We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner on the beach”

Coral Reef Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Calibishie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Calibishie.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dinner on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A beautiful spot for dinner, the waves are only feet away and we sat and watched local boys fishing in the surf while enjoying our fresh squeezed guava juice. The dinner was decent although there is not a lot of selection. We had ribs and coconut shrimp with rice and beans and coleslaw. Over all a very good meal with great service and a fantastic view.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vllywngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    52
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real caribbean food at real caribbean prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Funny little restaurant/bar tucked behind a supermarket. If you ask for an ice cream, they direct you to the freezer in the supermarket -- you eat it in the bar and pay supermarket prices for it.

The bar is frequented by locals, tourists and ex-pats alike -- lovely view over the bay. The surprise here is the food -- traditional Dominican food with provisions, rice and peas and fish high on the menu (not that there is a printed menu); cooked to perfection and really cheap. The only reason it does not get 5 stars is because I am saving that for Rainbow next door.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Calibishie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Perhaps our most authentic dining expereince in Calibishie. True Dominican sides, such as dasheen, piled on the plate along with your main choice. Usually offer 4 dishes or so, 1 or 2 being seafood.Great view/ambiance. However we preferred Rainbow due to the bettter seafood selection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bbcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A good replacement for KFC?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Not sure but the staff are very friendly, the food tasty & they do a great local produce Sunday buffet

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Creek, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice Local food or fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We wanted a nice local lunch and went in because our Driver knew that the owners ran good places. The staff was helpful and we established that they had Fish or Chicken besides the regular menu. We each got a free drink with a $30 EC order. Rum punches were nice and the food was quite tasty and well prepared. We had Chicken, lasagne and Fresh Mahi mahi which were all well prepared and quite well seasoned. Service was pleasant end very friendly. It was a good lunch for 5 people.
The rest of their menu was mostly fast food and based on what we had it was probably well done.
Enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CampGaruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coral Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
 
Marigot, Saint Andrew Parish
La Plaine, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Coral Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing