We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Yunque Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Yunque Mar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Luquillo
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2008

My husband and I stayed 5 days and we had the best time ever it felt like a family Hotel we enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and then after hours live music in the day time it was beautiful right on the beach and then in the evenings the beach would rise and it look like paradise we are planning another trip and this is were we would be staying because it is family oriented and the attention was very attentive.

  • Liked — In front of the beach and the service
  • Disliked — Small rooms but they were okay
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mery123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    76
    29
    22
    16
See reviews for
51
94
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

We were robbed of $100 from our locked room (an employee apparently) and the best the owner Edgar could offer us was to call the police. Further, this hotel is not actually in Luquillo (you have to get on a busy highway to get to the town center or the beach) and in the winter, at least, there is no beach in front of the hotel, just crashing surf and a small pool. Too bad, because we had high hopes for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank MaliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Yunque Mar in Luquillo after reading several positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Overall, I must be honest and say I am little dissappointed in the overall experience. We must have arrived there shortly after a storm bc it seemed that they were understaffed and in need of repairs. Both bedrooms' AC did not work and we had ask the front desk to come and fix them. The pool and hot tube was empty. The hotel was mostly vacant and the bar never opened. The tv did not have cable or satelite, not that we wanted to watch much tv, but it was another thing that we had paid for that wasn't available. We had rented a suite with a kitchenette, but there wasn't any silverware nor plates that could work with the microwave.
The hotel had an amazing location and was fairly clean although my fiance complained that the beds had a lot of sand/dirt in them. I am in the hospitality business myself, so I always try to support smaller, family run guesthouses as opposed to bigger chain hotels. Although I know PR is really expensive as a whole, it did not seem like the best value. The front desk was appologetic about the problems, but only gave a 10% discount after we complained. It would have been different if we had been forwarned about the issues and given more of discount. I am sure the place is nicer than what we experienced and I hope this review helps them remmody some of these issues so other guests can have a better stay then we did. Almost $200/night doesn't seem like a great value for what we got.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of promised ammenities
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROOKLYN
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

We loved the Yunquemar as an authentic experience of the best of Puerto Rico. It is a small, family-owned hotel in a small town right outside of the larger town of Luquiilo, and is RIGHT on the beach with a restaurant/bar on site.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, but very simple.
It is right on the ocean (so close the water laps the steps at high tide). The beach is calm and perfect (unlike that by some of the larger hotels). One morning, we were the only people on the beach; it felt like our own private paradise.
The owner is very connected to local musicians and artists and the hotel is a gallery for local artists and a venue for musicians.
The restaurant serves 3 meals and is a bar at night; it is right on the beach; a beautiful and fresh location right on the ocean.
If you are looking for a simple, restful vacation that will give you a feeling for the island hospitality and culture, Yunquemar is perfect. We were recommended by friends to stay here and pass along the favor.
It is not for anyone looking for a luxury resort.

  • Liked — The location (right on the beach) and the price (uner $100); the contact with genuine Puerto Rican culture
  • Disliked — It is very simple, not luxurious.
  • Stayed August 2004, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank city-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

I've just returned from a few days stay at YunqueMar in Luquillo, Puerto Rico. This place is a MUST!!!!! The food is fabulous, The ocean view is breathtaking.... Staff is very friendly and personable. Reasonably priced. They also make great mojito taino's. I will definitely go back.

  • Liked — Room was clean and comfortable - had oceanview
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLM913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themotherhen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2007

Beautiful beach (I MEAN BEAUTIFUL). Seeing the sun peak in, was wonderful... Rooms were slightly out dated but very clean and cold A/C. Good supporting friendly staff. Food was reasonably price and you eat while admiring the beach. I would defiantly return.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Slightly off the road.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank themotherhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

If you are looking for a small simple and clean hotel Yunque Mar is a great option. It's not luxury but it 's a great deal for the price.

We were in Puerto Rico in April planning our wedding and we did not want to spend a lot of money on a room. There wasn't many post on Tripadvisor about the hotel so we went there and were lucky enough to get a room. The rooms were clean and right on the beach. The pool was beautiful. The prices were excellent for Puerto Rico. It's hard to find "good" deals in PR.

It's a small hotel so it was relaxing. The neighbor hood around it is okay and they are trying to fix up the beach front area near the hotel. Parking is across the street and it gets tight whent he hotel is full. The hotel itself is very wasy to find and is a few blocks in
from Rt 3. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport which is due mostly to traffic.

The best part was the owners. They are both very hardworkers and very friendly. Both are very invloved in every aspect of the business.

We loved the restaraunt La Yola. You can't find a better deal where you can eat right on the beach in Puerto Rico We were so happy with them that we brought our entire family there for dinner when we got married in July. The chicken and fish are good and so are the appetizers and the Pina Coladas.

Please feel free to contact us about the hotel.

  • Liked — The owners. Eating on the beach. The price
  • Disliked — The surrounding neighborhood and parking lot
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allmotorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
1.9 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
5.3 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.8 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yunque Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yunque Mar

Property: Hotel Yunque Mar
Address: 6 Calle 1 | Fortuna Playa, Luquillo 00773, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Yunque Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Yunque Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yunque Mar Hotel
Yunque Mar Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing