We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veranda View Guest House
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were on a one-month round-trip of Dominica and travelled through Calibishie. We read a good review of Veranda View in Lonely Planet so we decided to go there. It was better than we had expected and ended up staying several nights. At the end of the trip we realized it was the best place we stayed during the whole trip (we also visited Guadeloupe) - better than the more expensive hotels.
The location is really beautiful, the rooms are nicely decorated, the building is painted in bright colors - these aspects combined made it like an oasis where we really felt we could relax for a couple of days. Hermien, who is very friendly, cooked us a tasty dinner, but was also very flexible when we wanted to eat out for a night. In the morning we fried our own eggs in the guesthouse kitchen. We are very active people, but we ended up spending a whole morning reading on the sofa, watching the waves, looking at our photos. So it was like a mix of feeling relaxed and at home (unlike many other places we stayed) and yet be attended to with good personal service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room upstairs on the veranda, lefthand-side, which is really pretty. We talked to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonivandeSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at Veranda View Guest House. Set in an absolutely beautiful and idyllic spot right on the water, it is an extremely welcoming and friendly establishment. The owner Hermien is a very warm and special person and the other staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was clean, spacious (yet cozy) and had its own terrace with a terrific view over the bay. The rooms are simply but tastefully decorated by Hermien. From the ground floor there is immediate access to a small private beach with seating in the shade of a beautiful almond tree. Breakfasts at Veranda View served on the terrace were excellent with a variety of breads, cheeses, cold cuts and various
preparation of eggs and other warm dishes. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon was especially delicious. On several evenings we reserved dinner which was cooked by Hermien. The meals were outstanding and on our first night we enjoyed the most divine freshly caught local crayfish cooked in a special (not to be disclosed to guests of course!) recipe. On the other evenings we were served 'catch of the day' which was equally delicious accompanied by very
nice wines. For us it was a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time on the island of Dominica, and
we hope to return to Veranda View again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 774Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The setting on the small bay sheltered by an offshore reef gives this place a very nice location. This is a good base for venturing out into Calibishie. Visiting Calibishie, and especially partying over the weekend, was an unforgettable experience.

Staying at this guesthouse, however, left me wishing I could forget some other aspects of our trip. The lady who runs the place, the owner presumably, has some nice qualities, such as her taking care of dogs, which is a relief after seeing the poor state of the street dogs on the rest of the island. She was quite cold to me and my wife, and was unhelpful when the village was mysteriously deprived of water for an entire day and night.

The lack of running water in the village was disconcerting not because I am a high-maintenance or overly particular American, but rather because of it being a sanitation issue. Clean running water is a pre-requisite for healthy conditions. Standing water and the build-up of human waste is where diseases like Cholera can spread.

The guest house operator seemed curious about my request for a bucket so I could flush the toilet with sea water, and 15 hours later, after she removed the bucket from anywhere I could use it or find it, she gave us a small water bottle from the other village and somewhat mockingly suggested we could use it to flush the toilet.

Flushing the toilet in your hotel or "guesthouse" room can become a big deal after a while, especially when there is no door on the bathroom so that you have to sleep with your head essentially near the toilet.

Aside from the lack of door on the bathroom, the room was terribly small and the rest of the "staff" or the people who frequented the premises were quite rude. In all the experience was way too rough and made us feel unwelcome. Overpriced as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlandechoes, Owner at Veranda View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for your concern towards the sanitation situation in Calibishie.
Unfortunately the 2 days that you stayed with us the village was most of the time without water, which is beyond my control. For the years we have been here the village has never been without water for such an extended period of time
To my knowledge we tried to help you, and our other guests, as much as possible within the situation and the bottle of drinking water we brought you, and our other guests, from another village was to drink and/or brush your teeth, NOT to flush the toilet.
We are sorry you did not express your feelings while you were here, we could have tried to alleviate your concerns.
In case you do decide to come back to Dominica feel free to contact us, we can offer you a night for free, hopefully with water at that point in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Veranda View and loved it. The room upstairs was simple yet lovely. We so enjoyed the sea breeze which was a constant blowing through all of the open windows. We loved all of the outdoor seating available and spent much more of our time there on the veranda than we did inside. The views of the ocean waves crashing up against the rocks were hypnotic and we could barely get ourselves off the veranda at night where we were just so happy to gaze out at the incredible full moon sky. Having the veranda along with the room felt like an incredible amount of space available to us and we loved that for most of our nights there we had it all to ourselves, it being off season.
The location is perfect for visiting any of the beautiful nearby beaches and easy enough to get to some of the further hiking as well. We loved just walking around Calibishi and chatting with the locals and enjoying the natural beauty which is everywhere. We also loved the restaurant right downstairs where we enjoyed some wonderful meals right along the beach.
Hermien was so lovely, personable and warm and wonderfully helpful in getting us where we needed to go. She went out of her way to introduce us to some locals when we expressed an interest in the possiblility of going back to live in Calibishi. She was very generous in sharing herself with us and very informative on any questions we asked of her.
Her brunch on our last day was quite the feast and she even included capers and smoked salmon in along with a wide variety of deliciously prepared fresh fruits, breads, eggs, etc. We left feeling very happy and satisfied. We were very happy when we were preparing to go when Hermien offered us a ride into the airport, saving us the bus ride in. Our biggest complaint was that we had to leave Veranda View and Hermien behind. We truly felt like we were leaving behind a very dear friend and I still hold onto Hermiens warmth, beautiful smiles and generosity of spirit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a real find...we are a family of five, and took both of the rooms on the second floor. We were the only guests. The second floor is a large open terrace covered by a roof, with a living room, dining room table, and small kitchen with a little stove and a fridge. Beyond the covered area there is a broad open-air terrace with chaise lounge chairs where you can watch the waves crash, the bright stars at night, and the sunrise. The kids stayed in the triple room (a double and a single bed) and we stayed in the room with the Queen sized bed. Downstairs, there is a beautiful sitting area right next to the water, where Hermien will make you breakfast. She lives on that level in a very nice-looking set of rooms, with three friendly dogs. Hermien is a great hostess.

Veranda View is right in town, so it's only a short block to the grocery store. Behind the rather grungy grocery store is a beautiful restaurant, a thatch-roofed, open-air place with a bamboo bar and very good food and service at a good price.

Hampstead beach is gorgeous, with a lovely freshwater river which forms a pond you can swim in. Red Rocks is also very beautiful, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marnosti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Our stay at Veranda View was a perfect Caribbean experience: Casual, charming and colorful room. Helpful, friendly and interesting hostess, Hermien. Clean, beautiful and picturesque beach. No security issues at all. Will recommend to my friends with confidence.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownie2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed only 2 days unfortunately, but we definitely will come back!Hermien , Coco and the dogs are perfect!!!!!!!! Just be open minded and get into the spirit and rythm of locals. Thatks all! Lut & Guillaume

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lut75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calibishie
7.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
20.4 mi away
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portsmouth
26 reviews
20.7 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Picard Beach Cottages
Picard Beach Cottages
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
82 reviews
19.7 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Grand Bourg
126 reviews
20.3 mi away
El Rancho
El Rancho
#2 of 2 in Grand Bourg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda View Guest House

Address: Main Road, Calibishie, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Andrew Parish > Calibishie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Calibishie
Price Range: £67 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda View is located on the main road in the seaside village of Calibishie. There is an upper and lower Veranda. There are two rooms sharing the wide covered and open Veranda. There is a vista of sand- ocean -rocks- mountains. The trade winds provide a cool escape from the village and is a great place to relax after touring the island.On the ground floor there is a 3rd room opening on to the lower Veranda. Here you can enjoy the beach, only 20 feet from the guest house, or sit with your friends and other guests while you share your incredible experiences of the day touring the Nature Island.Be sure to book for one of Hermein'e fantastic breakfasts, or reserve for dinner. Hermein's meals are as unique as the island. A blend of local, english, french and dutch foods. A great meal to be remembered.The rooms are basic but have all the comforts of home, decorated in an artistic manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Veranda View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda View Guest House Dominica/Calibishie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing