We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience so far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodelpa Garden Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hodelpa Garden Court
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome experience so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have been "living" in this hotel since January 2014 because of my job. These people will make you feel at home even though you're far away. Juan and his team at the front desk will make you feel special in every visit. Customer service agents like Miguel are really valuable assets for the company as they will make people come back and be a loyal customer. I have been in many hotels before and the experience they provide to customers is genuine and sincere.

The facility is in an awesome condition, cleanliness have never seen any kind of dirt in any area of the property, food is awesome at the restaurant "El Valle" you should try pasta Penne Carbonara or Pork in BBQ with potatoes, simply delicious! in a really affordable price. I can continue mentioning everything that this hotel has and I won't finish in all these lines but, what makes it special is the people that day to day is dedicated to provides us an awesome experience on their property. Your people is your most valuable resource.

Ruben Rosario.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    60
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
25
13
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed here twice in the past three years, and really enjoyed it both times. I came this time for a wedding at a nearby Catholic church. The employees are very kind and helpful, and remembered me from before---like I was an old friend. The gym is well-equipped, and there is even a laundry room. The classic Dominican breakfast buffet is always memorable! You will also be in a quiet location just outside of town, with easy access to both the city and the airport. I love staying there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have stayed at the Garden Court before, I have just got back from there and will stay there again. Several of my other colleagues have stayed here as well on our various business trips to Santiago de los Caballeros and we all regard it as a good hotel.

Location: The hotel is conveniently situated near the airport (5-10 mins by taxi) and for the city (10-15 minutes by taxi). Considering it is close to both the airport and a main road the hotel is very quiet and relaxed. There is not much to do outside the hotel. It is a business hotel not really a resort hotel.

Reception and Public Areas: The reception is open and spacious. There is seating, free drinks, a business centre and access to the pool, gym, bar and restaurant. All is clean, well maintained and well staffed.

Reception and Concierge: Very helpful, especially to a non-Spanish speaker. All staff speak at least some English. All very helpful. Check in and check out was painless and room bills always accurate.

Pools & Garden: The pool is fairly small, there is seating around the pool. This area seems hardly to be used by any guests. We used the pool and seating and often nobody else was there. Maintenance and cleanliness was good.

Bar & Restaurant: The bar is small and shuts at 11:00pm. Serves the excellent Presidente Pilsner. Staff friendly.

The restaurant serves all meals. Breakfast is a hearty buffet. The hot courses change a little day by day but usually contain steamed plantain, fried mango & onions, sausage, bacon, eggs, fried cheese, etc. Omelettes are available to order. They also have cold cuts, fruits, juices and pastries. I enjoy the breakfast here a lot. I have withdrawal symptoms from the lack of fried cheese back home!

Lunch and dinner are on the same menu. Portions are quite generous. Quality of food seems very high. I haven't had a bad meal here at all. There are a selection of meals with a US American feel, some more generally central American and some Dominican specialities. I can recommend the goat stew which was excellent.

Service is very friendly and only got slow when there was a big party in at another table. We had an extra beer while we waited. No bother.

Gym: The gym is small but isn't used a lot so you can get in pretty much any time of day and do a full work out. I did a two hour stint in the gym to get over my jet lag the first day and was on my own pretty much the whole time. There is a multi-gym, free weights and a few of the usual cardio machines. Big TV on the wall if you can work out how to operate it!

Rooms: I seem to get the same room every time I stay! So I am well acquainted with room 430... It is of a good size, has plenty of storage and a full size en suite with bath and shower. There is place to work and relax. The bed is superb, very comfortable. The AC is quiet so even light sleepers should not be disturbed. I slept like the dead every night. Room was spotlessly clean and serviced properly every day.

Business Services: Some older spec PCs and a laser printer are in the business service area. We also use the board room / meeting room behind reception. I think there is another one or maybe 2 more? All facilities are what you would expect in a typical mid price business hotel.

Staff: Excellent staff. best feature of this hotel are the people who work here. Very friendly and helpful.

Drawbacks: Only one bottle of free drinking water provided in room, the free Wi-Fi coverage is patchy outside of the main public areas.

Price: I am used to hotel prices in Asia, UK, USA so this hotel seems like a bargain to me. I am not familiar with prices of other hotels in the area and would not bother finding out as I am happy to return here at this price for this quality of accommodation and service.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear face airport, rooms to front face road. Neither has been an issue for myself or my co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akku_Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have stayed here quite regularly for work over 3+ years. The place is very convenient to the Santiago airport. Breakfast is good every morning and the restaurant is reliable. Not far to drive into Santiago for some variety on dinners. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed overnight due to very early flight out of aeropuerto del Cibao, santiago, DR. It was well appointed, great and helpful staff. Rooms were well appointed, modern and clean. Wake up services was prompt. We did not use the amenities of pool or gym. A quick 10 minute drive to the small airport, very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have been travelling for a month and this hotel is worse of aprx 20 hoteles i stayed at. Not really clean, service is really bad, food in the restaurant not fresh (grilled salmon) and very expensive. For the price 126 usd p/n you can expect that the hotel provide drinking water in the room, but in fact there are some exceptions... This hotel is the first one. In the room you can find menu for mini bar but nothing inside. So i had to go down to the reseption to buy small bottle for 5us. Reseptionists was pretty ignorant and this is very unusual for the hoteles in rep. Dominicana. The was marriage party for outsiders so i couldnt sleep at all. So... If you dont want to be disapointed find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmittriy_bali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was not overly wowed by this hotel. Maybe I went in thinking it was going to be a Courtyard experience - even though I knew the hotel had changed hands. Compared to other past hotel experiences I found this one to be average. The rooms were decent, however, the pool was closed due to several private functions, the ATM was out of service, the food at the restaurant was average and one of the front desk staff was rather gruff with his responses. One plus - this hotel is very close to the airport if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bermytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
2.5 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camp David
Camp David
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#5 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodelpa Garden Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Garden Court

Property: Hodelpa Garden Court
Address: Autopista Duarte Km 9, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Courtyard Santiago)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hodelpa Garden Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hodelpa Garden Court combines with the highest technology, allowing you to organize business meetings and catering to your main clients or business partners. Our rooms are designed for the corporative guest, with well lighten desk and efficently planned spaces. Mattresses, pillows and linens are exquisite to provide the most restful night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hodelpa Garden Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Garden Court Hotel Santiago
Courtyard Santiago
Santiago Courtyard
Hodelpa Garden Court Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing