We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot explain this place ...”
Review of Katamah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Katamah
Ranked #2 of 16 Treasure Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words cannot explain this place ...”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This place is a little piece of heaven on earth. I was there for 2 weeks and had the most amazing time. I was fortunate enough to have had my wedding on the second day I was there (which was a total surprise). I couldn't have asked for a better place to do it. It was so perfect and I wouldn't have wanted it any other way. It will be a yearly tradition from now on. Moni and Andrew were so warm, welcoming and made my wedding day and the rest of my stay so wonderful. They are both so much fun and beyond nice. They make you feel like family and they make it really difficult to leave, pretty sure we all had a tear or two when saying goodbye.
The rooms were beautiful and clean. The kitchen is fully usable and we had a lot of fun cooking for ourselves (if you have a chance, taste some of Andrew's cooking!). It is close to so many delicious restaurants and shops ( I suggest going to the Wild "Turkey" on Wednesday nights!).
I cannot say one bad thing about this place, it is truly the best spot I have ever been.
See you next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaFalconer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    19
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
66
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

just wonderful and fun. the most welcoming hosts moni and andrew. i miss you already. there was an incredible wedding while i visited and it was simple and easy .the accomedations are clean and magnificently designed. thank you for keeping the welcoming spirit of jamaica alive with your wonderful guest house!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olgasgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

A great surprise to be found at Katamah,seaside resort.Friendly staff and community .A real gem on Treasure Beach.Constant attention to the simple details , make Katamah a resort worth returning to. Wishing Monica and Andrew our hosts future success .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending a short honeymoon at Katamah, and it was a wonderful experience. It all started with Mark who was so helpful answering my questions before the trip and even helped me arrange a bottle of champagne to welcome us when we arrived! Upon our arrival, and throughout our stay, Monika and Andrew couldn't have been better hosts. We felt like we were visiting friends and family, and always felt comfortable and welcome. It was truly one of the best examples of hospitality I have experienced in my extensive travels.

My wife and I stayed in the cabin, and it was just what we hoped for. We weren't looking for luxury and pampering, but rather just a very low key place to relax close to the beach, and Katamah and the cabin was perfect for us. We slept listening to the waves with sea breeze flowing through the windows. We also loved how the shower was open to the sky which reminded my wife of her summers spent on the Jersey shore growing up. The beach is literally just a one minute walk from the cabin wich was nice as well.

The area has many great restaurants and bars to try, and most within easy walking distance. Our favorite dinner spot was Strikey's (it was about an 8 minute drive due to the rough road, and would probably be about 20 mins walking). The food there, especially the jerk chicken, was absolutely incredible, and the owner couldn't be more freindly. He also loves to dance while cooking which is very entertaining! Diner's Delight, only a 3 minute walk from Katamah, also has super delicious food. Our favorite breakfast spot was Pardy's, about a 5 minute walk. We preferred Pardy's over the better known Smurf's both for better food plus more friendly and better ambiance. By the way, many guide books say Smurf's has the best coffee, but as a coffee lover I felt it actually had the worst of all the places we tried! We also enjoyed Jake's for eating by the water, although it was far more expensive than other dining options. Jack Sprat's was also good food and a fun experience.

We have many other places on our list to visit before we return to Treasure Beach, but we would love to go back some day, and would absolutely stay at Katamah again. The roads are pretty rough (pot holes, poor condition) but the journey is memorable and well worth it. If you are looking for a commercialized resort type vacation, Treasure beach isn't for you, but if you want a more authentic experience and a place for great relaxation you will love it. Thanks again to everyone at Katamah for a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

wanna spend some quality time next to the ocean on an immaculate strip of sand lined for miles by quaint bars and homey restaurants all the while knowing your place is as safe as fort knox under the vigilant eye of lovely Monika and her omnipresent companion Andrew the Strong
...well do yourself a favour and book at the Katamah Resort on Treasure Beach Jamaica.
A Little Paradise, really!
Tranquil though never boring.
Exciting yet peaceful.
Jamaican breakfast at Smurff's.
Baracuda for lunch at Buzz's.
An afternoon pint right on the beach, at Flasher's thatched hut.
A chat on the art of wood carving with Bushman...beneath the coconut grove.
A tour through the hills (or right around the whole island should you so desire) with philosopher Phil.
Mon...i can go on forever...there's really all sorts of ways to while away the time.

Miss you all
Roberto

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Katamah is the perfect place to get away from it all. Our week was filled with hammocks, waves, great food, and total and utter relaxation. The property is right on the beach, you fall asleep and wake to the soothing sounds of the ocean. The Moroccan villas are decorated perfectly. The area has several great restaurants, and all the food is so fresh and authentic. Treasure Beach is the perfect place to go to get away from everything, and Katamah is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Definitely a perfect place to stay while at Treasure Beach. Great accommodation, very nice (and stylish) rooms, nice and quiet, and right on the beach. Better yet are the guys running Katamah! Really nice friendly people, great fun, more than happy to help out, have a beer with you & they just make your time there that much more enjoyable. Overall an amazing place to stay and treasure beach is an incredible place. Less touristy than Ocho Rios or Negril, so you get much more exposed to the true Jamaican culture and people. The locals in the area are very friendly, laid back, and are keen to have a chat if you are. Make sure you bring plenty of spare cash as the nearest ATM is about 20 mins drive away. Best if you have a car (as we did), but isn't too much of a problem as you can get around with the local taxis. Pelican bar is a must, as is lovers leap (just get there on a clear sunny morning or afternoon - incredible view).

Couldn't recommend Katamah more though. Beats Jacks place and you will not regret staying there one bit!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
0.2 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
112 reviews
47.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kudehya Guesthouse
Kudehya Guesthouse
#1 of 16 in Treasure Beach
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katamah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katamah

Property: Katamah
Address: Main Beach Road, Frenchmans Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katamah is a unique vacation experienced, more like living in a small village in the Caribbean where you get to interact with the local community on a daily basis. You can buy your fruits and vegetables from the local farmers who visit the property regularly, fisherman that sell daily catches it fish and lobster, and local craftsmen offering everything from carvings to hand made shoes. A small resort in the heart of the Treasure Beach, on the South Coast of Jamaica, best known for its unspoiled beaches, laidback locals and warm friendly vibe. With only 6 rooms we are small enough to know everyone staying with us and we do our best to cater to all of your vacation needs. Although located in the center of town, our rooms at Katamah are shady, quiet and secluded in a garden lush flowering plants. This paradise on the beach is the perfect retreat for a restful relaxing vacation. Rent one of our bikes and explore the other bays of Treasure beach like Great Bay with walking trails lined with caves and succulent plants. Or beautiful Old Wharf with its for shady trees I am calm waters. Go fishing with the locals, kayaking, hiking, or simply unwind in one of our hammocks by the beach and watch the sun set into the ocean. Choose from any of our different accommodations, like one of our cabins on the beach, or our stylish lovely rooms in our Moroccan Villa. Or our all new penthouse suite the Laila II with it's breathtaking views of the beautifully landscaped garden, Mountain view's and Ocean views from its private bamboo balcony! We offer free WIFI and daily housekeeping. We live onsite and are available to arrange boat tours and sight-seeing trips for you during your stay with us at Katamah. Come experience whats beyond the prison like walls of the all-inclusive's...Become part of the Katamah family, and a part of the community of treasure beach, a community of people who know your name and look forward to your return every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Katamah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katamah Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing