We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations don't mean a thing!”
Review of Camp David

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camp David
Certificate of Excellence
Spilsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reservations don't mean a thing!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

So we booked our room 2 months in advance but when we arrived at the hotel a large group had turned up and they had given our room to the group. They then insulted us by trying to give us a room that was more like a cave than a room. It was damp and smelly and very small with a view of a wall 3 feet from the window! Why does anyone want to stay here - for the view! They acted like they were doing us a favor when they had not honored our booking! If you are traveling from another country beware as you may find yourself without a place to stay even though you have a reservation! That's what happened to us - we had a nightmare with these people.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    9
    12
    16
See reviews for
21
46
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

This is my 5th stay here in five years and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It has an amazing mountaintop view looking over the valley and is always a wonderful spot. Truly a treasure. Rooms were updated several years ago and are very nice. Pay for the city view rooms, they're worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirsch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I visited the restaurant with my wife, sister in law and my two boys. We got there early for lunch and there were not many people with us. No one greeted us and it was a while before the waiter finally serviced us. The service was very slow and the quality of the food was bellow average. To top it of, a person that seemed to be the Maitre gave us attitude when I asked for the check. If it wasn't for the wonderful view, I would have been a total waste of time and money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raybla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applegate, oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

It seemed like the Hotel was run by teenagers with the adults out of town! I had booked a group of 18, for a weeks medical clinic. I had booked the Hotel four months in advance, and reconfirmed it two days before arrival. When we arrived we were told there was no room for us! Basically they said sorry, "Its not our fault!" Luckily, I had the name of the person that had reconfirmed the reservation, they still would not take responsibility! We finally talked to the owner (out of the country) and were given rooms in the "old" section. It was obvious the old section had not been used for some time, as the rooms were dirty, and many bathrooms did not work. In addition there were large parties at night in the lounge- it was very noisy!

Room Tip: Would NOT recommend the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toree w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Very sorry for the inconviniences.. your resevation was indeed 4 months before; your travel agent never responded to our confirmation since it was a large group; we had our doubts. We had no details on the clients (tel,email).. We're very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Hopefully you can book us again so we can repair your opinion on us. Would be glad to try and change your opinion. Very sorry for all the inconviniences..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

It is a simple hotel, rooms are comfortable and views are nice. Decor is a bit all over the place but is has its charm. We were there for business fo had to leave early morning and arrived late at night so didn't have the chance to experience the hotel during the day. Room service is actually very good, food is delicious and very large portions. One thing though, It is quite far from town if you plan to go out at night or visit town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maharani-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb2146, Manager at Camp David, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for visiting us.. hope to have you again in our hotel...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our two-night stay at Camp David Ranch was very pleasant once we had our room changed the second day from Rm 2201 to Rm 2205 because of the noise outside (cars parking/guests talking /restaurant noise) which went on until 3 a.m. the first night. Having a room toward the back of the hotel (both in the new section) was much more peaceful. The beds were very comfortable, and as another reviewer mentioned, the water is plentiful and hot. Of course the view is spectacular and the area well kept. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night. My husband ordered the "generalísimo" steak and I had chicken with mushroom sauce-both delicious. Service was good. We ate inside as the evenings are a bit cool. The breakfast the first morning was a simple but adequate buffet. The second morning they brought a menu with about 8 breakfast choices.
Since it seemed that so many guests had had trouble locating Camp David Ranch, we used the map now provided on the hotel Web site, going north on Luberón and then turning right at the Texaco station and following the signs up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Although this hotel was difficult for us to find, once we got there it was so worth it. The hotel as spacious rooms, excellent service and a wonderful restaurant with delicious food and a great value too (dinner for 2 with a good Chilean bottle of wine came to about $55 if you can believe it!)
The view is spectacular, and the area was very tranquil which made it a very welcome stay for us after driving back from Cabarete..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan_mac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de los Caballeros hotels
4.6 mi away
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & Casino
Hodelpa Gran Almirante Hotel & C...
#1 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
372 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
Hodelpa Centro Plaza Hotel
#3 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
277 reviews
5.8 mi away
Platino Hotel & Casino
Platino Hotel & Casino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Court
Hodelpa Garden Court
#2 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
190 reviews
5.5 mi away
Matum Hotel & Casino
Matum Hotel & Casino
#8 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
96 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Los Jardines
Hotel Los Jardines
#6 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp David

Property: Camp David
Address: Carretera Gregorio Luperon Km 7.5, Santiago de los Caballeros 0, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santiago Province > Santiago de los Caballeros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santiago de los Caballeros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp David 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned and operated hotel and restaurant in the Septentrional Mountains of the Dominican Republic, with a Spectacular view of the city of Santiago de los Caballeros and the Cibao Valley! Only 15 minutes from the city and 20 minutes from the Santiago Intl Airport (STI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Camp David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp David Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing