We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"FRESH FOOD & TASTY DRINKS"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riqueno Fonda Puertoriquena - CLOSED

Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"FRESH FOOD & TASTY DRINKS"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was on vacation went to Luquillo Beach. On the way out stopped at "El Riqueño" Fonda Puertorriqueña because by the looks it gave us a retro feeling of what Puerto Rico would look like in the 50's. The waitress was dresses like an old fashioned Puerto Rican. Our orders where taken and while we waited we could hear recorded authentic Puerto Rican music being played in the background but not too loud though. Had sangria, piña colada and other drinks, all were served nicely garnished with tropical fruits. From the menu we had "chuletas fritas con arroz y habichuelas", "mofongo relleno con pollo", "pescao frito con tostones" and more. All was serve on a timely manner with an elegant presentation, hot, fresh and most important, "flavor". Based on my own experience, I'll tell you I had a great time with my family. This encourage me to say that this place it is recommended. I've uploaded some pictures of dinner plates and hope if you go there have a great time too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS AUTHENTIC PUERTO-RICAN FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were thrilled to discover this tiny kiosque-restaurant at Luquillo Beach with authentic Puerto Rican dishes: mofongo, stewed crab, rice and beans, soups, salads, authentic Puerto Rican creole flavors, ice-cold Puerto Rican beer, excellent presentation, very sweet and friendly owner, cook and waitress, all in the 'fonda' style - an old restaurant for the laborers back in the day for them to have home-cooked, traditional dishes before there was ever a thought of 'fast food'. The restaurant has a unique décor and story that will be shared with you just for the asking and you will probably be offered a free coffee or beer after you pay your bill, just to sit, chat, relax...delicious authentic food...FIVE STARS

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erendira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish I have had in some time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I ordered the suggested $9 special. Waiter came back with the $22 whole fish. It was delicious. Came back the next night for the $9 fish bites special. It was delicious too. Mamposteao rice? Same. Owner was very attentive. Next day? It was closed. Will be going again soon.

Helpful?
Thank frm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo
2 reviews
“Great Puertorrican Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We're glad to have found such good restaurant near Luiquillo beach. Great food, amicable personnel and very classy puertorrican ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank eesanmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reconsider Your Visit...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was in Luquillo during the Christmas holidays and it was a week night when I went to the Kioskos. A large majority of the Kioskos were closed and the more popular restaurants (i.e El Terruño, )were jam-packed. We saw El Riqueño did not look as dauntingly packed (at first glance) as the other kioskos so we decided to give it a try. El Riqueno is possibly one of the smallest of the kioskos. There are about 5-6 tables at most and they are very close together. If you don't like being so jammed up against people, rethink visiting El Riqueno. The restaurant seemed empty but once we walked in there was a large party of about 8-9 people. The owner spent most of his time attending to them. We were given menus and our drink orders were taken but then we were not spoken to or acknowledge again for about 12-15 minutes. To make matters worse the only other person working with the owner to wait tables was a teenage boy who was splitting his attention between the tables and 12 other tasks. It took us about 35 minutes to get our meal. Service sped up once the party left. On the upside, the food was very fresh and delicious. The time to obtain it however was unacceptable. The decor is charming, unique and different. The drinks are served in whimsical silver 'pails' that I found pretty cool. El Riqueño is a restaurant that is definitely not cut out for large parties of people and other business simultaneously. The owner saw our frustration and gave us a complimentary desert after our meal. However none of that made our visit really worth contemplating visiting them again. There are other great places to eat in Luquillo and the adjacent town Fajardo to consider.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FAVORANDGRACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riqueno Fonda Puertoriquena also viewed

Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing