled beauty of the island as well as small village life.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the island. We stayed in the small cottage that has the most gorgeous view and it is even better than on the website. The accommodations were great but the best aspect was the welcoming feelings conveyed by Gwen and Jim. We felt as if we were friends visiting instead of paying guests. And they helped with all sorts of island information. The location was perfect for hikes, beaches and natural wonders that are away from the tourist/cruise ship crowds. The north tip of Dominica offers so much but to do other island attractions does involve a bit of travel. The people in the village of Calibishie were so friendly and many spots are walkable. It really was like having a home for a short time. And having the bakery truck come every morning with fresh bread was fabulous. Hope we can return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the hosts
Liked least: Long drives to the other end of the island
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calderhig...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely Outlook with friendly and helpful staff.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the newest 2 bedroomed cottage which was set it its own gardens over looking the beach and cliffs. The gardens were well kept with some wonderful flowering shrubs.
The villa was basically furnished but it was more than adequate for our needs. The hot water is generated using solar power but there was no shortage for 4.The free mobile phone that comes with the property was very useful.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and they suggested some brilliant restaurants in Calibishie. The beach which was a short walk down a path was full of coconut palms ready for harvesting for our rum cocktails. Overall a quiet and relaxing base from which to explore northern Dominica.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmikeeee9...
Dover, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD AND COTTAGE”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent 4 nights and the cottage was very clean and things worked. The hosts were nearby and one of their employees, Pascal, guided us to the nearby "Boiling Pot" waterfall and a great beach nearby. We picked fruit from the property and the kitchen was equipped so we could prepare a lot of our own meals. It was a short walk to an interesting beach with a fresh water river that also entered the ocean there. The front porch was a nice place to sit and look over the ocean and eat and play cards. Would love to return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There are 5 cottages there together so we felt safe. It was a nice neighborhood.
Liked least: The air flow in the bedroom was not the greatest so it was a little warm a couple nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith...
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Stay! Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Sea Cliff Cottages was a perfect find. My Husband and I went here on our Honeymoon and stayed for 9 days. It is the perfect location in my opinion. Close to the beach, village, and a 30 minute drive from Portsmouth. Fresh fruit trees everywhere. The Mango tree in the back yard is incredible. I was sad they were not in season when we were there. We rented a car for the week and explored the area. There is a lot to do just on this one side. Gwen and Jim were a pleasure to work with, and really made us feel at home when we arrived. I highly recommend staying here, especially if you want some quiet and relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location! Hoges Beach was amazing. I liked the the cottages were outside of the village, and it is a short drive to the airport.
Liked least: I would have liked screens on the windows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing