We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Business Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I would never recommend this hotel for anyone traveling for business in the Santiago area. When we checked in (three of us traveling in my group), we specifically asked for rooms away from the casino - my room was right over the top of the casino on the third floor. On Saturday night and Monday night, the casino had a band playing - sounded like it was right outside my window and I could not get any sleep at all. In my room, the AC fan bearing must have been shot - it was noisy anytime the fan kicked on (which it did often when i was in the room because the cleaning personnel shut it off every day after they cleaned making the room sweltering when we got back from the job site). The breakfast staff was wonderful. The young lady in the gift shop was wonderful. The door man was very kind and helpful. Other than that, the rest of the staff did not seem to care (although they were very helpful if you were a "Fifth Floor Resident". There is construction going on both sides of the building - large areas of the exterior wall have been removed for improvements. Why they had to tear out so much before they started to repair, I don't know, but all of the exterior access led to bugs and construction noise. The pool itself was nice, but the deck was so hot it was no fun getting from the pool chair into the pool. The only other positive I can think of is the location - it is walking distance from Pedro's, one of my favorite restaurants in all of Santiago. I hope it gets better once all of the construction completed, but doubt I will ever come back to find out.

Room Tip: Make sure you do NOT get a room over the casino if you are going to stay here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

After staying at this hotel for a week, I cant believe its rated number one. The staff could care less about any guest not staying on the 5th floor, most of the property is run down like an old Ramada Inn (carpets in rooms that are dirty and frayed, pool and pool deck peeling paint, beds long past their life and sheets thinner than tissue) and the "Small Construction" that other folks mention is actually holes in walls going up 3 stories on each side of the building (leading to large insects in the hotel) and jackhammers starting early in the morning.

I can see how at one point this may have been a good hotel, but the shape its in and the way its run (rooms left open not constructed on are right over casino or pool) are so loud from the bands in the casino or drunks at the pool that its almost impossible to get a good nights sleep. When brought to the Front Desk managers attention multiple times he did nothing, no offers to move a room nor, remove the people at the pool that were there 2 hours after closing time.

The only caring decent staff in the place are in the restaurant and I feel sorry for what they have to work with.

The location is good close to everything, but our team has decided that should we come back we will just take a cab and not stay at this overpriced, poorly taken care of dump.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here pay for the 5th floor and eat off site at the multitude of restaurants behi...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night at this hotel but for next time I will prefer the Hodelpa Garden Court, newest and better value.
The Gran Almirante has a great location but it is too old and worn out, plus no hot water in my shower.
I used the Gym and it was a bit too old too but functional, breakfast was ok with a great veriety.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our family stayed two nights on the Club Imperial (Fifth Floor) and we loved it. Everyone we spoke with at the hotel gave amazing personal service. A great convenience is breakfast served on the same floor, so you don't have to get in the elevator and go downstairs. The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had all the conveniences and plenty of towels in each size (facial, hand and body). You get a free 30-minute full body massage with the Club Imperial stay and it was fabulous. The only downside is the size of the room-- it was a little small for two double beds. The hotel was doing some construction when we were there, so it may be noisy during the day for a couple of hours--no big deal for us. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and try the other Hodelpa hotels when we return to DR. Also, please note that this hotel is not downtown, but there is usually a taxi waiting outside the lobby that can take you (about 10min ride in no traffic; 200 DR Pesos).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NY33357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I took the advice of previous reviewers, so I can only comment on the fifth floor (Club Imperial). It's not that much more and seems more than worth it. Actually, if you take advantage of the included freebies, it's probably a better value.

I can honestly say that I have never had anything less than a positive experience with every staff member. Obviously, some are better than others, but not a single negative experience. I asked one of the 5th floor concierges to investigate an airplane ride (if there was a flight school or something similar at the airport) and she had the information within 30 minutes. (Yes, you can take a Cessna 172 flight to where ever you want - pay by the hour.)

The 5th floor rooms are immaculate. Housekeeping and room service are flawless.

The pool is great, being above the hotel, with a convenient bar. The gym is as good as you can expect. (Free weights are a little lacking.)

There's a Friday's about 50 yards away. It can be convenient.

There's always taxis out front. Just take the guy's card and call ahead a few minutes, and he'll pick you up later.

Call a day ahead to ensure the airport shuttle. Language differences can be a little tricky here, but stick with it.

I've noticed a lot of airline crews stay here, so that's another reason I assume you can't do better.

Room Tip: Go with the 5th floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmcGmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure.
Hotel staff is super friendly and attentive to your every need.
Hotel Rests. and Room service are very, very good... good prices for a hotel.
Comfortable beds and good linens. Comfort Room offers massage chairs to relax.
Casino downstairs gives you something else to do at nights... safe atmosphere.
Close to everything in Santiago, DR.
Don't expect roomy elevators, max cap is 6-8pp.
There are renovating some areas, but in NO way they bother you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magvel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel to stay. The Lobby has marble floors, ample space. Pool area is very nice. Rooms are below average, I could feel the dust on the air. It looks dated.
I would rate this hotel as a nice 3 1/2 Stars. The problem is , I was charged as a 5 stars hotel.

Overall, get a good price, and this is a very good business hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTrotter100K-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
1.4 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
289 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
97 reviews
4.6 mi away
Camp David
Camp David
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino

Address: Ave Salvador Estrella Sadhala, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: £123 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel Santiago
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel And Casino
Gran Almirante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing