We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price beautiful location”
Review of Camp David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp David
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

At this moment I'm at camp David having breakfast and enjoying the spectacular view. I can't say enough about this place, the room I stayed in was rather large and very well kept. The staff especially the two woman at the front desk were wonderful. Sorry I can't remember their names but I would visit them often and just and just chit chat and laugh. They would call me gringo. My second visit and they instantly remember me and greeted me. Only downside is about 20 mins from the center of the city. Taxi are always available with a simple phone call. Also their restaurant is good. This is day three for me and I'm staying one more nite. Also a piece of advice, call the hotel directly and don't use a booking agency like expedia. You will get a better rate. Just ask the lovely girls what your looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10 best room without the best value. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rboricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Not easy to find, very far off the beaten path, nestled on a mountain top just outside Santiago.The room we stayed in was very comfy, Very well kept, had all the amenities. We were on a upper floor and had a great view of the city below. We had dinner in their restaurant and the food there was top notch. Good portions as well. We were surprised at what we paid for the quality, much less than what you would expect to spend. We highly recommend a stay there. Be prepared to have to take a cab or moto concho if you do not have a rental.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I've returned to Ranch Camp David to find, that this time around is not just peacefull, but that they also added some luxury, the hotel has two sections, one offering oversize rooms with private balconies facing the city of Santiago, these rooms are not as luxurius as the renovated side, but is also a great choice, if you're looking for a more modern decor, then the other side is for you, either way, you'll be delighted.
The restaurant is also a great asset to this location, I prefer to eat my meals al fresco (Outside) however in winter it could be a little cool.
This is a place to disconnect from everything, but with all the amenities that you'll need.
Room service is great, as you either eat at the room or at your balcony.
Great for couples.

Room Tip: It depends what you're looking for, is very quiet on both sides, I prefer the side where the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Beautiful, comfortable clean room, very good service, the breakfast is included in the rate an its good too. Beautiful, extraordinary city view. Good food at the restaurant. this hotel is good to rest, because they don't have any other facility's at the hotel, if you want to go party at Santiago city is a very good option too. but if you want fun at the hotel this is not your option. I definitely come again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Probably one of the cleanest and safest places to stay in Santiago. The best feature this hotel has to offer is there restaurant and there small collection of historic cars. Great for groups or couples.
Some of the drawbacks: far from everything else,no pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountainside view, Tell them you would like to stay in the newly remodeled side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike12v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I spent four wonderful days at Camp David Ranch. The view of the city from the restaurant is breathtaking ; you would even need a sweater in the evening with the breeze coming through as you are almost 2000 feet above sea level! The rooms are very nice, the beds are very comfortable and the entire place it's just so lovely and romantic, the food is delicious, we love Camp David and we are going back at the end of this year. Excellent place 100%.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arefalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel for four nights and had an unbelievable time. The hotel sits on top of an elevated bluff that permits an unobstructed view of the entire city of Santiago. It is close enough to the City that you can be at any desired location in a matter of minutes and yet it is far enough that you don't have to endure noise of their downtown area. The room was very clean, spacious and well air-conditioned. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was accomodating. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYViajador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for visiting us.. hope to have you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de los Caballeros
6 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
308 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
428 reviews
5.8 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
101 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Celeste Estate
Villa Celeste Estate
#2 of 5 in Jarabacoa
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp David

Address: Carretera Gregorio Luperon Km 7.5 | Gurabo Santiago, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: £91 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp David 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned and operated hotel and restaurant in the Septentrional Mountains of the Dominican Republic, with a Spectacular view of the city of Santiago de los Caballeros and the Cibao Valley! Only 15 minutes from the city and 20 minutes from the Santiago Intl Airport (STI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Camp David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp David Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing