We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of work-- Has potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Treasure Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Treasure Beach Hotel is a decent hotel if you are just in need of a place to crash and be away from the hustle and bustle of vacationers. The place itself needs a lot of updating. We stayed in #44 and my brother stayed in #48. A little paint, new furniture would do this place much justice. It is located in such a great location (on the beach) and it is sad that it is the way that it is.
There are A LOT of steps to climb so be prepared to exercise.
The staff are really nice and that adds some value to the place.
I don't think I would return unless they do a major renovation to the place.

Also the Wi-fi for the guest room does not work. If you need wi-fi you have to go to the lobby. A little inconvenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetucker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was once a great hotel as you can see by the bldgs and grounds but it is just hanging on now. Only a few good rooms and very few guests. The reception and dining area are up on a hill and the rooms are way down below, and up another hill. Two swimming pools but no shower or hot tubs and you really don't know how clean the water is. The view from our room was excellent facing the ocean, and our bed was comfortable, but we had to pay extra for a fridge. The third day there our knees and ankles were swollen and sore from having to climb so many stairs. We could not even get to the beach without climbing about 60 stairs. Way too hard on the knees. This place needs a lot of work and is really not that cheap when you figure the cost, even with breakfast thrown in. The food was good and the pizza very nice. Most of the staff were friendly but hard to understand. We love Treasure Beach but would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Treasure Beach Hotel for the second part of our honeymoon. the only good thing about this hotel was that the staff was courteous and friendly.
The room left a lot to be desired. The sofa cushions need to be changed. They are old and too small for the sofa. The bed was ok to sleep in and the linen was clean. We left the tag on the door asking for the linen to be changed and it was not done even though we were out for the most of the day. When we called and asked for the linen to be changed the lady came with the clean linen in black garbage bags and placed the soiled linen in the same garbage bags.
The bathtub has never been cleaned since it was placed in the bathroom. A little bleach and Ajax would do wonders.
There was only one other guest there and we had to pass two villas in order to get to our room. The placed is dimly lit and deserted, I did not feel safe.
The pools were dirty and not cleaned. Both the pool and beach area have absolutely no areas of shade. Thus we really got a tan. The pics on the online profile are deceptive and did not protray the image advertised.
They only had one iron on the premises. There is no refrigerator in the rooms. The food was ridiculously expensive and not worth the prices.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yashima T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Well, I have been travelling for 40 years and this id by far the worst hotel ever,It was moldy poorly maintained and deserted with no guests. were given the highest price after being told all other rooms were taken.When we arrived the hotel was completely empty except for one other gust.The place was totally deserted and very scary,I would not recommend except to an enemy.
Only one thing staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

1st time in Jamaica had spoken to Melonie hotel manageress, about taxi pick up at Montego Bay airport, she booked this, and Peter was there , he was very courteous & helpful, this was the start of the fantastic service provided by Melonie and her staff. The room overlooking the beach, was serviced to a very high standard, from changes of towel's, and bedding, to cleaning, service by waiting staff, all the time from breakfast, to dinner, was to a very high standard, with always a smile, and courteous manner. Food from breakfast bacon & scrambled eggs, with full Jamaica breakfast if wanted, great coffee and whole meal toast, to bar snacks with great sandwiches, to dinner,with barbequed chicken, pork kebab, various pizza's all served with fries rice or mashed potato's steamed vegetable's all cooked to a very high standard. The dinner menu to large to mention in this review. Drinks priced very reasonable, beer nice and cold, if you like peace, quite, very good standard hotel, nice swimming pool's, beautiful gardens , beach 10 yards away, polite, courteous staff from the manager to the house maids you will not be disappointed, with this jewel The Treasure Beach Hotel .

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms the view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Well my stay at the treasure beach hotel... was surely a holiday retreat !
If you are looking for a quiet private location situated by the beach, overlooking
the oceans, surrounding by botanical landscapes and amenties ie relaxation areas,
swimming pools, natural healthy food, access to alternative therapies etc re: health &
well being > This is a good place to visit to > recuperate/rejuvenate !. (The atmosphere
is serene, full of nature and so relaxing). The service from the staff is excellent .....

Guess what even the wise Dr Birds (National Bird of Jamaica) were amongst the trees !
To conclude > Treasure Beach Hotel is full of > Life creations !

Angel 7/9/13

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms overlooking the oceans > such a beautiful scenery !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We got married 13 years ago at Treasure Beach Hotel and every year this is our home away from home! My husband, the children and I always have a spectacular time here at the hotel. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The children spends all day in the pool, while my husband and I relax. This is the place to relax and reconnect with your family! The food is to die for... and the staff is amazing. Every year they arrange a special candle light dinner for my husband and I on the terrace overlooking the ocean. My family and I will always stay at the Treasure Beach Hotel....true Jamaican hospitality!!!!!

Room Tip: oceanview rooms are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAW1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
11.3 mi away
Waterloo Guest House
Waterloo Guest House
#2 of 3 in Black River
12 reviews
58.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
11.8 mi away
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
Idlers' Rest Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Black River
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
92 reviews
1 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treasure Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treasure Beach Hotel

Address: Frenchman | South Coast, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range: £98 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treasure Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, eco-friendly thirty-two room beachfront resort, with lush vegetation and dotted with Sabal palm trees. A bird watching paradise. Situated on an elevation overlooking the Blue Caribbean sea. Wedding, honeymoon and small meeting packages available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Treasure Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Beach St Elizabeth
Treasure Beach Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing