We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff”
Review of Pousada do Toby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada do Toby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Canoa Quebrada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. The pousada is in an excellent location. Close to the beach and the main drag. The view from the two upper-most decks is terrific and a perfect place to sip caipirinhas and watch para gliders soar overhead.

The best thing about this place is the staff. Every single staff member was so friendly and helpful. From the receptionist to the chef. By far the awesomest we've encountered in our 2-months of travelling. Likely the best staff in Brazil.

Bar has cheap drinks and very reasonably priced food. Also, breakfast is from 7am - 2pm, what else could you ask for!

Canoa is fab. Go kite surfing. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the suites but we looked at them and they are INCREDIBLE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CominToYourHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Pousada do Toby offer the best thinkable location in Canoa Quebrada. In a quiet small corner near the beach with a spectacular view of the ocean and close to the villa with restaurants and bars. The staff at the hotel deliver 5 star service and are always friendly, happy and eager to assist you. The rooms are clean and well functioning. Me and my family had a fantastic stay at this hotel and for sure we will soon be back again to enjoy Hotel Pousada do Toby and the amazing beaches of Canoa Quebrada.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fortalezakaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I decided to stay in POUSADA DO TOBY in Canoa Quebrada after reading the Brazil LP guide, it seemed a good place, but now I think it was my worst hotel decision in many years. I wanted to stay 3 days, but I left after the first horrible night

The "cheap" rooms for 100-110 Rs are umpleasant (excepting maybe n 9): dark, no espace at all for clothes, a lot of noise enter from outside, holes-fisures in windows frames let mosquitos enter. Also safety box and tv control don!t work.

But the main problem is that POUSADA DO TOBY is the noisiest hotel I remeber in many, many years.
1- All the rooms are around a central wood upstairs communicating the 3 floors, this is causing frequent noise when people are walking up and down.
2- also, during the day there are a lot of noisy local people walking around, between the rooms area: crying, making noise,..It seems some of them livein the rooms area, I don!t know what they do, but while you can´t heard any customer, you are always hearing noisy locals. (I found similar situations in somo local hotels in Thailand, Indonesia, etc, where local noisy people are walking and noising around the customers area)
3- The worst is the noisy coming drom the restaurant located in last floor, as everything is an open area. It was really very very noisy: music, people shouting, kitchen noise, chairs. Impossible to sleep until late after midnight

I know most of hotel customers are expecting the hotel will be a quiet place, if somebody is looking for a noisy restaurant, it can be found outside; if somebody is looking for a noisy disco, it can be found outside; POUSADA DO TOBY is offering 3 in 1.

Room Tip: room number 9 could the only acceptable one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fatuverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Relaxation, good food, friendely staff and the best manager - Toby. Toby can arrange whatever trip you are interested in, and prepare excellent food! In Canoa, and staying at Pousada do Toby, you are a bit like a "backpacker" in excellent surroundings. Take the view from the dining/bar and the pool area. I love it! And it is my second stay. We stayed here at Christmas time in 2007 as well, and we are planning to return in december this year.
The best place in Conoa!

Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rytterdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stayed at the pousada do Toby with friends in July for 2 nights. We loved it for it's charm, quirkiness and found it to be good value for money especially when you convert to euros. This was my third trip to Brazil and only my frst time in Canoa-what a lovely spot. The pousada was spotlessly clean, the rooms were spacious and staff very helpful and friendly especially Sandra the lady who looks after the very convenient late breakfast. The views from the decked areas were breathtaking and the location was fantastic for the beach (though the climb back up after a day in the sun could have been heart-attack inducing!!) and the variety of restaurants/bars that Canoa has to offer. I wished I could have stayed longer but had to return to Fortaleza for flights home. The regular bus service to Canoa from Fortleza was very convenient. Overall a lovely stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Pousada do Toby could have been (and maybe was in the past) a great place but instead seems to just merely survive. It can still be excellent value if you book one of the very cheap rooms. However if you book one of the more expensive ones you get very little value for money. Little has been done over the years to maintain and improve the property. The staff seems to lack motivation. Truly a pity as the location and the open terraces with great views could make this one of the top pousadas in Canoa. Hopefully the owners will re-evaluate their property and either sell it to someone willing to give it a make-over or invest in a needed upgrade.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Pousada do Toby is a perfecrt place to stay when you visit the paradise Canoa Quebrada. The staff is very nice and Toby will give you tips and help you if you need anything. Great food and service. Nothing bad to write about the place. A perfect place in paradise:-)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Buster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canoa Quebrada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Long Beach
Hotel Long Beach
#1 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel IL Nuraghe
Hotel IL Nuraghe
#2 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Tranquilandia Village
Pousada Tranquilandia Village
#3 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pousada Aruana
Pousada Aruana
#6 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falesia Praia Hotel
Falesia Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropicalia
Hotel Tropicalia
#7 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Toby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Toby

Address: Rua Nascer do Sol, Canoa Quebrada, State of Ceara 62800-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Canoa Quebrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Canoa Quebrada
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Toby 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers 22 rooms and 4 suites.All the rooms has mini bar, shower with hot water, cable TV, WiFi Internet, fan or air condition. The suites offer amenities like sofa group, dining table, spacious spa-tub, mini bar, flat screen cable TV, and all the suites offer spa-tubs and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pousada do Toby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Toby Canoa Quebrada, Brazil - Ceara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing