We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value, but ask one question on booking 3rd floor rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Luquillo
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, but ask one question on booking 3rd floor rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is beach front (small street between), clean, spacious, quite well appointed and has INCREDIBLE beds and linens. Staff are nice and helpful (Mario arranged discounted diving -20% off- with Sea Ventures and called me back to confirm before I left for PR). The free breakfast is fine. Off street parking included, they provide a gate opener which was a nice touch. Handy post-beach / diving showers at ground level. However, if you wish to be on the top floor (3 rd floor) ask if they fixed the vibrating water pump on the roof. They got a new pump above room 34 in August 2014, and it vibrates like a lawn mover through to he ceiling and walls of at least two rooms, ALL the time. Room 24 and 34 have slightly larger balconies. Otherwise this place is a solid deal, actually a very nice value. Don't let the slightly run down aspect of the town deter you, people seemed friendly and it seemed very safe even at night (police station is 2 blocks back from beach).

Room Tip: - find out if vibrating water pump on roof above room 34 is fixed, otherwise avoid 3rd floor - get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    203
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
162
421
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I want to start off saying that the 3 stars has nothing to do with the service or quality of rooms. However, when I pulled up I was expecting a cute, maybe quaint beach town. This is not at all what it is like- I would describe it as sketchy and rundown at best. This may be because I am staying with my sister and we are both in our twenties, but we had a local tour guide tell us he was worried about us staying there because of the area. My sister and I walked to a restaurant a block away and honesty did not feel safe the entire time until inside the restaurant.

There is not much to do besides the beach, and expect people to come up and ask you for money while sitting on the beach. The only thing I want to add is the price is quite expensive for the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilyclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Amazing and a Hidden Gem! Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn is absolutely delightful! From the moment we arrived- everyone was so gracious and helpful- the place is lovely and immaculate; every detail is attended to; you awaken to have a delicious breakfast each day on a fabulous veranda; the balconies overlook the beach; just a perfect, perfect vacation in every way. Thank you, Sunrise Beach!!!!

Room Tip: We were very happy on the third floor with our balcony overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 250MaraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This is a hidden gem!!! My husband and I just came back from a trip to Luiquillo and we are so happy that we chose to stay at this hotel. Every single employee went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and the view was incredible. We even took a walk down the beach from our hotel and found sea turtle nests! The room gave us all the extra things we needed including towels, beach chairs, and even free batteries when my husband's razor went dead. They make a fresh cooked free breakfast on the terrace every morning that is so tasty! I felt very safe in my room and we were within easy driving distance to the rain forest, great food, and beaches! I can't believe how wonderful this place is for the price!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tishia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June and completely agree with all the rave reviews. It is a very clean and nice place, the location cannot be beat and the staff is unbelievably helpful and nice. I called before our stay for advice on things to do and they helped me to book two fantastic tours. They also recommended restaurants nearby that we really enjoyed. The breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beach changes each day and the staff who prepare it make you happy you got up for it! Also, the front desk staff was extremely helpful with giving directions and helping us when some of our plans fell through. They obviously care about the people who stay with them and it really comes through!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachlover69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a hidden gem! The staff is great and so nice and eager to help. We were able to book the bio bay and surfing lessons through the office and they gave us great info for our other day trips, like El Yunque. The breakfasts are homemade and delicious (and nutritious!). The rooms are clean and bright with breathtaking views. Although there is a 'road' between the hotel and ocean, it's really more of a boardwalk with very little traffic. Don't let the 'road' discourage you from coming. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn is a great deal. I cannot recommend it more highly. We had a beautiful place right on the beach, with marvelous views of the ocean and palm trees. The beach is never very busy, and if you walk for a few minutes, you feel like you've got your own private island, with coconuts, egrets, and golden sand. It is very easy to get around to all the good stuff from Luquillo - the rainforest, the best places to snorkle, Old San Juan. The hot breakfast is also delicious and is different every day. The facilities were clean and the room decor was very nice.

But the BEST part about this place is the people! Maria really made our trip. She was so helpful every day, going above and beyond her duty in running the hotel, to help us coordinate our adventures and make sure we made the most of our time, got everywhere safely, and got the best deals on the best experiences. She was able to recommend things that I hadn't been able to find online, which were much better than the big tourist activities I could have signed up for. For example, she hooked us up with a private kayacking tour of the bio bay, which was literally the most amazing experience of my entire life. I have nothing to compare it to...

Thank you, Maria. My best friend and I had the most amazing stay at your place. We would love to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula-Rosine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luquillo
24.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
7.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
6.0 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn

Property: Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
Address: A3 Ocean Blvd, Luquillo 00773-2264, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Luquillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Luquillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn offers an exceptional value for budget minded travelers. This Bed & Breakfast is located on a stretch of Puerto Rico's famous Luquillo Beach where surfers can often be seen riding the waves. Luquillo Sunrise Beach inn is also only 45 minutes from San Juan International Airport, and just minutes away from Fajardo, where guests can find a multitude of water sports available. All of our rooms feature balconies facing the ocean where our guests can enjoy the fresh tradewind breeze and sound of the surf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Hotel Luquillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing