We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet!”
Review of Calabash House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calabash House
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed a night in the main house, and then 3 nights in the cottage on the property. Wonderful! The caretakers and owner are great, the little cottage so sweet and comfortable. A great bargain. The cottage only has an outdoor, cold water shower - but you don't miss the hot water at all. Nice beach front property.
The main house is an excellent place for a group of friends to go in on.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Liz and her staff are all welcoming, fun, and helpful, making us feel very at home here. Definitely a place we would return to!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I would go back in a flash. I wish I was still there.
You can have meals prepared for you here, or eat elsewhere. The meals I had were GREAT. it is not a restaurant, so not for everyone. Bring your own wine etc. Suzette is a great cook. She is also the maid and manager. The owner, Elizabeth, and the other staff are friendly and sweet and helpful.
The back yard is on the sandy beach.
This is a very relaxing, get away from it all, lovely place. There are restaurants within walking distance.
Private transportation from Montego Bay is 140 American dollars one way and takes about two hours.
The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, in this guest house.
There is a safe in the rooms. You have access to a kitchen and fridge and large living room and terrace and back yard. And of course the Caribbean beach!!! There is air conditioning.
You must look at the photos at www.calabashhouse.com. They also have a Facebook page which I have not seen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We went there with lots of people, two families and a third spending most of their days with us. House is VERY spacious, super clean, comfortable, with lots of sleeping and sitting. Beach is right in front of the house. Great, well kept garden. The two women who manage the property are super nice and great, great cooks. They cook traditional Jamaican food and it's amazing and there is lots of it. I would wholeheartedly recommend the place. Beautiful..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smierdiakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This is a truly special place where to experience the true beauty, hospitality and spirituality of Jamaica. Elizabetz and her staff will make your stay one of the best you ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

If you want to relax, slow yourself on the beach and take sunlight you can choose Calabash House. The price it's ok and the service too. The service is in the Jamaican way, don't ask more and more than what you already see. I did breakfast and dinner in the Calabash and I appreciated them. There's a big veranda where you can talk and chill out with other guests. The owner lives in Kingston and two women manage well the property. Rooms are big and clean and have working AC.
It's close to the great Jack Sprat Beach beach where you can go in the morning on the beach or at dinner time to eat. Near to the hotel's beach you can have contact with boat drivers which can bring you to Pelican Bar and have i nice lunch in the ocean. The jamaican man you see in the photo took me to Pelican

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mclemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalabashHouse, Owner at Calabash House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2015

Dear Jill,
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Calabash House!
I just spoke to the staff & they were apologetic & unsure of where they had been remiss, although it is my suspicion that a family problem that has nothing to do with you was affecting attitudes there, & for that I am truly sorry.
As a rule my staff is my biggest asset, but invariably there are moments when all of us are not at the top of our game & it is unfortunate that you caught one of them.
Hopefully it will not happen again.
Best,
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kudehya Guesthouse
Kudehya Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Treasure Beach
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 17 in Treasure Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash House

Address: Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calabash House is one of the most inexpensive beachfront properties in Treasure Beach. Delicious meals are available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calabash House Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing