We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs (and a bunch of paws) up!”
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ceiba Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two thumbs (and a bunch of paws) up!”
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We stayed here only one night, but really liked it! We lucked out by getting room #2 -- I think that only rooms 1 & 2 have the ocean view. Ocean is in the distance, but it's beautiful. The room faces east, so a beautiful sunrise came through the windows, which we left open (with screens), and a ceiling fan, for a comfortable night's sleep. And it was very spacious, with dual sinks separate from the toilet/shower area.As a dog lover, I was pleased to see so many friendly, well-behaved dogs there (and a few cats). I instantly bonded with "Rosie"! Grounds are beautiful, common balcony/patio area and dining/bar area are nice. Owners were very friendly. They serve drinks at their bar until about 9, just FYI. Oh, and they serve a delicious breakfast (included)!

  • Liked — secluded location, beautiful grounds, friendly dogs
  • Disliked — hmmm...bar closes a little too early!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shananay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    104
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
93
231
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon after spending 3 nights in San Juan at the Marriott Resort. Marriott Resort it is not, but it is fantastic for the opposite reasons.

The property is secluded up in the hills, making for a peaceful place to relax and unwind. We used it as our "base" for exploring the eastern part of the island...it was 30-45 minutes to El Yunque and Fajardo which made it nice for doing side trips. The rooms are fairly large but basic, with a simplicity that we found charming. Their patio deck gives a sweeping view of the countryside below and the coqui frogs produced an unforgettable evening sonata. The frogs' songs were quite loud, but produced a wall of sound not unlike white noise...so even my husband (who normally has trouble falling asleep with minor noises) could rest easy. The walls of the rooms are pretty thin, so if you have travelers next to you and want to be discreet you will have to watch yourselves.;)

The innkeepers have gotten various reviews from other respondents but we found them very helpful. They weren't the type to jump to their feet to "serve" you, but would always respond when asked for anything. They have information on local attractions there at the inn and were a great source of information. We sat at the bar both nights and talked with Dick (the male owner) pretty easily. It takes a little while to warm up to him but it's not difficult as long as you have mastered the basics of conversation. He even gave us a drink on the house in celebration of our honeymoon.:)

The continental breakfast was basic (fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, and banana bread that Sue the owner makes) but tasty. The dogs on the property were well behaved and not noisy aise from an occasional bark when a vehicle pulled into the driveway. I was afraid they would beg but they did not at all.

Overall, for the 2 nights and $185 we were charged, it was a great deal. Allowed us to get back to nature while still having clean, comfortable rooms with A/C. Not for the high-maintenance, but for those who appreciate the simple things every once in a while.

  • Liked — Location, peaceful
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast was good but a bit sparse
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgettingstarted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2008

this is a great place to stay. the inn keepers are friendly and inviting. it is tucked away in Ceiba so it feels like you are in the middle of nature with a great view. there are dogs running around but they behave well and don't bother the guests. this is a perfect spot for the budget minded person who still wants to stay at a cozy place.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank racelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We liked the inn and the countryside....and the view of St Thomas, and the friendly dogs, the weather, El Yunque, conversations with the innkeepers. But, the best part of our stay was the sound of the coqi frogs as evening arrived. Although they were loud, the wall of sound made it easy to sleep. It actually became comforting as we got accustomed to it. It was an experience that I won't forget.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank keithpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We were a bit skeptical when we drove up because we didn't have a map. We asked a local man, who was very helpful, for directions. When we got there we were so pleasantly surprised. The views are breathtaking, just lilke the pictures on the website. Our room was very comfortable. We knew there wasn't a tv in our room but we didn't fly for 4 1/2 hours to watch tv. Breakfast was very good with fresh coffee, fresh fruit and homemade bread. Sue and Dick were very helpful with great restaurants and things to do. We were there for 2 nights and both nights we sat and had a few drinks and great conversations with Dick. Sue even tracked us down when we left a passport in our room. She went out of her way to make sure that we had it before we flew back home. We love dogs and they were a nice welcoming touch. If we ever go back to Puerto Rico we will go back to the Ceiba Country Inn. Sue and Dick were great hosts.

  • Liked — it was close to the rainforest, so back to nature.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trustypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

We only stayed for one night, but loved it. We were able to get a great night's sleep because of the quiet, the room was big and the bathroom was the biggest of the 5 hotels in Puerto Rico we stayed. The Inn was very clean and had all the amenities we wanted. My wife was dying for a book - Ceiba Country Inn let her keep the one she picked. This was the only hotel on our 10 day trip with a free continental breakfast, it was the biggest room we had, comfortable bed, great outdoor area for eating breakfast and enjoying the beautiful landscape, and we really enjoyed our short conversations with the owners Sue and Richard, who are great. If you are looking for a great, comfy, clean, quaint Inn set back a little in the countryside, Ceiba Country Inn is the best value in Puerto Rico! I will hopefully add some pictures on here later . . .

  • Liked — location and peacefulness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eagle2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We read many great reviews for this inn and decided to make a reservation for two nights of our Puerto Rico trip. Upon arrival, we were immediately disappointed. The room was extremely worn--the beds and linens were at least 30 years old and faded, the sink knob came off, no television... just not worth $85 before taxes...not to mention, you can hear the owners hanging out and talking as loudly as if they were in your room--they were hanging out in their bar area which overlooks the entire inn. We had no idea that the inn would be so far from the nearest restaurant, and the "entertainment" available at the inn (their bar/living room) shuts down at 9. We asked to cancel our reservation within 10 minutes of checking in and were hit with a wall of attitude from the lady of the inn. She badgered us as to our reasons for leaving, sighed a lot, rolled her eyes, argued back, but finally agreed to let us go. As we were returning our bags to the car, we crossed paths with her and she apologized for her behavior. However, as we were getting into the car, she came back and freaked out on us one more time.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank IwantAteleport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceiba
5.2 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
982 reviews
7.7 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
6.9 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Property: Ceiba Country Inn
Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing