We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay ever!”
Review of Taino Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Taino Cove
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I went to Jamaica with my university, and this was one of the locations we stayed at! Right away I fell in love with Miss Winnie, her staff, and the hotel! It is a beautiful hotel, the food was amazing, and I wish I could have stayed longer! I am going back next January just to see miss Winnie and stay at this lovely hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ehfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Can't describe how great this place, and Winnie is. If you're looking for all inclusive, with slides in the pool, crowds of people, and a party scene, this place is not at all for you. If you want a bellhop at the door and fake touristy attitudes, again, do not stay here.
Our arrival at Taino Cove was later than we anticipated, 10pm. We communicated with Winnie via phone to let her know several times, and always is was "Ya mon, come when you come, I'll be here". Winnie was there when we arrived, and came to our rescue when a local taxi driver tried to overcharge us. She, throughout our stay, could not have been more gracious, warm, informative and helpful. I've traveled the world and know that the style of property she runs is delightfully, and uniquely special. I live in Los Angeles, having just moved from NYC, so I experience quite an anxious lifestyle. My wife's and my hope was to trip to Jamaica and have a peaceful, romantic, cultural beach experience, and boy were we glad we chose Taino.
Treasure beach is a great, small, old-Jamaica (read no mega resorts or crowds of people with hustlers, etc) style town. It's filled with nice, clean, private beaches, great restaurants with little crowds on and off the water, with fair if not very low prices and very good food, fantastic local walks through beautiful fields. The beach just outside Taino Cove was our favorite and the most private we encountered in all Jamaica.
Breakfast every morning was a choice of continental (great local bread, homemade spreads, great coffee, fruit plate, other seasonal surprises) or egg, etc. I think Winnie's staff would make it for you if you asked.
The staff reflected Winnie's style. They were incredibly nice, accommodating, and always concerned with what we needed. One evening late I hadn't turned on my room's AC because neither my wife nor I felt we needed it, with the cool ocean breezes coming through the huge balcony french doors. But we had just come from walking a long walk and felt hot, and asked for help turning it on...they were there as always and were all over it. They keep the remote control for the units downstairs because people tended to leave with them, or break them. Some people just left the AC on all the time, but we told them we had no need. After that one night we never used it again, but every afternoon they would ask us if we would like to have our AC turned on for when we got back, etc. Very thoughtful.
For other meals we walked the 15-20 minutes to the cluster of restaurants & hotels on the main tiny drag. There are great places there for anything you want...a cool large bar/restaurant on the beach, several on the beach local restaurants and hotels, and several off. I had amazing lobster at Sunset Beach Resort for $15 including sides. Fantastic. Christmas Dinner at Dawn's was a huge fantastic Buffet for $20. Jakes has great food, smoothies, etc.
As much as we loved the restaurants in 'town', we were very happy to be at Taino Cove. Jakes, we felt, was overcrowded. The images on their site showed the property as more spread out, but really the place most people hung out was by the pool/sunning deck (no beach there) and it just seemed overrun. We both agreed staying at Taino was better. There's also a huge beach West of Taino (30 min walk, opposite direction from town, Great Bay) that has a few tiny bars and the Lobster Pot restaurant....a tiny shack with very good food!
For local transportation we were great to walk and take taxis to places farther that we cared to stroll. Someone at the hotel while we were there rented a moped, which Winnie arranged. It looked great, new, etc., and I got a ride one day into town. That was a good idea. Bicycles are available for rent too, but again, we were great with walking. Nothing's that far, and it's so pastural, beautiful. We weren't there to rush around, but it's easy to do that if you like, you just need to ask mon!
The rooms were sparse, which was fine by us. No TV's, but...really...come on! Haha. Beds were good, bathroom worked great, balcony doors, views, smells and sounds were all phenomenal. Anything we needed, we got. No problem. We asked that housekeeping only come in every other day...no problem mon!
The pool was cool, and spotless. Crystal clear (you can see in the pictures I posted). Everything on the property was clean, and we felt very comfortable there. No bugs, we saw no mosquitos...
Finally, Winnie, and her husband Patrick, were amazing. She drove us one day to YS Falls, and showed us little off the beaten path sites, a great little jerk stand, etc. What a smart, and lovely lady! Patrick was a valuable man to have on site. He understand Jamaica, Jamaican law, etc. He proved very helpful to us too, and very nice too.
Needless to say, next time we want to unwind and find our centers again, Taino Cove is where we'll go!!!!

Room Tip: We preferred the balcony rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After one month of traveling with my wife to Jamaica, we were looking forward to concluding our fabulous trip with a special treat in a nice hotel next to the beach. Based on the convincing and nicely made website as well as on the great reviews we picked Taino Cove. Nonetheless, our three days stay did not live up to our expectations at all and was definitely not worth the money spent. If you are planning to stay there, please read this review, as we are definitely not advising to anyone staying there, even if it was for free.
Travelling over Christmas and New Years, the busiest season of the year, sometimes causes difficulties to find a room in a nice place. Therefore, we were very happy that there was room in the Taino Cove hotel. However, many problems arose, here is an non-exhaustive list:
- The first calls were already difficult, since we could barely understand what was being said; on our arrival, no one was there to welcome us and our rooms were not ready yet;
- In the evening, the real problems started. After a relaxing afternoon at the beach we wanted to enjoy the nice room, but the lights of the room did not work properly, only the bathroom and the balcony had functioning ones. In order to fix it, we went to the owner who was busy chatting with some people that randomly showed up at the resort. The owner came over to the room, was extremely rude and said he should wait for his wife, who would fix it. We had to speak again to him and to her in order to gain a crappy light for the second night (which was left in the lobby, not brought to the room...)
- Also, the bathroom door could not close properly and the air-conditioning kind of worked, although you had to grab a remote control downstairs to turn it on and off as there was only one for the entire building!
- The swimming pool is a great example of the sadness of this place: the water was not clean at all, leafs and napkins floating around; it had only two deck chairs (for a hotel of about 10 rooms) and the bar had no one, only a stinky fridge full of beers (no water available);
- The lobby was also a rather terrible to hang out: even if the room was really great, the owners spend their days in front of a big screen assisting American TV shows (remember not to disturb them, they will get upset and aggressive) and the Wi-Fi would only work in a small portion of the lobby, only sporadically;
- If you have no car, plan to walk about 30 minutes to the town in order to eat as there is not food provided and rides will not be provided to you in a gentle way;
All in all, even though the place is great and the staff is nice, the owners are really not welcoming and the stay totally overpriced. Hence, do not stay there and spread the word widely! Enjoy Jamaica and thanks for reading!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lepolak159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Went to Treasure Beach for a family reunion and stayed too late so had to spend the night and this place was recommended to us. The lateness of the hour didn't prohibit Ms Winnie from being accommodating. The place is beautiful and the surroundings are so tranquil. If not for having to leave early, we would have stayed longer to fully enjoy this wonderful place. Will definitely return to experience the hotel, Jack Sprat, the Pelican and the rest of Treasure Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I stayed at Taino Cove with a group of fellow college students for a few days during our week long service trip in Jamaica. This was the first place we stayed at and I consider it to be hands down the best place to stay in Jamaica. It was like living in a dream with Winnie and the staff going above and beyond to ensure we were all made to feel comfortable and at home. I intend to go back in the future, maybe even make it a tradition.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and will hopefully return! Our room was clean and spacious, Winnie was very welcoming and helpful and the location was perfect. Close enough to the amenities of Treasure beach yet detached enough to provide a tranquil getaway. Winnie organised for Captain Ted to pick us up from the cove and take us to Pelican Bar, that was a brilliant experience and definately a highlight of our trip. We ate most evenings in Jack Sprats which served tasty, reasonably priced food with a good atmosphere and also treated ourself to delicious Valentines meal of lobster in Jakes.
Unfortunately we had no fridge in our room, Winnie allowed us to use the staff kitchen to store food however it would have been more convenient to have our own fridge.
Really beautiful area, would definately reccommend it and would love to stay here again if we're fortunate enough to return to Treasure Beach! Thanks Winnie!x

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor room which we loved as we could walk straight out the patio doors to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a great time at Taino Cove. It is located in a quiet area, which we appreciated. While we enjoy the local music scene, at night I prefer to listen to the sound of waves lapping the beach, which is easy to do at this property (ask for a room closer to the water instead of near the lobby). The room was spacious and clean, and the mattress was good. Breakfast was very nice -- loved eating by the pool and the beach in the morning and our server was very willing to accommodate our special dietary requests. Thanks Winnie!

Room Tip: The suites on the end are closest to the water, and the rooms on the upper floor have a vaulted ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YukonJack15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Treasure Beach Hotel
Treasure Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Treasure Beach
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
Jakes Hotel, Villas & Spa
#1 of 5 in Treasure Beach
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marblue Villa Suites
Marblue Villa Suites
#2 of 5 in Treasure Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset Resort & Villas
Sunset Resort & Villas
#3 of 5 in Treasure Beach
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Katamah
Katamah
#2 of 17 in Treasure Beach
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kudehya Guesthouse
Kudehya Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Treasure Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taino Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taino Cove

Address: Old Wharf | Treasure Beach, Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Elizabeth Parish > Treasure Beach
Amenities:
Beach Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Treasure Beach
Price Range: £76 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taino Cove is a serene getaway where you can fully enjoy the still-unspoiled side of Jamaica. Whether coordinating an intimate, extended-stay retreat, or you just need a quiet place to rest your head between island adventures, your stay at Taino Cove can be tailored to fit your heart's desire. Relax and enjoy our peaceful balance of comfort and warm, attentive hospitality. At Taino Cove, you can get away from it all by escaping to your own private paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Taino Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taino Cove Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Hotel Treasure Beach
Taino Cove Jamaica/Treasure Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing