We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding Overlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp David Ranch

Camp David Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$60
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An outstanding Overlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Camp David's draw is the cool evening breeze, its isolation in the city foothills, and the breathtaking view - particularly at sunset [get there early for a west-side table]. A romantic dinner for two is a must here. The menu is varied, and Camp Davis is one of the few restaurants where they will prepare your meats medium rare. Drinks were presented as Fresca but frozen mixes were obvious. Service is excellent and meal presentation supurb, timed to offer a romantic time with your querida without being rushed. On my romantic places list for Santiago.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    72
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highlight of Santiago, Dom Rep! (minus) Lack of Customer Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

One week before arriving Santiago, I e-mailed "info@campdavidranch.com" with the subject line: 'An inquiry from a TripAdvisor user for Camp David Ranch' to inquire about reservations, etc. To date, no response! Upon landing in the DR, I made reservations via phone. Once at Camp David we (party of 3) were seated immediately. We enjoyed the aerial views of the city, as well as, the sun setting over Santiago! Although, we raved about the food and setting to the staff…..the staff lacked enthusiastic attitude, we did not expect such from employees working in such gorgeous environment. Very little attentiveness on their part. Fortunately, we did allow the lack of customer service to taint our evening. Overall, the delicious food and panoramic views were worth of the visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de los Cabs
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Camp David Ranch is a very pleasant place to spend sometime with friends, family members and even solo. Very wonderful view, fresh air up in themountains!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoelZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must go in Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were on a pilgrimage through DR and when we got to Santiago we definitely had to visit Camp David, it has a really stunning view of the city. You actually don't have to stay at the hotel to enjoy a drink in their beautiful restaurant balcony. The food could be better, to my taste it was just above average. The appetizers are delicious though. their drinks are quite nice, a great variety and not too expensive comparing them in US dollars. Go around sunset til night, it has the best time to appreciate the view. Service was quite prompt and professional. This place is hard to find though, the city was under construction of a new highway so maybe that contributed to the difficulty, but if you follow their signs and stick with them you'll get there. Once you get to the mountain road it's just traight up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lontanicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
323 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is place to go for the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

It is a nice and pleasant restaurant to go to enjoy the view and with your love one. The food is ok, but the view of Santiago is spectacular. Is not far from the city of Santiago and is worth the visit. Take a jacket at night. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David Ranch, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for visiting our restaurant..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camp David Ranch also viewed

Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
Santiago de los Caballeros, Santiago Province
 

Been to Camp David Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing