We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Colonial

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de los Caballeros
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Colonial
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Arrived in Santiago for our outbound plane to Orlando the next day and stayed in the Hotel Colonial Deluxe next to Hotel Colonial (same owners) in the old section of Santiago. For $35 USD we had a secure double smallish room with AC, cable, fridge, double bed, writing desk & chair and a large bath w/hot water. Breakfast included. No lift, though. No problem as staff carried our bags up to the second floor room. On a street with modestly priced eateries and walking distance to Rio Yaque del Norte. Six blocks (on Av. Espana) to the Serena Super Mercado. Airport taxi picked us up in the morning with the driver coming to our rooms for the bags and taking us to Cibao International Airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here last Friday night. We've gotten much better for the same price in Peru, though maybe the Hotel has better rooms in one of the other two blocks. We selected a double with fan for 655 pesos and got room 8, the temperature with fan was fine. Everything was very old - electric shower, bathroom installations. Plus there were hairs in the bathroom and we battled plenty of baby and medium cockroaches running around. For me that was the worst part, for my husband it was the 6:30am surprise- one window looked over a small yard next door, where a LOUD motor started running at least until we checked out at noon. Even with the ceiling fan going, the noise came in and bounced around off all the walls. It was certainly loud - if you can turn it into white noise, no problem sleeping... but still super annoying. We had to shout to hear each other.

Location of the hotel was fine during the day, walking back around 10-11pm we were okay though everything is closed. It probably helps that my husband looks Dominican and we are used to walking around Lima.

The owner was nice enough (though we left with a bitter taste since he must have known about the motor when he assigned us the room), adopted a take-it-or-leave-it attitude - fair number of people coming through. They take CCs and have wi-fi in the lobby.

If you're looking for budget, this might be your best option. There may be better rooms out there, just make sure you look first and look very closely at the bathroom! My husband says to say hi to the cockroaches for us.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room (or rooms!) before accepting. Don't take room 8 (or possibly any on the left s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graziNatalija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel Colonial is smack dab in the middle of Santiago and is close to a lot of beautiful things to see. The rooms are nice, simple and clean.

The management was really helpful in giving directions and in making our stay really comfortable. There is wi-fi as well.

The best part was breakfast! We had mangu, eggs, fried cheese and toast. Super Dominican and super cheap. This is a great value for your time in Santiago.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoLeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

As a solo traveler, I spent two nights here. Good location, friendly manager. Room is small, uninspiring, but clean, and, oh, so cheap: $16 for room with shower, fan, and TV (originally I asked for a room with air-conditioning. That cost $26, but didn't need it in February). Was glad I came!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scoop12356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Hotel Colonial gives very good value. It is centrally located, clean, good security and a local type restaraunt. It has a range of room prices that are all economical. There is however a lot of street noise. The neighborhood is very busy in the day and quiet with some "street" types at night like hookers. Avoid the Chinese place next door. The owners of Colonial speak perfect English and will help you solve just a about any problem. Unless you are looking for the trappings of luxury this is a good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is close to city market,shopping district, close to city area and close to Santiago monument. The hotel is average it has hot water, tv,small fridge. Room get be book with breakfast which consist of Dominican food mash platain (mangu), salami or egg, chocolate or coffee. Room can be for $30.00 in the off seanson. This is the place I used often when arrived at Santiago city for short period of time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I agree with most of the other reviews here - we traveled here with my three children (youngest is 6) in June 2012 and had a wonderful visit in Santiago. We didn't have a car and had no problem getting cabs and taking buses where we couldn't walk. The staff helped us find the simple things - bank, shopping, food etc. I'm not fluent in Spanish but can speak it enough to get along - the staff was patient in explaining stuff to me, and the owner? speaks very good English and loved talking to my kids. We didn't hang out after dark - but since we had kids we didn't need to anyway. It seemed safe enough, but there is a lot going on in the streets. The rooms have TVs, window air conditioning units and a small fridge. Our hot water wasn't completely consistent but we usually had it. There are three or four prices for the different rooms, which are posted in the lobby of the middle building. The lady we spoke to couldn't tell us why? We had more expensive rooms and moved to a cheaper one but we couldn't tell much of a difference. They didn't clean our rooms while we were out during the day, but they did offer to, so I'm sure you could request it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mombygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
0.2 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolitanos
Aparta Hotel Jardines Metropolit...
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Sol Hotel
Aloha Sol Hotel
#7 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Salvador cucurullo Nos. 113 and 115, Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de los Caballeros
Number of rooms: 67

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing