We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convenient to El Yunque.”
Review of Sue's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luquillo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sue's Place
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient to El Yunque.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a great stay at Sue's in the loft. There is a fridge, microwave, cooktop and coffee maker in the room so we had breakfast on the patio with views of the rain forest, mountains and ocean - so just amazing. No AC but we were quite comfortable with open windows and fans. The coquis are noisy at night so you might want earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The location is off the main roads but Sue met us in town and provided maps and lead the way so not a problem. A really relaxing home base for our visit to El Yunque and I was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family and i loved to stay at sues place!!! there you have the waterfall and also the beach so near by. If you just fell like getting away and relaxing this is the right place for everyone! My all family enjoyed!!! I will recommend sues place! also the surf lesson at BOBs surf adventure was really fun for my little girl!

Room Tip: the loft or the house, great choices for big or small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Sue welcomed us at the foot of the mountain in Luquillo at 9:30 p.m. She went out of her way to make sure we found her place without problems and took the time to show us all around the house and help us settle in, despite the late hour of our arrival.

The house was elegantly decorated, complete with fresh flowers from the natural garden just outside. We stayed 4 nights. We fully enjoyed the sight, the sound, the scent, and the taste of the rainforest - every day Sue left us a fresh avocado on our windowsill and welcomed us to pick as many as we want from the tree right over our balcony. There was also fragrant local honey in the kitchen for us to enjoy, with the unique smell and taste of tropical flowers. Despite the closure of El Yunque rainforest due to the government shutdown, we had a great time hiking a rainforest trail and having a refreshing swim beneath a waterfall. We wouldn't have found this trail if Sue didn't show it to use on the map she so conveniently provides to her guests.

Thank you, Sue, for sharing this beautiful place with us - we can't wait to come back!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oleg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wow what a great secret Sues place is! My husband and I wanted to snorkel,surf and play on our trip to PR. We were delighted to have found Sues place this summer. It is charming,rustic and extremely peaceful. Sue is delightful and very knowledgable about the area. She made reccomendations as to where to go daily so we could make the most of our stay. I loved the river and my husband had a blast paddle boarding at Blue beach. Sue made some great suggestions on where to eat and when we came home at night we just loved listening to coqui sounds as we sat out on the porch and relaxed after full days of fun. We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked Sues place for next years trip. If you are looking to enjoy the beauty of Puerto Rico and want the quaintness of b&b then you will love Sues place too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sue's Place June 23rd-27th 2013. Initial phone conversations suggested that Sue was a caring host. Upon arriving we were pleased to discover an accommodation that was conveniently located near El Yunque.

Unfortunately, it soon became apparent that our first impressions were mistaken - the Loft was not well maintained. The website claim of a fully functioning kitchen was untrue (utensils were missing, cups were leaky, plates were chipped, the stove's pilot light was not lit; there were no pans for the oven, the microwave and coffee maker were filthy from previous guests, there was no hot water pipe in the kitchen), most of the furnishings were poor (uncomfortable, mouldy-smelling, damp bedding, blown stereo on TV) , and the holes in the window screens let in the wildlife (ant infestation in the kitchen, dead cockroaches in the cupboard and visits from a gecko and a frog during our stay). In addition, there was only warm water in the shower and no stopper in the bathroom sink (making shaving difficult).

After our first night of the above, we talked to Sue about our concerns. She took them well, though she lacked focus (forgetting multiple times why we had come to talk to her). She also blamed the problems we identified on previous guests (not seeming to appreciate that it was her job to get the apartment ready before new guests arrive).

We eventually did get two spoons for our cereal but that was the only result. But, there was still so much wrong with the place that we had to approach Sue again. This time, we made a list to help her focus on what was needed to make the place liveable. Our list seemed to be taken in good faith (though there was still lots of blaming others for the problem- her cleaner, her husband, previous guests, the weather). She also agreed to give us back $100 for the trouble (which we never actually got). This conversation did result in a quick clean of the apartment (using a wetvac), the option to sleep in an adjoining room (which was no better in terms of the wed bedding and wildlife entering the room) and a lighter for the stove.

On our fourth evening, upon returning to the kitchen to wash our dishes we turned on the lights and discovered a tree bark scorpion on the countertop. Needless to say, having a scorpion in the loft was both hazardous and unacceptable.

We went to talk to Sue for a third time. Sue said that "the rain forest is not for everyone" and that "not everyone can handle the insects - which aren't poisonous." We told her that a scorpion is not an insect, and that it is dangerous, especially to children and the elderly. We made the decision to leave immediately as Sue could not guarantee our safety. We asked for our money back - she gave us only $200 (the amount for the two nights we would not be staying). It was not a full refund and she did not give us the $100 she had previously agreed to. When we questioned this, Sue got angry, and spoke to us more rudely than we'ed ever been spoken too before. She attacked our integrity by saying that we were "you people are just looking for problems." We told her that she was not treating us respectfully, but it was clear that we were not going to get anywhere with her. She did not offer to help us to find a new accommodation and we had to drive until 2:30am to find something.

We contacted Sue after this, by email, asking for an apology and the $100 she owed us. She replied that she owed us nothing and never apologized for her property or her conduct.

Be warned, Sue's Place looks nice on paper, but her establishment is the most poorly maintained property we have ever stayed at. While some of the wildlife there is dangerous, the real sting comes from Sue herself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mackie169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suesplaceluquillo, Owner at Sue's Place, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your concern.

Lodging in the rainforest is different from staying in a luxury hotel.
I will continue to provide a clean and safe environment for my guests. It is an informal place, but we do offer Wifi, satellite TV, and plenty of hot water.
Let me thank all my other guests who have come, year after year, and enjoyed their stay.
I will continue to do my best to make your stay a pleasant experience.
If you want to have a wonderful time, you will. Most of my guests are very happy here.
Thank you, Sue's Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paterson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

As part of our honey moon, my wife and I started our visit to Puerto Rico at Sue's Place (May 20 through the 24)and it could not have been better. First off, not only was Sue a joy of a person but she was also full of knowledge and will point you to the better eateries and other attractions around Luquillo. The accomodations (we chose the one bedroom loft) were adequate for our needs and fully met our expectations. I must point out, also supporting the insight of other reviewers that the location is not for everyone as it is very isolated and one needs to drive up the mountain, which can be perceived as dangerous; the street is narrow and not well lit. However, for those of us who appreciate solitude and an alternative to the hassles of traditional hotels, Sue's Place provides a charming environment (away from everything) where one can relax but not so far as to loose touch with civilization. I will certainly give Sue a second visit on my return to La Isla del Encanto.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efland, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wow, we were so enamoured with Sue's Place! It is rustic, homey, clean, and comfortable. There's a hammock on the porch (we stayed in the loft) and fresh flowers from Sue's lush hillside landscape. Sue is so warm and easy to work with, she made sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable during our stay. She clearly cares alot about her guests! The Loft was perfect for us; my husband and I stayed there and we reserved the extra room (completely detached!) for our two sons. They loved the privacy and so did we! Sue's Place is so close to the river that we went swimming/rock hopping everyday (a true highlight of our trip), then we could come back, hang our towels on the clothes line and cook dinner on the fabulous gas stove! And fall asleep to the Coquis! We also had very successful surfing lessons with Bob, he is patient and thorough; we had a great time learning to surf! Fabulous stay all around, we will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.1 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
991 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Yunque Mar
Hotel Yunque Mar
#2 of 3 in Luquillo
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.6 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sue's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sue's Place

Property: Sue's Place
Address: El Yunque, Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Luquillo
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sue`s Place Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing