We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevin is Awesome”
Review of Pon de Rock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pon de Rock
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Kevin is Awesome”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I loved Pon de Roc as I am always welcoming peace and quiet away from it all. it was a little difficult to navigate the roads if you are not used to driving on the left hand side of the road and the roads were a little worse for wear. Kevin ended up being our personal tour guide, driver, friend, chef etc. Due to his hospitality and never ending knowledge of where to go and get what we wanted, the tours, the food, the camera memory card etc., I have a feeling the trip would not have been great, but more of a struggle.

We had a great time, love Akee, cooked lobster a few nights with Kevin, had nice talks, saw what we wanted to see.

The property we had to ourselves basically except for Kevin who checked in every morning quietly to see what we needed, what our plans were for the day etc. Beautiful, quiet, nestled in nature, quick walk/drive to beach, good local shopping near Treasure beach where I picked up a hand made bikini and some pottery.

Food was great all around, stopped at local places or made out own, or cooked with Kevin. I have traveled a bit and this was definitely a place where the culture makes up for the bad roads, ha ha. Everyone really friendly and down to earth.

Never felt unsafe except for when lost and driving in Kingston, but think that was more of my paranoia as I hate being lost.



Lovely place. Hi Kevin and Akee!

Room Tip: This place is a ways from the tourist places. I like this kind of vacation but the roads were chall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay in the blue house. It was very calm and relaxing, we had the small beach to ourselves, beautiful sunsets, coconuts, and that was all we needed. Everybody was friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas VA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pon De Rocks
I don’t know where to start; this place is so relaxing and enjoyable. We started our journey as always, leaving MoBay airport Milford from Karandas met us prompt and with a smile on his face. We made the normal stops in route to treasurer beach. We finally got to PDR around 730pm, tired and ready for bed, then we met Kevin  what a wonderful guy, we sat and talked till almost 4am (yea I said we were tired) He was just such a world of info. We sat on the deck and looked out into the darkness and dreamed of the day we will be able to live in Jamaica.
The cabins are just what you see in the pictures, enough space to spend a week and enjoy the beauty that surrounds you. Beds are very comfy and the rooms are clean and kept. I liked that I could open up the windows and look out over the cabin below us to see the ocean. I will say no AC ;( they tell you that in the add, but I am spoiled and would have loved a little AC. The person traveling with us said a fan in her cabin would have been nice, but had screens on the windows so the ocean breeze made it nice. Each room has a hammock and you could find yourself lost looking out for hours.
The cliff formations that hang over top of the place are magnificent, I cannot tell you how many times I caught myself just looking at the cracks in the formations and wondering how the heck something like this even forms.
This is a place for the person who wants peace and non tourist stuff, very laid back, we counted a total of nine vehicles that passed by the entire time we were there and two of those were Kevin on his scooter. People are very friendly and helpful Smurf from the local bar helped us find our way and offered us each a drink and guided us to PDR, so if in Treasure beach make sure you hit Smurf’s
Very nice place, very very nice people, I hope to be able to spend more time there next year

Room Tip: would have like ac and a pool, but you cant have everything and the other things make up for not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMKManassasVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The views are spectacular, the accomodation colourful and creative, and the gardens are full of local variety. Kevin was fantastic at showing us the ropes and we felt very welcome. Excellent opportunities for swimming, snorkling, eating, and relaxing. We can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Pon De Rock...Travel down a long and winding road to discover a rare and wonderful treasure. Spectacular gardens set upon natural rock formations. Three lovely self catered cottages, each with it's own stunning ocean view. With a lengthy stretch of beach nearby (which we had all to ourselves) one can't help but to feel the beautiful and untouched real island of Jamaica surrounding you. At Pon De Rock not only will you find yourself....you will feel as though you've found a little piece of "Heaven" on earth. Gail Wright, Minnesota USA.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Pon de Rock was everything we expected and more. The grounds were stunning. There is wildlife everywhere; insects, birds, hermit crabs, lizards, and butterflies. The beautiful ocean is steps from the front gate, providing relaxing ocean sounds that mix wonderfully with the sounds of insects at night. The studios (we stayed in Flo's studio and the Yellow Studio) were even more spectacular than the photos we saw online. They were clean, airy, and both had stunning views of the ocean and yard. We appreciated the European and American outlets, making it us easy to charge our electronics on the rare occasion we needed them.
There were a few small beaches and a larger beach, all within a short walk. Most of them are perfect for swimming or soaking up the sun. We found quite a few shells as well. We rarely saw anyone at the beach- it felt like our own private world!
As if the studio, location, and ambiance wasn't enough, Kevin the caretaker is there as the cherry on top. He was willing to run errands to get us anything we needed; chocolate, fruit, or even some rum :) He was also a fabulous tour guide and happily drove us around on private tours of treasure beach, the Santa Cruz Mountains, and even 9 Mile- 3.5 hours away! Without Kevin, we would have been lost! He made sure we got the feel of the surroundings and got to see what the locals saw. Be sure to ask him to cook you lobster! If you are having a hard time choosing where to go, choose Pon de Rock for the service. You will be taken care of while you relax in paradise!
Pon de Rock we even better than we anticipated and recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic, laid back, stress free Jamaican vacation! We will defiantly be back someday!
Sincerely,
John and Carli

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, I would reccomend the yellow studio. It is a bit smaller but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Pon de Rock - it was our second time visiting and did not disappoint! The stunning views, tranquility, wildlife and fresh fish and local produce were excellent. Kevin was again the perfect host making us feel at home and cooking up tasty BBQ's using his own recipes. After a visit to Pon de Rock we feel relaxed, revived and are now planning our next trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne_and_Mike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 16 in Treasure Beach
135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kudehya Guesthouse
Kudehya Guesthouse
#1 of 16 in Treasure Beach
106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Welcoming Vibes
Welcoming Vibes
#4 of 16 in Treasure Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pon de Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pon de Rock

Property: Pon de Rock
Address: Fort Charles Road, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pon de Rock is a property with three different , ocean-front stusios. Ideal for a self-catering holiday and people who are looking for relaxation and silence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pon de Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pon De Rock Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing