We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars!”
Review of Ay Bonito! Grill - CLOSED

Ay Bonito! Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican, International, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kiosko #21, Luquillo, Puerto Rico.Open for Dinner: Wed - Sun: 5 pm to 10 pm
San juan
1 review
“Five stars!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Good food , five stars, #1 kiosk and the best chef! Good service very clean love the atmosphere!
We visited this restaurant with a couple of friends locals and we have a we enjoy it a lot!


Helpful?
Thank Maurodeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    45
    13
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC, USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!,”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We loved this place enough to eat here two nights in a row. The mahi mahi and salmon was delicious. The servers were great and the chef and owner are warm and welcoming. The singer on Wednesday night was amazing. We bought her CD ( go Cheryl). Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCnative94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly place with fresh food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I loved Ay Bonito for many reasons. Let me count the ways...

1) mojios - they mix a good drink. I like my mojitos not too sweet, and the balance of flavors was good. They don't have a drink menu, but tell them your heart's desire and they'll make it.
2) nice space - this is one clean kiosk with clean bathrooms and a spotless dining space that is not too crowded.
3) fresh food - We just ordered the Ay Bonito salads with chicken (after a lot of heavy food, I just wanted a salad), and the chicken was nicely grilled and the greens were crisp and fresh. The vinaigrette, nuts, and feta were a nice combo. There's halibut (at $20 or $23 its the mist expensive menu item) and other fish options on the menu. The prices are reasonable, a d lower than some other popular places here.
4) friendly, attentive service - the service was polite, friendly, and the owner came and talked to us since it was still a little quiet.
5) cats! - if you like cats, like I do, there are two resident strays that call Ay Bonito home. The owner has spayed them both, keeps them current in their shots, and feeds them before the dinner rush. She's very invested in these sweet creatures, and their presence is nice.

The kiosks have lots of options for dining, but don't miss out on this one.

Helpful?
Thank AnnArborVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“good but not great”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

after reading the reviews for this place I expected more. Located in the touristy kiosks in Luquillo we stopped here our first night. We had the skirt steak which was very good and the yellow snapper. I didn't think that when I ordered the fish I would get the WHOLE fish. This is probably my lack of knowledge about asking when ordering , if you don't want the whole fish, head, bones and all make sure you ask if it's a filet portion. The fish was good but it kind of just turned me off. Portions were average size and prices were kind of high (4 people around $125). The flan was amazing!
In the end, food tasted great, pricy for the portions, desert amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food, too.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The chef is super nice and very well versed on the restrictions of a gluten-free diet. He came out of the kitchen to personally handle our order and was willing to prepare a dish not on the menu that night that he thought we would like.
Food was very good and portions are large.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach_addict100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ay Bonito! Grill also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing