We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn - but not perfect for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Inn - but not perfect for everyone”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Luquillo Sunrise Inn is a great choice if you’re looking for excellent value and want to be near El Yunque and the eastern parts of the island for kayaking, horseback riding, zip-lining, etc. The beaches around Luquillo are also excellent. However, if you want luxury, pampering and posh surroundings then stick to the high-end resorts. Although the rooms here are very clean and comfortable, this is not a luxury five-star hotel. But if you want a casual laid-back small hotel that is truly footsteps away from the beach, then you’ll likely be very pleased here. The staff is exceptional and very friendly.

Pros:

The beaches!!! – Luquillo has a variety of beaches. From calm waters good for children to waves great for boarding, Luquillo has miles of beaches in both directions that will please most people. I found the beaches to be clean – but not pristine. Also, on the first day I could walk past a small stream entering the beach just west of the hotel and continue beach walking for miles, but the morning after heavy rain the stream was about knee deep and muddy so I chose not to continue in that direction.

The room was clean and functional. The balcony was great with two chairs and direct views of the beach. We had a mini-fridge and microwave in the deluxe room.

Free and secure parking - they have one spot for each room in a small lot directly in front of the Inn. They give you a remote to open the gate.

Staff is great - friendly and helpful

They provide beach towels and chairs you can carry (or drive) over to the beaches.

Breakfast included in rate. Good continental fare plus a daily "hot" fresh cooked item changing daily (we had egg sandwiches, omellete, and French Toast)

Perhaps the best PRO is the view out the room - directly to the beach just feet away!!! The sound of the crashing waves from the front and the coqui frogs in back is very relaxing at night.

Cons:

The surrounding neighborhood might be a big turn-off for some people. There are several vacant and run-down homes adjacent to the Inn. Also, at night we found walking around the plaza area to be a bit concerning. We didn’t experience any problems, but it is advisable to not go out alone at night.

The matress was not very good and could be a problem for some people

There are some restaurants within walking distance, but not an abundance. We ate dinner at the El Rincon del Sabor, Boardriders, and Ernestina’s. All are walkable, but returning back at night through the deserted streets around the plaza might be worrisome depending on your sense of security. The kioskos offer other excellent food options and are a short drive away (but not within reasonable walking distance for most).

Road noise might bother light sleepers

No elevators - so think twice if hauling luggage up stairs is a problem for you

In summary, the Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn is a great value and will be a good choice for many if you go with the proper expectations and understanding of the pros and cons.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more for the better rooms on the second and third levels with a balcany.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellinDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    204
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
165
423
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had an amazing time at this hotel. I only wish we had stayed there the whole time on our trip to Puerto Rico - it was way better than the other hotel we stayed at. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. They have maps, tips, beach towels - anything you need. The beach out in front of the island is nice, especially if you walk right to see the sea turtle tracks. The water is perfect for wave-riding. Not good for snorkeling while we were there, but the weather was rainy and windy. The breakfast here was fantastic! A variety of hot and cold foods available. We ate at Pasta y Pueblo for dinner which looked like a tiny empty hut when we approached but had amazing food. Our trip would have been so relaxing if we stayed here the whole time, and we might have avoided the bad advice we got at our other hotel. Thank you everyone at Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn for being so wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancinfool22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love this hotel! Not only is it right on the best stretch of beach, but the extremely friendly staff will help book daily excursions with their discount, make you delicious breakfasts (breakfast quesadillas, pancakes, etc.), and give you tips on how to get rid of your embarrassing sunburn (vinegar wrap), but they also provide beach towels and chairs every day. It was truly a pleasure staying here and I'll definitely return next time I'm in Luquillo.

Room Tip: They all face the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaigeP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Longtime reader, first time reviewer. This place was so amazing I had to finally break down and provide my two cents. What an unbelievable experience this place is. We just returned from a wonderful getaway here yesterday with our two kids (ages 13 and 11). Alex and the rest of the staff were amazing, especially with food recommendations, tips for the rainforest, and setting up an incredible tour of the bioluminescent bay, which we were lucky enough to catch on an incredible night. The breakfast was awesome, and the view of the beach across the street even better. (They even texted guests when a leatherback turtle came ashore in the middle of the day -- still bummed we missed it.) I seriously cannot recommend this place enough. Loved every minute of our stay. A fantastic alternative to the typical insulated resort experience. And so many great lunch and dinner options right within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dalton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

All-inclusive need not apply. But if you are looking for simple accommodations within the mix of a community, LSB Inn is for you. The beach to the east was lively and filled with locals and local San Juan vacationers as well as some tourists. The long stretch of beach to the west (about a 10-15 minute walk depending on how far down you walk) was deserted and wonderful with no houses, apartments, commercial businesses, etc. The beach directly across was rough with alot of surfers and fun to watch them. All the beaches were great for playing in the waves-- too windy when we were there for calm waters and snorkling. Just watch your young kids playing in the waves as there is a strong current. My 9 year old daughter had a great time but we were there right with her in the water and we didn't venture out too far.
Accommodations were simple, motel like. Uncomfortable beds and pillows (and I backpack/camp frequently) but clean. Used the A/C and it was extremely windy outside so we heard no noise from the streets or inside other rooms. Staff were accommodating and ultra-friendly. Set us up on a kayaking tour through the bio bay when every other place that I called was booked! Breakfasts were simple but some the best we had on the island, with fresh fruit, cereal, toast/bagels and 1 hot option.
Best restaurant within walking distance was Boardriders Surf. Went there 3 times we liked it so much. I expected more from the Kiosks so we only went there the 1 time but did have a good meal at probably one of the more expensive places. All in all, a good scene. But not a lot to walk to nearby other than a couple restaurants and the beach so it was nice to have a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very nice place to stay. Luquillo is a quiet little town. We stayed during the week and I understand it gets busier on the weekend. The staff took great care of us and their restaurant recommendations were wonderful. There is a great beach just a short walk away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Well where do I begin, This place was great. The staff very friendly. We stayed 8 days and the first 3-4 days I was sick with flu and then my son was sick with flu as well. The hotel manager offered to take us to the local walgreens so that we could get Gatorade, apple sauce, crackers, bananas, pediolyte and some snacks for room (this is after we asked if they could get us a cab). The beach is beautiful, Board-riders , Guavas and Williams pizza were good places to eat. We didn't rent a car. The breakfast at hotel was good , not very many hotels offer free breakfast so that was a big plus. For taxi I recommend Shawn, they have his number at front desk. Ellis for tours around the island. Will go back

Room Tip: you want a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D'Juanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
24.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
989 reviews
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
6.0 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Property: Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing