We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real caribbean food at real caribbean prices”

Coral Reef Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Calibishie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Calibishie.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real caribbean food at real caribbean prices”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Funny little restaurant/bar tucked behind a supermarket. If you ask for an ice cream, they direct you to the freezer in the supermarket -- you eat it in the bar and pay supermarket prices for it.

The bar is frequented by locals, tourists and ex-pats alike -- lovely view over the bay. The surprise here is the food -- traditional Dominican food with provisions, rice and peas and fish high on the menu (not that there is a printed menu); cooked to perfection and really cheap. The only reason it does not get 5 stars is because I am saving that for Rainbow next door.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Calibishie”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Perhaps our most authentic dining expereince in Calibishie. True Dominican sides, such as dasheen, piled on the plate along with your main choice. Usually offer 4 dishes or so, 1 or 2 being seafood.Great view/ambiance. However we preferred Rainbow due to the bettter seafood selection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bbcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A good replacement for KFC?”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not sure but the staff are very friendly, the food tasty & they do a great local produce Sunday buffet

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice Local food or fast food”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We wanted a nice local lunch and went in because our Driver knew that the owners ran good places. The staff was helpful and we established that they had Fish or Chicken besides the regular menu. We each got a free drink with a $30 EC order. Rum punches were nice and the food was quite tasty and well prepared. We had Chicken, lasagne and Fresh Mahi mahi which were all well prepared and quite well seasoned. Service was pleasant end very friendly. It was a good lunch for 5 people.
The rest of their menu was mostly fast food and based on what we had it was probably well done.
Enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Seaside Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Visited twice during my stay in Calibishie, service was great on my first visit but a little slow on my second, the food was great on both occasions I enjoyed the garlic prawns they were exquisite. Will visit again on my return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
 
Marigot, Saint Andrew Parish
La Plaine, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Coral Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing