We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place in the north of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veranda View Guest House
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Two spacious rooms overlooking the sea, with a large terrace, a very good place in the north of the island. The guest house is on the beach but at this point you can not swim. Nevertheless a few minutes drive away is Batibou Bay the most beautiful beach of the island ! You need a 4x4 to get there. Free Internet access in this guest house, secure, confortable and panorama !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickParisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Veranda View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

I'll start with the good points: the location is amazing (right on the coast in the heart of Calibishie), and the huge veranda offers beautiful sea views. I loved the open-air porch/restaurant, and the owner made us a delicious dinner of fish, rice, salad, bread, and various sides. There are two rooms here, which are not particularly luxurious but cute and comfortable. The owner was friendly (and so were her dogs).

However, I would not recommend that anyone stay here until the owner adds bars to all the windows (and/or hires a security guard). I woke up at 4 a.m. to see an intruder climbing through the window right next to our bed. He had used a 12-foot ladder to get up to our window (which had no screen), and proceeded to rifle through all of our stuff until he found my boyfriend's wallet in his shorts pocket on the floor.

We were in the room on the left if you're coming from the stairs. The windows overlooking the veranda had bars over them, but the side and back windows did not. The owner had told us not to open the side window, as there was a porch right underneath it that intruders could climb onto. She also told us not to leave valuables under the barred windows because someone could reach in and steal something through them. However, she told us that the back window would be fine to leave open for airflow. (She told us later that no one had ever used a ladder to climb in before.)

In talking to the owner, it was clear that robberies have happened here before -- except during a period in the past where she hired a guard. I hope she will consider hiring one again.

The owner did her best to make things right, taking our dinner off of the tab and letting us make a number of phone calls to cancel our credit cards. We appreciated this.

This is a charming place, but I can't recommend it unless the owner adds bars to ALL the windows -- and preferably hires a security guard as well. Ask about this before booking.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank soliteyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verandaview, manager/owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2010

Security has been improved since this incident happened by hiring a security guard at night and property is monitored by CCTV-DVR-( closed circuit tv-digital video recording) equipment 24/7. Furthermore the ladder is secured with a chain and padlock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

take it, dont matter what a new yorker said. the owner is a very nice person, the ambiente is styled by her inside, and her dogs are so pretty and intelligent

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calabishie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2007

We wanted to split our trip between the north and the south parts of the island. We picked Calibishie because it sounded like a nice spot..... maybe to the locals. Anyway, the Veranda view is just like it's name, the view is the best part. There are only 2 rooms, one with 2 beds and one with 1 bed. We picked this place because it was very cheap and it has a shared kitchen, But the rooms were very dirty and we didn't even have a bathroom door. No soap, no hand towel or wash cloth, a chair maybe?
Our room was never cleaned the 3 nights we were there. If you don't mind it being dirty, it's o.k., but it was a little too dirty for me. We would have gone to Calibishie Lodge, but they didn't have any rooms. We did get a tour from the owner after we had lunch there and the cottages are pretty nice, with there own little kitchens and separate bedrooms. They even have a pool that they'll let you use if you ask. Next time I'll stay and the lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reissbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verandaview, manager/owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2010

Veranda View guesthouse is under new and improved management since December 2007.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prenez celles avec vue sur le large !
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Costes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adélie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: A l étage ,une merveille
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
8.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
20.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda View Guest House

Address: Main Road, Calibishie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Calibishie
Price Range: £69 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda View is located on the main road in the seaside village of Calibishie. There is an upper and lower Veranda. There are two rooms sharing the wide covered and open Veranda. There is a vista of sand- ocean -rocks- mountains. The trade winds provide a cool escape from the village and is a great place to relax after touring the island.On the ground floor there is a 3rd room opening on to the lower Veranda. Here you can enjoy the beach, only 20 feet from the guest house, or sit with your friends and other guests while you share your incredible experiences of the day touring the Nature Island.Be sure to book for one of Hermein'e fantastic breakfasts, or reserve for dinner. Hermein's meals are as unique as the island. A blend of local, english, french and dutch foods. A great meal to be remembered.The rooms are basic but have all the comforts of home, decorated in an artistic manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Veranda View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda View Guest House Dominica/Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing