We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
44
31
12
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
31
12
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenjoyed my stayhome away from homepoolsbeachtreasurejennifersurfrelaxationlocals
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Spacious rooms, clean in sets of four and a beautiful view on the ocean below you. Very courteous waiters and helpers. Two pools and access to the beach with pleasant rollers.
Camera-hunting for the Doctorbird....

Only some twenty guests in a period when you would expect many more

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterT676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you kindly for taking time out to write a review on on Resort
We will continue to protect our environment and feed our birds. They are such beauty to behold especially in the mornings and late evenings. Bird watchers paradise we are
Thanks again and do look forward to having you stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived in Jamaica for March break, 2013 and were delighted with this non-touristy southern coastal town about a two hour drive from Montego Bay Airport. Pete, our driver, can be chartered for airport pick-up or daily tours of the area. Call him at 876-839-3591 or 876-450-4742 for very reliable service. Treasue Beach Hotel was comfortable but not luxurious and we enjoyed a very deserted ocean beach ocean where the water was very warm. We had two swimming pools to ourselves for most of the week. The weather was in the high 20s and we appreciated the air conditioning in our room. Treasure Beach is a rural village and we met many friendly local Jamaicans on our stay. You can eat delicious local fare with emphasis on seafood at many price ranges and we enjoyed them all. Best of all is the lack of crowds as in Negril and Montego Bay. Many travellers commented on how Treasure Beach is the "REAL" Jamaica. Be sure to bring Jamaican money as many local vendors do not accpt US$ or CDN$. Great vacation for reading and relaxing.

Room Tip: I loved having an ocean front room on the second floor and we stayed in room 51 with an unobstructed view of the entire beach. Free FULL HOT breakfast with our room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ada5011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for taking time our to review our facility. It is really appreciated. You might not have seen guests around at the time of your stay, but you would be surprised to know that guests are actually there relaxing in their rooms.
Thanks again and do look forward to a repeat visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Sometimes you don't want to tell anyone about a special place because you are afraid it will become too popular...we have been coming to the Treasure Beach Hotel for over 20 years and it is my favorite place to be in Jamaica. The hotel was built in the '30's and has been owned by Dr. Brown since the mid-80's, so it's landscaping has had the time to age into some of the most serene and beautiful vistas you will see anywhere. The hotel has large hillside grounds with pathways, benches, pavilions and two pools. You eat breakfast on the hilltop terrace overlooking an exuberant garden. You can sit under the trees in the patio or in a covered area indoors to enjoy a leisurely breakfast (served from 7:30-11:00) of a fruit plate, eggs and toasst, a continental breakfast or a traditional Jamaican breakfast with juice and coffee, which comes with the price of the room. Over the years we have enjoyed ordering dinner by room service, which comes in several courses and while the prices for this have gone up, I recommend trying it at least once for a feeling of relaxed decadence. In 2007 there Hurricane Ivan took the tops off the highest palms and eroded the beach terribly. Thankfully the beach has now come back. Everyone who works at the hotel is gracious and friendly, Lorna and others make us feel like family. Rooms have the necessary amenities, ac and ceiling fans, comfortable beds, solar heated showers, and are kept very clean. You can go many places in Treasure Beach, such as the hip Jakes, or the less expensive Jack Spratt, to eat. I find so much to do on the property, that I often just like to hang out there. Take my long walk on the beach, surf the waves (the sea is usually pretty rough in this area) or choose which of the two large pools to take my swim. Nearby day trips are Lover's Leap, the lovely Wyes Falls, the Black River river boat trip, massages, a boat trip to see the Dolphins and visit the Pelican Bar (an offshore atoll), horseback riding at the Cove (another lovely landscaped place to go for lunch). If you want to have the feel of a real Jamaica visit-forget Sandals and the all-inclusives and take a chance on the lovely community of Treasure Beach. Sure the roads are a bit testy, but nearby you can swim at Great Bay, Calabash Bay, Billie's Bay, Fort Charles beach. Every two years in late May there is the Calabash Poetry festival at Jakes, which attracts Caribbean and famous poets from the states to read in a seaside tent. We stayed this time in Room 55 which is usually reserved for honeymooners--we had a king size bed, flat screen tv, sofa, terrace with an amazing view of Frenchman's Beach, and a refrigerator. Windows have screens and you sleep with the sound of the waves. Idyllic.

Room Tip: Some rooms require more steps to get to them. Rooms on the north hillside have a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Your comprehensive review is greatly appreciated. The TEAM at the Treasure Beach Hotel will continue to Meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. Thank you ever so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My husband and I spent six lovely days at Treasure Beach Hotel in January 2013. The room was tidy and pretty. The two swimming pools overlook the ocean and are kept clean by a dedicated staff. The meals we ate each morning were tasty and served by the kind and friendly, Lorna. We enjoyed visiting with Lorna, hotel manager Melanie and many other staff members who were always polite and easy to talk to. They also gave great advice about local attractions. We highly recommend TBH. The vibe in the area is relaxed and easy going. The location of the hotel is perfect and its grounds are impeccable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second floor of a townhouse facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurieandPratik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

We would like to thank your most sincerely for your review as we continue to "meet and exceed the expectations of our guests, with pride

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Let me start by saying I work in a luxury hotel in Boston. I know amazing service when I see it, and this place? Has amazing service. Keep in mind that everyone travels different. When you travel, do as much research as possible before arriving. If you're looking to see part of the island that is local, Treasure Beach is the perfect place and this is the perfect hotel. Positioned right on the beach and surrounded by local restaurants with authentic Jamaican charm. If you're intimidated by immersing yourself in the culture of the place(s) you're visiting, do yourself a favor and stay at Sandals. If you're looking for calm, clear, blue waters, stay in MoBay. Yes, the water is choppy, but you probably have little business being on an island if you can't swim. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Our maid was very kind, as was everyone on staff that we had the pleasure of chatting with. The drinks at the bar are reasonably priced and served ice-cold. The pool areas (there are two of them) were very well-kept and the water crystal clear. The relaxation factor kicked into high gear and we took an impromptu nap right on the pool deck, our first night there. This vacation Other than the bar, we didn't really utilize the hotel restaurant. Most mornings were spent having hours-long breakfasts at Waikiki, a restaurant just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The saltfish and ackee were amazing and the view was stunning. If you visit this part of Jamaica, I highly recommend grabbing a bite, here. Getting here was as easy as contacting Treasure Tours. Our driver, Omar, picked us up from MBJ, with bottles of ice-cold water, an equally cold face cloth and a smile as wide as the island. In about two hours we were settled into the hotel. The drive is beautiful and for roughly $300 roundtrip, it's well worth it. Along the way, we did stop for a quick bite at Border Jerk. The house made soup and jerk chicken were delicious and just what we needed after a four hour flight from the states. I honestly can’t say enough great things about the hotel, the location, the people and the overall Jamaican vibes. We hope to make this trip a yearly getaway. This vacation came in the middle of a very stressful time in my life and it was truly life-changing. Thank you to everyone on Treasure Beach. You made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: You don't need an ocean view, or a pool view when you can simply walk down to both. If you're spending all your time in the room, you're missing out on paradise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treasureb85, Manager at Treasure Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thank you so very much. We are quite pleased to know that we made your stay with us MEMORABLE. We will continue to make that positive impact on all our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews