We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical paradise and singing coquis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ceiba Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ceiba Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ceiba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical paradise and singing coquis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

My family and I just returned from Puerto Rico and absolutley loved it! Our first two nights were spent at the Ceiba Country Inn on a mountain side along the edge of the El Yunque rainforest. The grounds were amazing, with lush tropical trees and plants surrounding the inn. Views of the ocean and mountains were spectacular and the entrance to the rainforest is only about 15 to 20 minutes away. We chose a room with a queen and two double beds, which was perfect for of our 2 young children. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicous. It consisted of fresh fruits, breads, cereal, toast coffee, and juice. The hosts were very friendly and accomidating and attentive to all our needs. At night the serrinade of the coqui frogs was awesome and they were visible around the grounds. Overall the Ceiba Country Inn was a great place to stay and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — The quiet, peaceful, scenic environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GratefulDead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    104
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
92
229
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

This place is charming and great for budget travelers. I definitely recommend this place.

We stayed in a triple (1 full/double, 2 singles) for only $85 per night. Our room was cute and clean. The double sinks were separate from the shower room, which helped. There was a clothesline outside which we used to dry our stuff on. There is a little path leading into the rainforest if you want to take a mini nature walk. There is a hammock you can lie in by the parked cars.

On the second floor of the main house, there is an outside area with tables where you can sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and your complimentary breakfast. The owners have a few dogs and cats that roam around the main house. The woman is really friendly and sweet, while the man is kind of gruff and brusque.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novafalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

This bed-and-breakfast like hotel was a great combination of beautiful location, good room, and excellent value. Our room, while somewhat plain, was ample enough to comfortably fit two adults and two small children. The room was clean and well air-conditioned.

In terms of location and view, the hotel is not right next to any major attraction, but is within easy driving distance of Luquillo Beach and El Yunque rain forest. The hotel sits atop a large hill and overlooks a lush, sloping terrain with banana trees. Outside our room, we spotted large toads and the tiny coqui frogs. The ocean can be seen in the far distance.

The hosts were very friendly and conversational. They have several dogs and a few cats that make themselves at home on the grounds. (They were all friendly). The breakfast was simple and tasty, and included fresh fruit and homemade breakfast cakes. The only thing that I would have changed was that the TV in the small breakfast and reception area was always tuned to Fox News, but to each their own.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CyberTalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

For people looking for quietness and solitude, Ceiba Country Inn is PERFECT. Once in the actual back road (PR 977) is not difficult to find it (entrance is well labeled). Several dogs greet you (they liked us, hence no barking). They are well behaved.
The room is well aired, nice, comfortable, and the bed is without equal. Could use a TV set, though, as the TV set is upstairs in the Lounge for all to share.
The Lounge holds a mini reference library for easy finding of places for entertainment in the nearby towns (Ceiba and Fajardo), and also books on PR history. Nice touch. Great view of the eastern shore looking towards Fajardo's hotel and fishing areas in the distance, from the dining terrace.
Hosts are very serviceable, but discreet. Wanna a drink from their bar in the Lounge? Don't ask what they got, ask for what you want. Would definitely consider returning to Ceiba Country Inn in future trips to PR.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobRodriguezSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2006

Stayed for 2 nights but wish we could've stayed longer. The Inn itself is so isolated and serene yet minutes away from anything you could need as far as dining or entertainment. Luquillo beach is about 20 minutes away and the island of culebra can be seen from the upstairs patio. The owners are warm wonderful people that made us feel more than welcome. I would definately reccomend this place to anyone traveling to the island and have already started making plans for a another stay later this year.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brevard,nc
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2006

The Ceiba Country Inn is very nice, with pleasant hosts. Lots of dogs and one cat to pet, nice, clean accomodations. Highly recommended while visting El Yunque National Forest.

Helpful?
Thank emph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2006

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon in January and really enjoyed it. After 7 nights in various other places around the island, it was great to come "home" to this inn. The owners are welcoming, helpful and provide a great continnental breakfast in the AM. They have adopted several dogs and cats, which made us feel like we were at home. This was my first experience at staying at an inn/b&b and I was really impressed. The rooms are clean, yet basic, so do not expect a 5-star resort (which if you read the other reviews, you should know this already). My only complaint was that we seemed to have one of the coqui frogs perched right outside our room at night and made it a little difficult to fall asleep, but, it goes with the georgous rainforest setting! We would definately stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahlg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceiba
5.1 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
7.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
13.4 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.8 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceiba Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceiba Country Inn

Property: Ceiba Country Inn
Address: Carretera 977, Km. 1.2, Ceiba 00735, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ceiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ceiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ceiba Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 12.5 Acres in the foothills of the Luquillo Mountains of northeastern Puerto Rico, perched on a ridge crossing a valley, the Ceiba Country Inn invites you to come experience the quiet beauty of the countryside. Dramatic views to the ocean with Culebra Island on the horizon, and inland to the rolling mountains of El Yunque await you as the tropical breezes and songs of the birds and coquis welcomes you. The quiet and relaxing environment appeals to those who wish to avoid the glitz and commercialism of the tourist resorts. The lush grounds are full of palm trees, coconut, banana, guava, passion fruit , and other tropical flora. Bird watchers will appreciate the chance to see some of our native species and hear the screech owls at night. The Inn offers 9 comfortable well furnished rooms on the ground level with various sleeping accommodations available. There are 2 separate patio areas with picnic table and seating arrangements for your enjoyment. The upper level of the Inn features the breakfast room, lounge and bar, with a large outdoor Spanish patio with lounge chairs, tables for enjoying outdoor breakfast or meals you may prepare on the provided gas grill. The Inn would also be the perfect location to host small groups, family reunions, and weddings. In-house catering can also be arranged.All rooms have private entrance and feature air conditioning, ceiling fans, mini fridge, telephone, and private bath with shower. All rooms are non-smoking. Smoking permitted outside on the grounds only. Housekeeping available every day during your stay until 12 noon.• A full continental breakfast is included in your stay and served each morning 7am-9am in the breakfast area on the upper level. We feature home made baked goods like banana bread and cinnamon nut coffee cake, Puerto Rican Coffee, and fresh sliced fruit (some from our property when in season) • The Bar is open til 9pm with a selection of soft drinks, bottled water, and juices. • Ice • Free Wi-Fi available in the lounge and on the Spanish patio • TV available at the bar • Hair dryers, Iron & Ironing board available on request • Library filled with both fiction and non fiction titles • Board games, cards and puzzles • Beach towels, beach chairs, coolers for trips to the beach • Information on local activities and points of interest • Gas grill provided on the patio • Microwave and electric tea kettles (yes, you may bring them to your room) available in the lounge! The Hosts will be happy to assist you in any questions regarding activities, shopping, directions and dining in the area, and can arrange reservations or transportation. Please let us know of any dietary restrictions or special diets and we will do our best to accommodate you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ceiba Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceiba Country Hotel Ceiba
Country Inn Ceiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing