We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th Visit”
Review of Camp David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp David
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

This is my 5th stay here in five years and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It has an amazing mountaintop view looking over the valley and is always a wonderful spot. Truly a treasure. Rooms were updated several years ago and are very nice. Pay for the city view rooms, they're worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirsch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

I visited the restaurant with my wife, sister in law and my two boys. We got there early for lunch and there were not many people with us. No one greeted us and it was a while before the waiter finally serviced us. The service was very slow and the quality of the food was bellow average. To top it of, a person that seemed to be the Maitre gave us attitude when I asked for the check. If it wasn't for the wonderful view, I would have been a total waste of time and money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raybla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

It seemed like the Hotel was run by teenagers with the adults out of town! I had booked a group of 18, for a weeks medical clinic. I had booked the Hotel four months in advance, and reconfirmed it two days before arrival. When we arrived we were told there was no room for us! Basically they said sorry, "Its not our fault!" Luckily, I had the name of the person that had reconfirmed the reservation, they still would not take responsibility! We finally talked to the owner (out of the country) and were given rooms in the "old" section. It was obvious the old section had not been used for some time, as the rooms were dirty, and many bathrooms did not work. In addition there were large parties at night in the lounge- it was very noisy!

Room Tip: Would NOT recommend the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toree w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Very sorry for the inconviniences.. your resevation was indeed 4 months before; your travel agent never responded to our confirmation since it was a large group; we had our doubts. We had no details on the clients (tel,email).. We're very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully you can book us again so we can repair your opinion on us. Would be glad to try and change your opinion. Very sorry for all the inconviniences..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

It is a simple hotel, rooms are comfortable and views are nice. Decor is a bit all over the place but is has its charm. We were there for business fo had to leave early morning and arrived late at night so didn't have the chance to experience the hotel during the day. Room service is actually very good, food is delicious and very large portions. One thing though, It is quite far from town if you plan to go out at night or visit town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maharani-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for visiting us.. hope to have you again in our hotel...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our two-night stay at Camp David Ranch was very pleasant once we had our room changed the second day from Rm 2201 to Rm 2205 because of the noise outside (cars parking/guests talking /restaurant noise) which went on until 3 a.m. the first night. Having a room toward the back of the hotel (both in the new section) was much more peaceful. The beds were very comfortable, and as another reviewer mentioned, the water is plentiful and hot. Of course the view is spectacular and the area well kept. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night. My husband ordered the "generalísimo" steak and I had chicken with mushroom sauce-both delicious. Service was good. We ate inside as the evenings are a bit cool. The breakfast the first morning was a simple but adequate buffet. The second morning they brought a menu with about 8 breakfast choices.
Since it seemed that so many guests had had trouble locating Camp David Ranch, we used the map now provided on the hotel Web site, going north on Luberón and then turning right at the Texaco station and following the signs up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Although this hotel was difficult for us to find, once we got there it was so worth it. The hotel as spacious rooms, excellent service and a wonderful restaurant with delicious food and a great value too (dinner for 2 with a good Chilean bottle of wine came to about $55 if you can believe it!)
The view is spectacular, and the area was very tranquil which made it a very welcome stay for us after driving back from Cabarete..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan_mac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I have stayed there once before. It is very clean and the people there are always very friendly and helpful. There is always hot water and good pressure. (One luxury I always need is a hot shower). The desk speaks English if your Spanish is not so hot. The trip before I had an older room, not quite as nice as the newer ones but still very clean. That room had a balcony and a view of Santiago. (One of the main attractions of this place is that it is very high and overlooks all of Santiago) This time I had a basement room. Large and very clean, no problems, I just missed sitting out on the balcony reading. The maids were very nice. (Putting flowers in the room and rose petals on the bed.) The restaurant was very good serving free breakfast. You can eat inside the restaurant or outside on the balcony with a spectacular view of the city at night. I stayed 6 days and always had my meals on the balcony. Some words of warning. The place is hard to find, even for the local cab drivers. Have a map or insure the cab driver knows where it is. The weather is often cool. Both times I was there I needed a jacket at night and sometimes during the day. There is not much to do there. You can walk, read, watch cable TV, eat in the restaurant, or spend romantic time. A walk a ways down the main road is very nice, the walk back up will have you breathing hard. Cab drivers do not like to travel the main road at night, a little dangerous because of the altitude and the road. On another subject, if you are flying into the DR for the first time, there is a $10 tourist card you need to get. This must be bought before going through customs. Have the change and things will go faster.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marv339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de los Caballeros
4.6 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
436 reviews
6 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
312 reviews
5.8 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
222 reviews
21.2 mi away
Villa Celeste Estate
Villa Celeste Estate
#2 of 5 in Jarabacoa
68 reviews
5.5 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#9 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp David

Address: Carretera Gregorio Luperon Km 7.5 | Gurabo Santiago, Santiago de los Caballeros 51000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range: £90 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp David 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned and operated hotel and restaurant in the Septentrional Mountains of the Dominican Republic, with a Spectacular view of the city of Santiago de los Caballeros and the Cibao Valley! Only 15 minutes from the city and 20 minutes from the Santiago Intl Airport (STI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camp David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp David Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing