We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset along the coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset along the coast
Verandahs on top of verandahs Kick back by the pool with a rum punch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
31 reviews
Sunset along the coast
Verandahs on top of verandahs
Kick back by the pool with a rum punch
Spacious dining and kitchen areas
Prepare meals or use our cooking services
Bathrooms all feature Phillipe Starck fixtures
Outside the master suite
On-site massage by US trained therapists
Spectacular view from the deck
Ground floor bedroom with canopy bed
All bedrooms open widely onto verandahs
Master bedroom features Tempurpedic king
Dining room, living room, kitchen
Upstairs bedroom, with canopy bed, classic McGuire captain's chairs
Living room
No better spot for a rum punch!
The study adjoins master bedroom. DVD screen not shown.
The observation deck is a spectacular spot for stargazing.
A spacious, beautiful base for your Dominican experience
The Cottage at Villa Passiflora
Bedroom at the Cottage
The bathroom at the Cottage
Garden setting for the Cottage at Villa PassiFlora
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilary S
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house but shame about the lack of sun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

This is a beautiful house in a lovely location and we weren't disappointed at the quality of the rooms, the communal areas and the way in which it is looked after by the housekeeper Isolene and the resident caretakers. The view from the terrace is wonderful and because the house is designed to be as open as possible, you fall asleep listening to the crashing of waves and the tree frogs chirping. Or the drumming of rain on the roof and the howling gale which we experienced in early December! The big problem with this house is that it is north facing and you simply don't get sun on the terraces. If you want to sunbathe your only option is to go up to the roof but you can't really drag a sunlounger with you. The lack of sun also means that the pool never warms up and it's not a particularly delightful experience to swim in. Of course there may be more sun at other times of the year but if, like me, you would like to get a bit of a tan you might be advised to seek an alternative.

The other issue with this house is that it is protected by two Rottweiler dogs who live in the basement area and bark ferociously when anyone approaches the house. Guests are safe because of the electronic tags on the dogs' collars which prevents them from coming near to the front door but it is quite annoying to be barked at every time you come back from an outing. The owner argues that quality villas like this can be a target for burglars but the dogs create an atmosphere which personally I didn't find conducive to rest and relaxation.

Overall, I think this would be a great option for nature lovers who want a comfortable and well cared-for base in a part of the island that has lots of scenic delights but isn't really good for beach lovers, the sea is just too rough.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: bedrooms, view, service from housekeeper
Liked least: lack of sun, dogs barking, poor kitchen equipment, no TV
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
Thanks for visiting, and thanks for the comments, Hilary. Our primary concern in designing Villa PassiFlora was adequate assuring adequate shade, which is crucial in order to have year-round comfort in the Caribbean. During the height of winter, when the sun is low in the sky, there is indeed very little direct sun on the verandah. We will try to make the observation tower area, which receives direct sun year-round more comfortable; there are benches, but perhaps a pad would be nice (since we indeed can't be bringing up lounge chairs). We, too, wish the pool were warmer in the winter, but we find plenty of other pleasures during these months, and the sea-- 5 minutes from the villa on foot-- is our primary swimming option at this time of year. I'm surprised these guests found it "too rough," as Pointe Baptiste Beach is, with very rare exception, notable for its gentle surf (and its beauty).

Our dogs do indeed bark when people come up the drive; that's their job, and they allow us to maintain a very open architecture with none of the iron security bars seen so commonly. That openness is the basis for many of the villa's greatest pleasures. It's a trade-off we are happy to make. The dogs don't bark pointlessly, and they don't have any direct contact with our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Foxboro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I believe this is possibly the most beautiful villa on Dominica. Completely open-air, so skiddish people beware: there will be lizards, birds and the occasion bat visitors. But, doesn't that add to the charm? Fantastic view, great rooms and a wonderful housekeeper/chef, Isolene.

Although snorkelers might say it's too rough on the Atlantic, there are calm days and protected coves. One of the nicest is just a short walk from the villa. We stayed a week and never saw anyone else on the beach. We really could have just stayed at the villa and spent time on that beach, but we ventured on.

Ft. Shirley, Cabrit's National Park, Tourcari Bay for snorkeling, Northern Link Road, Number One Beach (Johnny Depp, yes....), Batibou Beach,Central Forest Reserve (by accident), Emerald Pool, Kalinago People, Snorkeling Scott's Head and Champagne Reef. Whew!

I'd like to be clear about something. Dominica prides itself on being a very safe island, but no place is free of crime. Just be careful: don't pick up hitchhikers, be prepared to be accosted by so-called "guides" at tourist spots, ladies need to watch for overly-friendly men. The Villa itself is a haven. There is "security", e.g. Jacko and Evee, the dogs, and caretakers on the premises.

I loved this place.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the view, the pool, easy access to the beach, close to airport
Liked least: bats in my bedroom, no couch on the main level
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooklyn
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quimper
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
quimper
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phoenix
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$325
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing