We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ceiba Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
2 reviews
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

Stayed there for six nights and enjoyed every moment. Outstanding location, warmhearted owners, nice dogs (especially Rosie was ever so cute). The room was basic but clean and everything worked to our satisfaction. The surroundings (and the coquies) take your breath as does Dick´s Piña Colada. Best stay during our vacation in Puerto Rico. Ceiba Country Inn has to be first choice for everybody looking for an pleasant and economic stay in the Fajardo area.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    104
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
92
229
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

Two friends and I stayed at the Ceiba Country Inn in June. I was very pleased with the accomodations, and the location (the inn is close to Fajardo and a perfect place to stay if you're taking the ferry to Vieques). We stayed a room with three beds that was simple but comfortable, air-conditioned, and clean. The views from the inn are beautiful, and the property has bullfrogs and lizards scurrying around. The coqui frogs are loud at night, but we couldn't hear them from our room. I would feel very safe staying at this inn if I were traveling alone. The owner does have a number of dogs, so that may be a concern for those not fond of them.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery.
  • Disliked — It would not be good if you did not have access to a car.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

My puerto rico tour/caribbean cruise included a one night stay at Ceiba Country Inn located in the hills. Check-in was simple, their driveway is very steep. The view from our room was perfect. There is no television in the room, so we decided to go the main house and have a few beers at the small bar accommodating guests. The owners (couple) were very nice and had the opportunity to talk to them while sitting at the bar. They are very pet friendly. Board games were available too. I thought the night jungle sounds were soothing and very different from the sounds we heard the night before along the beachfront. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet. I decided to stay here because they were close to El Yunque National Forest, it worked out well. The rooms were clean, don't expect anything fancy here, however, the the inn was defintely a luxury compared to some of the hotels we stayed at in the city of San Juan! In fact, the cost was doubled in San Juan for a room at the Comfort Inn and the room was a "dump" . The rate at Ceiba was reasonable and the rate was by the room, not by "per person". There wasn't an energy surcharge either. The bottom line, is that I fully enjoyed my stay here and recommend other travelers to look into this quaint little Inn.

  • Liked — The serenity, atmosphere, breakfast included, uniqueness
  • Disliked — no television, steep driveway
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS_TINA_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have asked for anything more! It's on the southeast side of the rainforest, so the Coqui frogs will sing to you at night.

Each day starts out with a little breakfast consisting of various fruits, homemade breads (my personal favorite), cereal, and toast. After we ate breakfast, the owner, Sue, was happy to help us get around the island, whether it be planning our route for the day or the best places to eat once we got there.

You'll need a car if you're staying here since you're about an hour drive from the San Juan airport. That was no big deal for us since we took day trips to different destinations on the island every day.

All in all, it was an excellent trip, and if we go back, we'll be staying at the Ceiba Country Inn.

  • Liked — Location, the room, and the homemade bread
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J007Stix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

We stayed here only one night, but really liked it! We lucked out by getting room #2 -- I think that only rooms 1 & 2 have the ocean view. Ocean is in the distance, but it's beautiful. The room faces east, so a beautiful sunrise came through the windows, which we left open (with screens), and a ceiling fan, for a comfortable night's sleep. And it was very spacious, with dual sinks separate from the toilet/shower area.As a dog lover, I was pleased to see so many friendly, well-behaved dogs there (and a few cats). I instantly bonded with "Rosie"! Grounds are beautiful, common balcony/patio area and dining/bar area are nice. Owners were very friendly. They serve drinks at their bar until about 9, just FYI. Oh, and they serve a delicious breakfast (included)!

  • Liked — secluded location, beautiful grounds, friendly dogs
  • Disliked — hmmm...bar closes a little too early!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shananay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We stayed here on our honeymoon after spending 3 nights in San Juan at the Marriott Resort. Marriott Resort it is not, but it is fantastic for the opposite reasons.

The property is secluded up in the hills, making for a peaceful place to relax and unwind. We used it as our "base" for exploring the eastern part of the island...it was 30-45 minutes to El Yunque and Fajardo which made it nice for doing side trips. The rooms are fairly large but basic, with a simplicity that we found charming. Their patio deck gives a sweeping view of the countryside below and the coqui frogs produced an unforgettable evening sonata. The frogs' songs were quite loud, but produced a wall of sound not unlike white noise...so even my husband (who normally has trouble falling asleep with minor noises) could rest easy. The walls of the rooms are pretty thin, so if you have travelers next to you and want to be discreet you will have to watch yourselves.;)

The innkeepers have gotten various reviews from other respondents but we found them very helpful. They weren't the type to jump to their feet to "serve" you, but would always respond when asked for anything. They have information on local attractions there at the inn and were a great source of information. We sat at the bar both nights and talked with Dick (the male owner) pretty easily. It takes a little while to warm up to him but it's not difficult as long as you have mastered the basics of conversation. He even gave us a drink on the house in celebration of our honeymoon.:)

The continental breakfast was basic (fruit, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, and banana bread that Sue the owner makes) but tasty. The dogs on the property were well behaved and not noisy aise from an occasional bark when a vehicle pulled into the driveway. I was afraid they would beg but they did not at all.

Overall, for the 2 nights and $185 we were charged, it was a great deal. Allowed us to get back to nature while still having clean, comfortable rooms with A/C. Not for the high-maintenance, but for those who appreciate the simple things every once in a while.

  • Liked — Location, peaceful
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast was good but a bit sparse
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justgettingstarted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

this is a great place to stay. the inn keepers are friendly and inviting. it is tucked away in Ceiba so it feels like you are in the middle of nature with a great view. there are dogs running around but they behave well and don't bother the guests. this is a perfect spot for the budget minded person who still wants to stay at a cozy place.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank racelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceiba
5.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
7.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Property: Ceiba Country Inn
Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing