We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Santiago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Santiago”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is definitely overpriced compared to others in the Dominican Republic but is the only choice in Santiago for a clean, quiet place to stay. The rooms are spacious but nothing special. Breakfast was not included in our sky high rate so we did not eat in the hotel. One plus: the hotel does have a beautiful swimming pool which is situated outside on a terrace with great views of the surrounding area. While in town, be sure to eat at Il Pasticcio 5 minutes by taxi. It is surely the best restaurant in Santiago: delicious food at reasonable prices. In fact, it may be the best restaurant in the country! It certainly is our favorite and we have been doing a lot of traveling to the Dominican Republic this past year.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    92
    28
    17
    8
See reviews for
55
61
19
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel es excellent. The staff is so friendly. The food is excellent: authentic dominican and international food and the service in the restaurants is great. Fantastic in every way----location, comfort, service. Wonderful location for business and vacation travel. Looking forward to returning in the spring to my most favorite city in the world----and to my most favorite hotel.

Dr. N. J.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 48480JoaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

This hotel is way overpriced for what you get. I travel a lot inside the Dominican Republic and most of the so called luxury hotels are pretentious. The general furnishments and layout are impressive but that is about all. The great majority of guests are people who are not paying for their rooms but rather airline, government, or NGO employees. Not worth the exorbinant price for anybody who is paying their own bill. They have a casino that would be fringe quality at best in las vegas.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Our delegation stayed at Gran Almirante Hotel in March 2011 and 2012, with plans to stay again in March 2013. The foundation, Friends of Lead Free Children.org has been traveling to the DR since 1993 on annual Humanitarian Missions. The majority of our delegates are doctors who donate their valuable time ( NYC/NJ surgeons, dentists and pediatricians) to travel to the DR once a week in March each year to give free health services to poor families. To respect the scarifies these medical professionals are making, we carefully screen the hotels to be certain they offer the highest standards to our delegation, we owe this to them. The NYC doctors delegation have stayed at only the finest 4-5 star hotels in Santo Domingo: Jaragua, Hilton Santo Domingo, Melia Santo Domingo, InterContinental V Centenario, and Hotel Santo Domingo.
In 2011, I traveled to Santiago to screen for the best hotel for our delegation, which was going to the northern region that year for the first time of our Humanitarian Missions. The selection of the Gran Almirante for our 50 doctors group was an easy choice. The hotel was ideally located for our group, about 15 min from the airport, and was a true 4-5 star hotel offering the same high quality facilities and service our doctor delegation was accustomed to and would expect. The Gran Almirante business center was excellent and in full use by our delegates, as well as the rooms being clean and maintained daily. The gym and pool were updated and the view from the pool was a picture taking experience.
The hotel offers a bountiful breakfast, which features a wide variety of fresh selections in a casual atmosphere to start the day off. The service was excellent and it was obvious the hotel management understood the needs of their guests and provided the service expected of a 5 star hotel, any and all complains were promptly addressed by management. Our delegation returned in March 2012, and the
Gran Almirante had maintained their high standards and service our delegation had experienced the previous year. This was important for our foundation due that the majority of our Dominican American doctors were born and raised in the Santiago region and still had family and friends living there, whom they invited to meet at the Gran Almirante for drinks and dining. Our foundation wanted all our guests to have a positive experience for the entire trip, especially with their family and friends reunions. The feedback for our doctors was so positive that they want us to return the entire Humanitarian Delegation ( 55 plus) again to the Gran Almirante in March 2013.

Room Tip: There is a casino connected to the hotel, therefore I recommend requesting a room on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevelnull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Attendend a wedding in Santiago, stayed for the weekend. Everything from the moment we arrived to the time we left, was excellent to say the least. The place to stay is on the fifth floor, it's worth the extra money.The staff is attentive and accomadating. The view from the breakfast area is incrediable, almost makes you want to stay longer.The pool area is super and Freddy the bartended will help you relax. This place is must for anyone traveling to Santiago.PS ask for Jonathan Figueroa at the front desk,he was very helpful in explaining the hotel rooms and anemities. Great Job Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel. Looking forward to visiting soon!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I frequently visit Santiago, DR and stay at the Hodelpa Grand Almirante. The hotel is a great place to stay, convenentially located and I find the accomodations to be very good. I want to especially recognize the entire staff on the 5th concierge floor and Jesus Alberto Almonte for their great service and attention to detail. They often go out of their way to ensure the guests have a good experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My name is Orlando V. The Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino is the ONLY place to stay if you are going to Santiago. I have been there on 2 other occations and it has been a great experience. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel special. The rooms are spacious and clean. I go to Santiago at least once a year on business (Benito Mendoza Baseball League) and its the only place I will stay. The casino at night is lively and I won a couple of pesos. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the house keeping staff are friendly and helpful. My stay there is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.4 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camp David
Camp David
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Property: Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Address: Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel And Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel Santiago
Gran Almirante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing