We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Jamaica”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I have been to Jamaica several times and wanted something different and more authentic than Sandals. Jakes was definitely it. The Treasure Beach area is off the beaten path. Its a secluded quiet area. Jack Sprat and Jake's restaurant were both good as were the drinks at Jakes (get the passion fruit margarita!) Food was more authentic Jamaican versus the "Americanized" food that the large resorts offer. Staff was very friendly. The grounds are beautiful. Pool and beach area is not as luxurious as bigger resorts have, but they do have their own charm. Views are incredible though entire resort. I would definitely go back. If you go to the Treasure Beach area or Jake's, find Captain Joseph to take you on a tour (he does fishing, beach excursions, cooking, Pelican Bar, etc.). He gave us our best day in Treasure Beach (his e-mail is captainringabell@gmail.com). If you want quiet seclusion and the authentic Jamaican experience, Jakes is for you. If you want a big resort with a multitude of things to do and aren't into new experiences, go elsewhere in Jamaica.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-GoBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    135
    30
    19
    19
See reviews for
104
344
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Arriving at Jakes was a bit of a shock. This was the last place we were staying and first impressions were mixed.
However after 5 days we have fallen in love with this place.
The whole resort has a 1970's feel. If you want pristine then jakes is probably not your place. However if you want individuality then it most definitely is.
The staff are all friendly and within a very short space of time you feel how important Jakes is to the whole of the local community. As a result you feel that you are contributing to the whole area.
The rooms are functional and if you are beside the sea you have a very special place to stay.
The food was good quality throughout our stay at both the restaurant and Jack Spratts.
Our trips out with Captain Dennis to Black River, Pelican Bar will long live in the memory.
Overall not the 'best' resort we have ever stayed in in respect of bedrooms, pool, but overall taking in the overall ambience, position by the sea, people and food, anyone who wants to see old fashioned values at first hand would love this place

Room Tip: Ones by the sea are worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We were in Jamaica for 16 days and left Jakes for the last three days of our vacation , witch looking back now after being there we should have book it for a week of our holidays. The minute you get there you know its special, the front desk is a small Colonial Cottage dark wooden floors , brightly painted walls , low lighting and lots of paintings hanging (very Key West).We stayed in the Mussels cottage a three bedroom villa for seven of us, you walk in for the first time and you dont want to leave ever, it had all the Bells and Whistles you could emagine. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is in a court yard by reception but the best part is it looks out over the pool and the sea. There is Dougies Bar run by the coolest guy you will ever meet called Duggy! They own another sea front bar and resteruant called Jack Sprat just a few minutes walk next door Jakes, a very cool place to hang out and mix with the locals and hotel guest..We did one trip to Pelican Bar a most see probaly the best bar in the world, we use captain Dennis to get there (ask the front desk to book him)

Room Tip: mussels villa the only place to stay ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fletch305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

By far the most memorable place we stayed at during our one week island tour in Jamaica. The landscape is unique, the hotel is clean and friendly. The moment we stepped in the hotel and had our refreshing drink by the sea we felt like we arrived to paradise! Our only problem was with the internet connection, I think it is not okay for a hotel of this quality to be unable to repair connection in 2 days. Anyway, I can only recommend and hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muttley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Jakes and again was an excellent experience. Treasure Beach itself is very nice, laid back, and not a typical resort area. The room at Jakes was comfortable with a view from the patio/deck directly onto the waves below! The food at the two restaurants is excellent & a good value. The staff are friendly & helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ST2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Jakes is a funky, unique and relaxing place to stay. At least after you arrive there. It was a 2.5 hour “E ticket” ride from the airport to Jakes. The driver, Richard, was friendly and an excellent driver. The ride started in warm weather, then is poured, then we had to cross a flooded road, then drive through narrow, pot holed roads. We enjoyed the ride as that is part of the fun and adventure of going to Jamaica.

The ocean view room we had would be categorized as ocean front at most hotels. It was unique. There are wine bottles coming out of the walls. A pad lock is used to lock the door to the room. When the door is open, there is a gorgeous ocean view.

The food at both restaurants was good. One restaurant caters to guests. It is quiet and relaxing. The other restaurant has a mix of guests and local residents. It has a “this is life in Jamaica” feel.

Within an hour drive radius, Jakes arranged transportation (we requested Richard as the driver) to the Black River, YS Falls, Appleton Rum Factory and Little Ochie restaurant. All of these activities were memorable.

Our stay at Jakes was a nice combination of activities, relaxation and good food with a local Jamaican charm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lt_in_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our recent trip to Jakes was awesome! We have traveled all over Jamaica and stayed in many types of resorts. This was the most unique and authentic Jamaican experience we have had. The people were so friendly, the area was very safe and quiet. The landscape was different from other areas on the island. We loved the different cottages at Jakes. They all felt very private and romantic. We were fortunate to meet the owner, Jason. He was a gracious host and went out of his way to make our trip exceptional!He has accomplished a great deal for the community of Treasure Beach. We will be back! Take extra time to get there! Their driver will pick you up in MBJ and you will love the scenery over the mountains! All of the staff are the nicest Jamaicans!What a special place!

Room Tip: All of the ocean front rooms are so worth it! The honeymoon suites are so amazing with outdoor showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamerician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
48.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
58.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
47.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
43.3 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
65.1 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa

Property: Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Address: Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Chicest shack in the Caribbean" – Vogue Magazine. --- "Welcome to one of Caribbean's funkiest resorts, where reggae and rock stars, doctors and lawyers, writers and artists come to taste the real Jamaica." - Island Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jake`s Hotel, Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Jake`s Hotel, Villa And Spa
Jakes St Elizabeth
Jakes Hotel St Elizabeth
Jakes Jamaica
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing