We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for Calibishie, but some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veranda View Guest House
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK for Calibishie, but some problems”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The setting on the small bay sheltered by an offshore reef gives this place a very nice location. This is a good base for venturing out into Calibishie. Visiting Calibishie, and especially partying over the weekend, was an unforgettable experience.

Staying at this guesthouse, however, left me wishing I could forget some other aspects of our trip. The lady who runs the place, the owner presumably, has some nice qualities, such as her taking care of dogs, which is a relief after seeing the poor state of the street dogs on the rest of the island. She was quite cold to me and my wife, and was unhelpful when the village was mysteriously deprived of water for an entire day and night.

The lack of running water in the village was disconcerting not because I am a high-maintenance or overly particular American, but rather because of it being a sanitation issue. Clean running water is a pre-requisite for healthy conditions. Standing water and the build-up of human waste is where diseases like Cholera can spread.

The guest house operator seemed curious about my request for a bucket so I could flush the toilet with sea water, and 15 hours later, after she removed the bucket from anywhere I could use it or find it, she gave us a small water bottle from the other village and somewhat mockingly suggested we could use it to flush the toilet.

Flushing the toilet in your hotel or "guesthouse" room can become a big deal after a while, especially when there is no door on the bathroom so that you have to sleep with your head essentially near the toilet.

Aside from the lack of door on the bathroom, the room was terribly small and the rest of the "staff" or the people who frequented the premises were quite rude. In all the experience was way too rough and made us feel unwelcome. Overpriced as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandechoes, Owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for your concern towards the sanitation situation in Calibishie.
Unfortunately the 2 days that you stayed with us the village was most of the time without water, which is beyond my control. For the years we have been here the village has never been without water for such an extended period of time
To my knowledge we tried to help you, and our other guests, as much as possible within the situation and the bottle of drinking water we brought you, and our other guests, from another village was to drink and/or brush your teeth, NOT to flush the toilet.
We are sorry you did not express your feelings while you were here, we could have tried to alleviate your concerns.
In case you do decide to come back to Dominica feel free to contact us, we can offer you a night for free, hopefully with water at that point in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee on Delaware, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Veranda View and loved it. The room upstairs was simple yet lovely. We so enjoyed the sea breeze which was a constant blowing through all of the open windows. We loved all of the outdoor seating available and spent much more of our time there on the veranda than we did inside. The views of the ocean waves crashing up against the rocks were hypnotic and we could barely get ourselves off the veranda at night where we were just so happy to gaze out at the incredible full moon sky. Having the veranda along with the room felt like an incredible amount of space available to us and we loved that for most of our nights there we had it all to ourselves, it being off season.
The location is perfect for visiting any of the beautiful nearby beaches and easy enough to get to some of the further hiking as well. We loved just walking around Calibishi and chatting with the locals and enjoying the natural beauty which is everywhere. We also loved the restaurant right downstairs where we enjoyed some wonderful meals right along the beach.
Hermien was so lovely, personable and warm and wonderfully helpful in getting us where we needed to go. She went out of her way to introduce us to some locals when we expressed an interest in the possiblility of going back to live in Calibishi. She was very generous in sharing herself with us and very informative on any questions we asked of her.
Her brunch on our last day was quite the feast and she even included capers and smoked salmon in along with a wide variety of deliciously prepared fresh fruits, breads, eggs, etc. We left feeling very happy and satisfied. We were very happy when we were preparing to go when Hermien offered us a ride into the airport, saving us the bus ride in. Our biggest complaint was that we had to leave Veranda View and Hermien behind. We truly felt like we were leaving behind a very dear friend and I still hold onto Hermiens warmth, beautiful smiles and generosity of spirit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a real find...we are a family of five, and took both of the rooms on the second floor. We were the only guests. The second floor is a large open terrace covered by a roof, with a living room, dining room table, and small kitchen with a little stove and a fridge. Beyond the covered area there is a broad open-air terrace with chaise lounge chairs where you can watch the waves crash, the bright stars at night, and the sunrise. The kids stayed in the triple room (a double and a single bed) and we stayed in the room with the Queen sized bed. Downstairs, there is a beautiful sitting area right next to the water, where Hermien will make you breakfast. She lives on that level in a very nice-looking set of rooms, with three friendly dogs. Hermien is a great hostess.

Veranda View is right in town, so it's only a short block to the grocery store. Behind the rather grungy grocery store is a beautiful restaurant, a thatch-roofed, open-air place with a bamboo bar and very good food and service at a good price.

Hampstead beach is gorgeous, with a lovely freshwater river which forms a pond you can swim in. Red Rocks is also very beautiful, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Our stay at Veranda View was a perfect Caribbean experience: Casual, charming and colorful room. Helpful, friendly and interesting hostess, Hermien. Clean, beautiful and picturesque beach. No security issues at all. Will recommend to my friends with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownie2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed only 2 days unfortunately, but we definitely will come back!Hermien , Coco and the dogs are perfect!!!!!!!! Just be open minded and get into the spirit and rythm of locals. Thatks all! Lut & Guillaume

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lut75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Two spacious rooms overlooking the sea, with a large terrace, a very good place in the north of the island. The guest house is on the beach but at this point you can not swim. Nevertheless a few minutes drive away is Batibou Bay the most beautiful beach of the island ! You need a 4x4 to get there. Free Internet access in this guest house, secure, confortable and panorama !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickParisWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I'll start with the good points: the location is amazing (right on the coast in the heart of Calibishie), and the huge veranda offers beautiful sea views. I loved the open-air porch/restaurant, and the owner made us a delicious dinner of fish, rice, salad, bread, and various sides. There are two rooms here, which are not particularly luxurious but cute and comfortable. The owner was friendly (and so were her dogs).

However, I would not recommend that anyone stay here until the owner adds bars to all the windows (and/or hires a security guard). I woke up at 4 a.m. to see an intruder climbing through the window right next to our bed. He had used a 12-foot ladder to get up to our window (which had no screen), and proceeded to rifle through all of our stuff until he found my boyfriend's wallet in his shorts pocket on the floor.

We were in the room on the left if you're coming from the stairs. The windows overlooking the veranda had bars over them, but the side and back windows did not. The owner had told us not to open the side window, as there was a porch right underneath it that intruders could climb onto. She also told us not to leave valuables under the barred windows because someone could reach in and steal something through them. However, she told us that the back window would be fine to leave open for airflow. (She told us later that no one had ever used a ladder to climb in before.)

In talking to the owner, it was clear that robberies have happened here before -- except during a period in the past where she hired a guard. I hope she will consider hiring one again.

The owner did her best to make things right, taking our dinner off of the tab and letting us make a number of phone calls to cancel our credit cards. We appreciated this.

This is a charming place, but I can't recommend it unless the owner adds bars to ALL the windows -- and preferably hires a security guard as well. Ask about this before booking.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank soliteyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verandaview, manager/owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2010
Security has been improved since this incident happened by hiring a security guard at night and property is monitored by CCTV-DVR-( closed circuit tv-digital video recording) equipment 24/7. Furthermore the ladder is secured with a chain and padlock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
8.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
20.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cloud9 Dominica
Cloud9 Dominica
#2 of 8 in Calibishie
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mainroad Suite
Mainroad Suite
#5 of 8 in Calibishie
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda View Guest House

Property: Veranda View Guest House
Address: Main Road, Calibishie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Calibishie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda View is located on the main road in the seaside village of Calibishie. There is an upper and lower Veranda. There are two rooms sharing the wide covered and open Veranda. There is a vista of sand- ocean -rocks- mountains. The trade winds provide a cool escape from the village and is a great place to relax after touring the island.On the ground floor there is a 3rd room opening on to the lower Veranda. Here you can enjoy the beach, only 20 feet from the guest house, or sit with your friends and other guests while you share your incredible experiences of the day touring the Nature Island.Be sure to book for one of Hermein'e fantastic breakfasts, or reserve for dinner. Hermein's meals are as unique as the island. A blend of local, english, french and dutch foods. A great meal to be remembered.The rooms are basic but have all the comforts of home, decorated in an artistic manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Veranda View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda View Guest House Dominica/Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing