We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marblue Villa Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

That says it all! the people make the difference. My daughter and I stayed at Marblue in March. When I explained to Andrea that we needed a room with two beds, she went out of her way to accommodate us. It is a five minute walk to Jake's, where we went for yoga and some meals. The food at the hotel was very good, and as I mentioned, everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. The only disadvantage is that this area is a little far from the airport, and the beach just outside the hotel is a little rocky. Other than that, it was a great find.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ColleenB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Marblue for one week in February. It was a lovely visit from the arrival greeting by Andrea and Axel to the goodbye breakfast.
We stayed in the Pineapple Suite. The suite was roomy and spotless. Kitchen was equipped with everything one could want for cooking and dining, but the meals offered by the Marblue chefs table were delicious and we often ate there. We walked to other restaurants and shops and always felt safe even after dark.
Andrea was a wonderful host offering good advice, answering questions and just spending time with guests.
Axel, an amazing chef, provided creative, well- prepared meals. I believe that they have a new system in place in which staff will be cooking.
Our suite was very clean and thoughtfully stocked with lemony shampoo, body wash and cream made for Marblue.
Hair dryer was provided and staff kept everything in good shape and responded promptly to any request.
The pools were inviting and the sound of the waves a delight.
Flowers and rich green plants covered the outdoor space. It was truly beautiful.
I believe the price was reasonable , and I will happily return for another visit.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews and Marblue's own website, we expected a luxurious, boutique-style 5 star hotel, but our experience didn't reflect that. Despite being high season, the owners were not onsite and the hotel was being managed by two Jamaicans. Although I had booked and paid in full months in advance, for the first two days after arrival the onsite staff tried to tell me that I owed more than was previously agreed to and paid to the owners. This misunderstanding was resolved, however, it wasn't a positive start to our stay.

We were two couples staying in the Pineapple Suite and planned to use the kitchen daily but found it difficult to obtain groceries nearby without a car and the kitchen appliances in a declining state. We were told ahead that we could arrange for the hotel to could cook in our suite or purchase groceries for us, but the staff onsite didn't seem able to accommodate this during our stay. The well-known restaurant was not officially open, but the onsite staff offered to make us breakfast or dinner by daily request. The meals were fine and convenient, but not especially noteworthy or generously portioned for the prices charged so for the most part we walked to other restaurants in Treasure Beach.

In sum, the hotel grounds and our suite were clean, the pools refreshing, and the vibe casual and pleasantly quiet. Things (air conditioning units, coffee makers, pool chairs, towels, etc) are starting to become worn, however, and Marblue is going to need to invest in the property soon to maintain satisfaction. Based on previous reviews, I expect our experience might have been easier and more enjoyable if the owners were onsite and we were sorry to have missed them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindywait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This place is simply heaven. When you hear Jamaica, you probably think of all-inclusives and cruise ships. Beaches full of tourists, people selling you something endlessly, from hair braiding to jet-ski and para-sail rides. Chain restaurants and giant, sweet drinks in funny cups. Then you arrive at Treasure Beach, and you realize that on this side of the island, it's nothing like that.

You step into Marblue and you are home. Andrea and Axel welcomed us into their beautiful hotel and we were swept away by their warmth, the stunning views, our gorgeous room, and the absolute peace of their boutique hotel.

Andrea emailed us before our arrival, and besides helping us arrange all the details of our travel, she made sure we had everything we might want on hand, including even stocking our refrigerator with fresh fruit - pineapple, mangos, bananas, and papaya. What a treat.

Our room was perfect. Private and quiet, with our own secret plunge pool just outside our airy cabana. Details like luxury linens, big soft towels, poolside barware, and more are all de rigueur at Marblue. And yet, the whole time, you feel like family. We have traveled extensively, and rarely find such a pleasant blend of true substance, gentile luxury and tangible warmth like we have discovered at Marblue.

We enjoyed a beach with literally not another soul in sight, a beautiful ocean-front pool steps from our huge room, lovely rustic and comfy dining- cookshop style - at their sweet gazebo restaurant (complete with priceless sunset views and trade-wind breezes), and above all, the warmth of an assured local staff who want nothing more than to share their slice of paradise with you.

Treasure beach is a quite rural area of Jamaica. You will not find extensive dining choices, there are no clubs, and I can't even imagine a gift shop there. You walk on country roads to procure rum and jerk at roadside stands along with the locals. You might make friends with a neighborhood dog or two, who will follow you to the beach. You will smell flowers, and herbs growing wild, and you will forget about your cell phone and email, and most any other vestige of the "real" world. Here at Treasure Beach, at Marblue, you will instead find the "Real" Caribbean. We could not recommend Marblue more highly.

Room Tip: The last room on the end has a private plunge pool for extra luxury! Captain Joseph is also a must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CbrownPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Best vacation ever for two seasoned travelers in our 60s. If you want ziplines, inflatables, discos, helicopter rides and loud music, this isn't your place. Treasure Beach is not a huge tourist destination. It's a farming and fishing community first. The Jamaicans there are exceedingly polite and friendly. You aren't going to get hit on for a transaction every time you meet one. This may well change, but right now, it's laid back, funky, friendly, mesmerizing, slightly shabby (in the best possible way), unpretentious, uncommercialized; in a word, unspoiled.

We spent five nights in the Papaya Suite at MarBlue. Axel and Andrea were there for the first couple of days, then off on business. Not to worry, Pierce was a wonderful manager, attentive and friendly. The rest of the young staff, Natty, Skip, Sharmoy (I'm sure I misspelled that), and all were fantastic.

Axel is no longer the chef at the restaurant. He and Andrea are giving a couple of Jamaican kids a shot at running their own business. I didn't eat there when Axel was chef, but Audsley does a fantastic job! The curry fish was spectacular and the lobster is outstanding! It's not haute cuisine, but it's darn good Jamaican cooking.

We walked the beach for a couple of miles every day, and we never met more than one or two others on our walks. There's a fleet of 15-20 fishing boats that are based about half a mile up the beach from MarBlue. The boats are painted wonderfully bright colors and they have names like Exodus, Bull Dog, Mississippi, and Phenix. I asked a couple of fishermen how the day's fishing had been and they asked us if we wanted to go out with them. There's simply no better place to watch the sun set on the Caribbean than in Treasure Beach.

It's a 2.5 hour trip from MoBay on the worst road in Jamaica, but along the way, you'll drive through the mountains and see the real Jamaica. The scenery is unbelieveable! Plus, you'll drive right past the grave of reggae star Peter Tosh.

One thing to be sure of: take enough cash. Many of the places in TB don't take credit cards and the nearest ATM machine is in Southfield, which is 20-30 minutes by car (according to whom you ask).

We're from Iowa, and we felt right at home in this area, where fishing and farming are the main endeavors. We passed orange groves, cane fields, papaya trees, cashew trees, melon fields, potato fields and lots more.

Our driver, Winston Malcolm, stopped at a grocery store in MoBay so we could stock up. They didn't have any limes for sale. When we got to MarBlue, my wife asked Pierce if should could buy a lime. He said, "There are two trees by the sidewalk back to your room. Look up and you'll see all the limes you want."

If you're looking for a funky, non-touristy experience, this is the place. The room was fantastic, the service very good, the scenery, ambiance and vibe were exceptional. We enjoyed chatting with other guests, people whose idea of a perfect vacation is the same as ours. Everyone said how said they were to leave TB. My wife told Natty she was sad, to which he replied, "Be happy you were able to be here!"

Room Tip: MarBlue has lots of options for accomodations. The Papaya Suite, where we stayed, has a private plun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMaravetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids ( 6 and 4 year old) stayed in this amazing hotel for 4 days in December. We booked a Pineapple suite (I think) and our stay was amazing! This 2 bedroom suite is so spacious , with breathtaking views of the sea and a pool and close to a restaurant. Everything was perfect! Andrea and Axel were so welcoming and helpful. The food was simply delicious! This was our favorite part of our Jamaican trip. We walked everywhere and enjoyed lovely and friendly locals and our beautiful stay in Marblue. Dont look any further -you wont be disappointed! There is no better place in Treasure beach!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I spent the whole month of Feb staying at Mar Blue. What a wonderful experience. I have been coming to Jamaica for 12 years and finally found what I would consider my home. I have already booked for next year and plan on staying there the whole month again, maybe more. The owners are fantastic, accommodation and view is wonderful. The staff was great. My whole stay was just fantastic. I can't find anything to complain about. I just can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: Just relax, and take in the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Beach
0.3 mi away
Taino Cove
Taino Cove
#4 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
48.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.8 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
91.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marblue Villa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marblue Villa Suites

Property: Marblue Villa Suites
Address: | Old Wharf, Calabash Bay, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marblue Villa Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARBLUE villa Suites " do more what makes you happy!" You actually have a micro/mini villa/suite for yourself and your significant other,relax with the sound of the Sea ,a Pool, Garden and the Beach of Old Wharf, which is the quiet Stretch of Calabash Bay in Treasure Beach. 5 Suites are 650 square feet big , where the open living Room let in the breeze , where the closed Bedroom let you relax on a King Size Bed with A/C, 1 Suite is even bigger , and can host a family of four or 4 friends coming to enjoy the tranquility of the area.All Suites are equipped with fridge, Toaster & Coffee Maker or Tea Kettle, be self contained in your Kitchen or a kitchen-nette.And the ones who dont- can heat up their Jamaican experience in the new Mango Tango Kitchen-nette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marblue Villa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marblue Villa Hotel Treasure Beach
Marblue Hotel St Elizabeth
Marblue Resort St Elizabeth
Marblue Villa Suites Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing