We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Rainforest B&B”
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ceiba Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is my favorite B&B I have ever stayed at. Wow! Stunningly beautiful. As you eat breakfast you sit on the patio, which overlooks the east coast of Puerto Rico. Just outside our room was the rainforest: we would lay in a hammock and relax, practically in the rainforest! The owners and staff are incredibly friendly, and eager to answer any and all questions about Puerto Rico. There couldn't be a more peaceful, beautiful location for a B&B. There isn't a ton to do in Ceiba itself, but this hotel is very close to the rainforest, Farjardo, Luquillo, Humacao. Very central location for so many other activities. The owner's dogs are so friendly and really made us feel at home. It was so wonderful to come home from a day of hiking in the rainforest to have adorable dogs waiting for your return. Room was very clean and had everything we needed, including a mini fridge. The breakfast is super yummy: fresh squeezed tamarind and passionfruit juice, homeade banana bread and scones, cereal and yogurt, coffee. Our only regret was not staying here longer and we were there for 3 days already. If we venture to Puerto Rico again, we will absolutely stay here. FYI: they are working on putting a pool in! Best value hands down.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a patio so you can relax in a hammock on the edge of the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayLin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week and absolutely LOVED it. It is only about an hour (maybe 1.5) from San Juan, and it's an easy drive. It's located at the tippy-top of a big hill. We rented a mini car and we had no problems getting up the hill (although it looks daunting at first glance). Once at the top, you look down over the landscape and it is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. Lush green with exotic flowers all around the property. I think it was one of the most beautiful sights in PR, though there are MANY to contend with. The Inn owner takes very good care of the property, and was always willing to help us with directions or advice when asked. The breakfast was GREAT. It's homemade breads and fresh exotic fruits, and some other pastry options. The owner took the time to help us find Coqui frogs at night and the ENORMOUS toads that roamed the property at night (we are true nature lovers!). The location was perfect. We were able to go horseback riding, bioluminescent bay, ferry to Culebra Island, Icacos Island tour snorkeling tour, rainforest tour, and many other beaches all within a 30 minute drive. We still can't believe the great value of this place. When we went it was only $85 a night. It's one of the cheapest places we've ever stayed and definitely the BEST. Clean, friendly, central to everything. And despite the fact that most (if not every) home/hotel in PR has open windows it was very peaceful and quiet. We could not hear the other people staying in the other rooms. The only thing we heard all night was the frogs which we enjoyed!

Room Tip: We stayed on a first level room, right underneath the balcony. We had no complaints about our room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There are thousands of places to choose from when visiting Puerto Rico, and frankly, most of them lack the character, charm, and scenic natural beauty of The Ceiba Country Inn. This quaint B&B is but a few miles off the main highway on the east end of Puerto Rico, but it's high up in the foothills of the El Yunque rainforest - one of only a handful of such accommodations in the rainforest. Our room had a Caribbean view with the island of Culebra visible in the distance. At night, the Inn is immersed in a tropical symphony of night sounds, starring the Coqui tree frog. It was a unforgettable experience to feel the cool night breezes and listen to the wonderful sounds of nature! The friendly dogs there greeted us with excitement and made us miss our dog at home just a little bit less. We celebrated the evening of our anniversary there, and the owner, Michael, was kind enough to indulge us with a home-cooked meal and a bottle of wine that I set up with him in advance. The cooking was local Puerto Rican cuisine - the best we had the entire trip - and many of the ingredients came from right there on the property! Likewise, the breakfasts were fantastic with a selection of exotic juices, excellent local Puerto Rican coffee, fresh baked breads, and a wide variety of fresh fruits and eggs from on site. I actually stumbled upon this place because our beach resort wasn't available the entire duration of our trip, but if I had to do it over again, I would have stayed here the entire time! If you're looking for a unique experience on Puerto Rico and love nature (even the brief, heavy rain showers were charming), look no further!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have the ocean views and are worth the extra $, but really, the rainforest views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Mike was good enough to show us a room. The view was beautiful, the room looked awesome, and the atmosphere was very welcoming. We booked a room, but us to unforeseen circumstances, we had to cancel. We'd like to thank Mike for his friendliness and we will be back in the future to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yecats99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The inn is situated on top of a hill outside Ceiba. If your planning a trip to El Yunque its a 30 minute drive. Fajardo is 15 minutes away.
Our room was in a great location facing the jungle. The room was cozy and clean and offered a refrigerator. At night we relaxed in a hammock and listened to the coqui. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The inn has a great upper deck that affords spectacular views of Fajardo and the Carribean. The continental breakfast included local fresh fruits, eggs, juices (passion fruit, guava, orange) and breads.

We chatted with the guests. Many have returned to the inn 8 or 9 times.

I would have given the inn 5 stars , but they are in the process of building a pool for guests and there was construction noise to deal with during the day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The inn is charming and the views amazing. Lots of gentle animals ( dogs and cats) to pet if you wish. Trails abound and so do comfortable chairs. The breakfast was delicious with home grown fruits and juices, home made breads, and then the usual cereals, etc.

The owners are friendly and eager to enhance guests visit to the Inn and the area. We asked about the beaches and were given a hand drawn map that took us right to the beach area. The map was provided without being requested.

Rooms are attractive and clean. This is not a fancy place, but quite charming with lots of special touches. Our experience was a delightful one.

I must mention the other guests, they were interesting to visit with - quite a variety of backgrounds and interest. At the same time, we found guests can have the degree of privacy desired.

Coming soon, we learned today, is a large swimming pool. It should be ready before summer.

Room Tip: Plan to stay a few days to really appreciate the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

You need a detailed map to get there but it' s really worthy.
15 min from the motorway, you find yourself in the countryside, on a hill with a nice view.
The accomodation is simple, clean, welcoming, the owners have some kind pets.
The ownly drawback is that you will have to take the car for having dinner at night...
Otherwise, it was a very nice experience in Ceiba.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range: £56 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing