We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved Hikaru and Treasure Beach”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WilliamBM...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A peacefull dated villa in caring community striving to build a tourist industry”
Reviewed 13 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Villa Hikaru is one of the oldest villas available in Billy's Bay and pricer relative to others in the area. That being said, it is a testament to the pioneering characteristic of it's owners and the community in which it occupies. It has a lovely pool and vista of the local bay and is in a relatively safe area of Jamaica.

My sister and I returned to Jamaica to holiday together having grown up there for our formative years and not seen each other for the last 5 years due to our respective international postings. We rented neighboring villas to enable our children to interact freely. Hers villa cost less and was much more modern than Hikaru. It had a lovely shaded pool, A/C, family sized living room, DVD player, large modern kitchen, mosquito guards and nets, etc. On the other hand we at the Hikaru had a more aged and rustic villa - smaller living area, kitchen, no A/C, fans which did not work well, makeshift/damaged tennis court, etc. Having said the above, our uncomfortable stay was made up somewhat by the lovely pool, view to the beach and Ms, Venesia and Ms. Eliesha's cooking, plus a few jokes and "ole time stories" with Mr. Patrick.We also had a few good day-trips, which broke the remoteness effects of Billly’s Bay. We ventured away to Negril, Black River, Savana-la-mar and other more tourist hotspots to get the kids dosed in what Jamaica truly has to offer. It is however very difficult to get away from the Treasure Beach / Billy’s Bay area to do our sightseeing given the dreadful state of the roads on the south coast of Jamaica. Nonetheless, we did it and it helped balance out the vacation for all of us.

Staying at the Hikaru is ideal for short stay, elderly (and I mean the not too old or frail due to the stair case from the pool to the house). It suits those wanting to get away and enjoy a secluded range of company. Having been there with my young and large family (Aged: 13 - 11 - 7 - 9Mths) it lacked variety but was good enough overall. In hindsight I should have booked a more modern neighboring villa (to get VFM) and looked for child friendly location/distractions for my lot rather than take my sister’s guidance. She wanted to go there because she was considering buying a property locally / nearby. I won’t return to the Hikaru - the world has so much more and better quality villas to offer for the price. Having said all that, we (everyone) enjoyed the food and the time we spent together with my sister's lot - which made up for much!

Thanks you Don and Brad for lending us your paradise for the two weeks. Thank you sis for a fun family time together!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
You would be amazed at the transformation of the Villa! Every single thing that you mentioned back in 2011 that needed to be worked on has been radically transformed in 2017. Hikaru is now a gleaming elegant Villa, with all the charm and grace of the original design, and all the new modern conveniences that we're lacking back in 2011 when this review was written. It is certainly not dated anymore! This chic home is stunning thanks to our Christian Dior trained French designer, filled with vibrant colors, gorgeous African fabrics, and cutting edge design throughout. Our magazine-worthy home now features a brand-new kitchen house with concrete counters and re-purposed wood cabinets, a large sea facing outdoor sitting room on the middle terrace, soaring tongue-in groove white wood cathedral ceilings, four brand-new ensuite bathrooms with new outdoor stone clad showers, air-conditioning, high-power fans, etc. We have maintained all the classic mid-century design elements, such as the Jamaican Quaker furniture, the 50 foot lap pool (which now has a covered large Cabana bed offering shade, and an enlarged pool terrace with chic wooden chaise lounges). Hikaru stands alone in it's setting, it's grace and beauty. This review certainly does not capture what the home is in 2017, as I know you would agree if you were to see it again. Stop by if you get a chance, I think you'll be amazed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunaj
Nampa, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Loved Hikaru and Treasure Beach”
Reviewed 13 June 2011 for a stay in July 2010
3
people found this review helpful

A group of us stayed at Hikaru several years ago. (I listed July 2010 because it wouldn't go back any further) We absolutely loved Hikaru and the staff. The house and grounds are gorgeous, clean and very comfortable. The food was spectacular! We enjoyed the fresh water pool as well as snorkeling right from the beach.

The owners were fantastic to deal with. They offer a sunshine guarantee, and they really mean it! We had rain 2 days while there, within a week of our return home I received a check in the mail.

I would highly recommend Hikaru for your family trip or a friends get together. It is quiet and secluded. If your looking for the touristy things or happening nightlife it's not for you. If you want to safely walk the dark streets at night and hang out with the locals at the corner bar/store, book your trip today!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2011
Thank you Tauna! Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KRJinSTR
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Perfectly Relaxing”
Reviewed 26 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Our family enjoyed every moment at Villa Hikaru! Mr. Noel's staff took excellent care of our every need: we were spoiled by the delicious food served at every meal by Miss Venesia and Miss Elesha. Mr. Patrick ensured that the grounds were kept clean, the pool was ready for us each morning and that my husband had someone to chat up each evening as we prepared for dinner.

We loved the many levels of the property, allowing us fantastic views and wonderful places to explore. Having sleeping accomodations for 8 people allowed us to enjoy a mini-family reunion which was just perfect. We could each find a special place to call our own for quiet moments yet enjoy the togetherness that is the best part of family vacations. Everyone enjoyed the pool, building sandcastles on the beach and taking a dip in the warm sea water, lazily hitting balls on the tennis courts and competing in "master" rounds of croquet in the early evening. Wireless internet works in the main house and all the bedrooms allowing us to stay as connected as we wanted to. After supper, we settled in for Jamaican style dominoes, Connect Four, Go Fish and even Monopoly! Our 9-year old son said it best, "even with no TV, you can never get bored here - there's always something to do"!

Villa HIkaru is in a small fishing village and is not the easiest place to get to...but once you make the trip you'll be well rewarded if you're interested in a truly relaxing vacation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Reviewed 11 February 2010 for a stay in January 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing