We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place (and the only) ever in Canoa!”
Review of Pousada do Toby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada do Toby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Canoa Quebrada
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place (and the only) ever in Canoa!”
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Relaxation, good food, friendely staff and the best manager - Toby. Toby can arrange whatever trip you are interested in, and prepare excellent food! In Canoa, and staying at Pousada do Toby, you are a bit like a "backpacker" in excellent surroundings. Take the view from the dining/bar and the pool area. I love it! And it is my second stay. We stayed here at Christmas time in 2007 as well, and we are planning to return in december this year.
The best place in Conoa!

Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rytterdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick,Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I stayed at the pousada do Toby with friends in July for 2 nights. We loved it for it's charm, quirkiness and found it to be good value for money especially when you convert to euros. This was my third trip to Brazil and only my frst time in Canoa-what a lovely spot. The pousada was spotlessly clean, the rooms were spacious and staff very helpful and friendly especially Sandra the lady who looks after the very convenient late breakfast. The views from the decked areas were breathtaking and the location was fantastic for the beach (though the climb back up after a day in the sun could have been heart-attack inducing!!) and the variety of restaurants/bars that Canoa has to offer. I wished I could have stayed longer but had to return to Fortaleza for flights home. The regular bus service to Canoa from Fortleza was very convenient. Overall a lovely stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Pousada do Toby could have been (and maybe was in the past) a great place but instead seems to just merely survive. It can still be excellent value if you book one of the very cheap rooms. However if you book one of the more expensive ones you get very little value for money. Little has been done over the years to maintain and improve the property. The staff seems to lack motivation. Truly a pity as the location and the open terraces with great views could make this one of the top pousadas in Canoa. Hopefully the owners will re-evaluate their property and either sell it to someone willing to give it a make-over or invest in a needed upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2008

Pousada do Toby is a perfecrt place to stay when you visit the paradise Canoa Quebrada. The staff is very nice and Toby will give you tips and help you if you need anything. Great food and service. Nothing bad to write about the place. A perfect place in paradise:-)

  • Liked — Well it`s paradise. You must go there for understand
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We chose this pousada on the basis of one of the nicest descriptions I have ever seen in a guidebook. The location is outstanding overlooking the gorgeous beach. The owner Toby is a Dane who was one of the first to establish a pousada in Canoa and knows everyone and everything about the place. The rooms range from fairly basic to rather upmarket. The breakfast is amazing and is in good Danish style served until late in the afternoon. The bar, with a small pool right next to it, is a friendly and sociable place to hang out for a drink and a snack after a day on the beach or a buggy ride. Toby himself is a character definetely worth having a chat with.

I promised myself I would come back to this place as soon as possible.

  • Liked — Location and the friendly and social atmosphere
  • Disliked — I have no complaints
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canoa Quebrada hotels
0.4 mi away
Il Nuraghe Hotel
Il Nuraghe Hotel
#2 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Long Beach
Hotel Long Beach
#1 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Tranquilandia Village
Pousada Tranquilandia Village
#3 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pousada Aruana
Pousada Aruana
#5 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropicalia
Hotel Tropicalia
#7 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada La Dolce Vita
Pousada La Dolce Vita
#4 of 10 in Canoa Quebrada
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Toby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Toby

Property: Pousada do Toby
Address: Rua Nascer do Sol, Canoa Quebrada, State of Ceara 62800-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Canoa Quebrada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Canoa Quebrada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Toby 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers 22 rooms and 4 suites.All the rooms has mini bar, shower with hot water, cable TV, WiFi Internet, fan or air condition. The suites offer amenities like sofa group, dining table, spacious spa-tub, mini bar, flat screen cable TV, and all the suites offer spa-tubs and great views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada do Toby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Toby Canoa Quebrada, Brazil - Ceara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing