We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and our server Israel was great !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brass Cactus

The Brass Cactus
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and our server Israel was great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great food, very clean, great service the steak wrap is incredible , ambience fantastic its not a pr style restaurant its very american style we went 3nights in one week

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VALENTINEBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    159
    57
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
puerto rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“get there before 7pm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you want a choice between tasty local food and Gringo (American) stateside food try this place. It tends to get busy after 7 pm and food & service takes longer naturally. The drinks are little pricey but happy hour makes up for it if you want a bargin. GO EARLY. Someone told me drinks are sometimes a la cart. PRICES vary if you want extra side ice! Most staff try their best but some servers can be stinkers, that according to locals. I have been fortunate; people are always nice. Great french onion soup. Dinner portions are small but good tasting. It is a crowd of Hispanic and Americans and leans towards the over 30 age demographic. YES I WOULD RETURN, but week-nights are less crowded for me more enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gringoguypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great dinner and great service! We even got travel tips! Easy walk from Playa Azul. Would go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“American Food in Puerto Rico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We eat there a couple of times a week, especially late nights. Good American bar & grill food: burgers, salads, wraps, french fries, onion rings, baked potatoes, and their WINGS are absolutely some of the BEST wings I've had in a loooonnnnggg time!!! GREAT service that is friendly, and the owner (JB) is an awesome guy as well!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodstockWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“There are always two sides to a story”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I spoke to the owner of the Brass Cactus and first I want to say that the problem is in the programing of the computor. For example when a straight up drink is ordered or extra toppings on a baked potato or anything out of the ordinary the program can't itemize it. But it comes out in the total. The total is the value of what you get even though it doesn't come out when its itemized on the check. So what might look like an extra dollar or even fifty cents isn't, they just can't get the computor program to do it for them. When questioned they explain it to the customer. Just not that many people question it. He is not happy with this and will try again to rethink it. He also said when I brought it to his attention years ago he spent three weeks trying to fix it, but couldn't. He had people come in and they told him there would have to be three hundred more slots on the register but no room. If I gave the impression that it was dishonesty I am convinced in my heart that it wasn't. I apologize for that.
I feel that there has to be a better way and he said he would like one even to the point of inviting me to come and show him. JB is a good guy and believes he is giving his customers the best value possible and I do too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brass Cactus also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Brass Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing