We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!”
Review of Calabash House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Treasure Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Calabash House
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Due to previous bookings, we spent the first night of our vacation at Jakes, just down the road, then spent the next 11 days just loving the cottage, the grounds, and the great vibe at the Calabash House. I've been to Jakes a few times in the past, which is very nice, but now we'll always return to the Calabash house. Hopefully in the cottage every time! The cottage was just right. Simple yet so sexy. The grounds are full of beautiful plants and flowers, and the outdoor shower was a work of art by Elizabeth, the owner.....loved it! Suzette was so friendly and welcoming, and a great cook! She was full of information on the area, which helped out greatly. Michael was so nice and kept the grounds and beach area spotless every day. For travelers that enjoy simpler ways and nature, this is the place. We can't wait to return! Glen and Lorraine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaman22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed at Calabash House 3 times, and each time it is more delightful. Once I went on vacation and the next two times I went as one of the facilitators of a writing workshop. On our last day there, Andy and I got married in Elizabeth's beautiful garden. Michael the groundsman built a wedding arch from palm fronds and bougainvillea, the chef Suzett sang and prepared a scrumptious lobster dinner, Euonie made sure our plates and glasses were full, and danced to the beat of the reggae band that stopped by. Elizabeth has created an artful and comfortable slice of paradise at Treasure Beach. Stay there to experience the real Jamaica, and a beautiful swimming beach you'll have pretty much all to yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheblockwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were here for 4 days, we loved it, our 7 and 15 yr old were so happy here, beach in our backyard, manicure for my teen down the road for J$500. One particular dog made an impression in our 7 yr old, he named him Jack, and "Jack' is in some of our pictures. Safe, quiet, clean, airy, clean, you can hear the ocean! as soon as we walked in, we were in love, vibrant colors, beautiful mosaic work all around the house and rooms, Elizabeth the owner, just makes you feel like a friend, her library is to die for,You just need books in Spanish ;) Suzette always singing, she got us whatever we need it, and she booked a boat ride for us, we went to Black River, then had lunch at Pelican Bar, A MUST She did our laundry, cooked our dinner; delicious! Michael, a gentle soul ;) very soft spoken, always smiling, so sweet. We walked late at night, very safe, people was very nice, I met miss June by the beach, lovely lady, please say Hi to her if you see her by the beach. Lots of dogs, all are very playful and one of them was in a mission to get every crab from the beach, fun to watch him dig 5 different holes, then one crab pinch his nose, but he kept going, please consider Calabash House, is private, quiet, you can swim in the ocean, lay on the hammock, sleep, have coffee, etc, enjoy the quietness, or have a little walk around.

Room Tip: We have children, so any room with 2 beds is all we need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoyLaBrujaNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I spent 16 days at Calabash House, and it was one of the loveliest vacations we've ever had. One week of the vacation was spent doing a workshop there, and the rest of the time we were on our own. From the evening we arrived until the sad day of our departure, we were treated like close friends. Elizabeth, the lovely owner, is an artist, and the Calabash reflects her talents. Suzett is a wonderful chef with a beautiful voice and personality. Yoni and her nephew Michael are always kind and helpful. Any one of them will go out of their way to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.This is a place to relax. It is not posh or glitzy, but a comfortable place to chill and unwind. Do not expect lots of touristy activities! We were never bored, and just enjoyed slipping into the peaceful Treasure Beach lifestyle. We ate most of our meals at the Calabash, and were never disappointed. Fresh fish, fruit and vegetables are served in abundance. The ocean view from the outdoor dining area is spectacular, especially at sunset. The trip from MoBay is about 2.5 hours, and Elizabeth arranged for her driver Winston to pick us up. The Calabash House is a welcoming oasis, and now that we've found it, we know we'll be back!

Room Tip: The Calabash has 4 rooms in the main house as well as a beachfront cottage. We stayed in the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenbeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Calabash House is magical. Here is what you need to know:

1) tucked away in non-touristy Treasure Beach - Calabash House sits along a beach lined with vacation rentals and one small resort (Jake's). The beauty of this is Calabash is one of about 3 homes that have direct backyard access to the sand and water. Talk about peace and quiet. We never shared the beach with more than 6 other people

2) We barely spent any time in the house because the backyard beach was so perfect. The house is charming and comfortable - not a lot of frills but you quickly realize you wouldn't be enjoying them anyway because between the back porch, hammocks, and water - you are in heaven. Everything is clean and tidy!

3) The staff is the best! Chef Suzette can make a mean lobster and her breakfasts are solid. Caretakers Yoni and Michael were so sweet, amazing and helpful. All made our stay amazing

4) The common room is super comfy and perfect for catching up on emails - the only space you can get WIFI - please don't be on email too long - VACATION

5) Haven't planned any excursions? No worries- just tell Suzette- and she will make it happen (I rec the black river boat tour and YS Falls, but honestly staying out the house for 5 days is an excellent option

6) Jack Sprats is a sports bar/restaurant down the street- a great way to break up the day

7) We loved falling asleep to the waves in the beach front room

8) Having stayed at both a full service resort and Calabash House during our week in Jamaica - we favored our MUCH cheaper home away from home at Calabash House

9) I wish I was there now

10) I will be back either with my love, or renting it out with all of our friends - that's a fact. BOOK NOW.


PS- family friendly too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fannet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The grounds, the people, the cottage, the little town of Treasure Beach - this is the best place on earth. A great place to go and relax and enjoy the beauty that is Jamaica. We made a lot of friends and began planning our return trip with my 7 year old as soon as we got home. Elizabeth - the owner is a great lady - sweet, fun and accommodating. Suzette's cooking is spectacular - we loved her giant fresh fruit french toast breakfasts. Uni and Michael were like instant family. I can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: Two words: The Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My boyfriend Michael and I stayed at the calabash house this June 2012. This is our second visit, we were also there in October 2011. Everyone was great... It was very relaxing and restful... Miss Uni and Michael (same name as my honey) made use feel welcome and took great care of us... Miss Uni prepared the best Jamaican food and Michael took us fishing and showed us the best places along the beach...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcan_Mike_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
0.0 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 15 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse
"Nuestra Casa" Guesthouse
#3 of 15 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash House

Property: Calabash House
Address: Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Beach
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calabash House is one of the most inexpensive beachfront properties in Treasure Beach. Delicious meals are available to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calabash House Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing