We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with great food!”
Review of Claro de Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claro de Luna
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great food!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were group of couples and stayed here for a few days after doing the Inca Trail. Very nice staff, great food and beverages. Comfortable, clean hotel on a nice part of an otherwise pretty rocky beach. A very relaxing experience, which was exactly what we were looking for. We ended up enjoying our time relaxing at the hotel over exploring the town, which was close, but not too close. The food was excellent and we ate at the hotel often, trying all of the various sea food options. Definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    16
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Claro de Luna is a very well run small hotel in a good location whose owners and staff do their best to make you feel welcome. It sits on a great stretch of wide beach just outside Mancora town and has the advantage unlike others that every evening you can watch the sun set.

The atmosphere at the hotel is relaxed and friendly. Whilst the hotel only provides a buffet breakfast they have a bar which serves cocktails and drinks though out the day. They do recommend other beach side establishments where you can eat or others in Mancora town which we found helpful.

Bearing in mind the hotel is located next to the beach I was impressed at the efforts they made to maintain the hotel's cleanliness. For example every morning they re-fill their small swimming pool in the early hours just to make sure their guests have the best possible stay. We were aware of this as we also stayed at another beach hotel in Mancora who didn't do this, the difference is very noticeable.

I liked the honesty of the owners too. When booking they pointed out the 18% sales tax that foreigners do not have to pay. This was not the case at the other hotel where we stayed where we had to haggle to get this taken off our bill!

There is also a house adjoining the hotel that the owners rent out to larger groups with a beautiful garden. We may consider this the next time we return to Mancora.

So if you would like a relaxed stay in Mancora with excellent service then I cannot think of a better place to recommend.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family ask for the top floor as there is a double room with an adjoining bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October of 2013 after spending a week doing more active things around Peru (hiking, camping, white water rafting, etc.). I had picked Claro de Luna based on the many favorable reviews I read online, and it did not disappoint!

The hotel is located in Las Pocitas, which is a few km from downtown Mancora. It was actually really nice being a bit off the beaten path. The beach was pretty uninhabited, which I would imagine is not the case closer to town. I had read reviews about other hotels in the area, saying that there are rocks in the ocean that make it difficult to swim. This was not the case with Claro de Luna! The beach directly in front of the hotel was rock-free, which made it great for swimming and body surfing. The hotel provided chairs and cabanas on the beach.

The hotel itself was really charming. There were only a handful of rooms, which kept everything feeling really cozy. I liked the fact that the place wasn't swarming with other guests. The main lobby opened up into a shared living room, dining area, bar, and then... pool & beach. I loved the open floor plan of the main part of the hotel. It was so relaxing. The rooms were pretty simple and sparse, but they were clean, and who comes here to hang out in the room anyway? We had room #10, which was the only room with an ocean view. It was so relaxing to fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping up on the beach each night!

Before our trip, I was a little nervous about the weather since it was going to be the "off-season," but we had fantastic weather... loads of sun, wonderfully warm ocean water to swim in. The sun is STRONG! I came with a tan (and tan easily), and slathered on SPF 45 about 10x/day and STILL got a lot of sun. Be careful! Oh! It was also cool that we got to see whales migrating south on two of the three days we were there. Apparently September is the best month for this, but we lucked out and saw a few stragglers in mid-October :) The beach was very, very windy... not sure if that was a random thing, a seasonal thing, or if it's always like that. It wasn't terrible, but a few times we had to move back up to the pool area because the wind blew the sand around too much to tolerate.

What really made this hotel a winner was the owner and staff. The owner, Ricardo (although I think his son, Latauro, might be the "main" owner - he was away when we were there), was so, so nice and helpful. He was a very relaxed guy (I never saw him with shoes on), and very accommodating. The guys that work at the bar were very sweet and also very helpful. One guy - Rolando - was always smiling every time I saw him. My husband and I nicknamed him "smiley."

My only complaint about our stay here was that, since we were there during the off-season, the restaurant was closed except for breakfast. This was disappointing, as we were really looking forward to the convenience of an on-site restaurant (and had read really good things about the restaurant online!). It wasn't so bad walking to nearby restaurants, but it was annoying that they didn't even have snacks at all to enjoy with our poolside Pisco sours. I think they should at least have some chips & dip or something handy, but oh well. If having an on-site restaurant is important to you, I would recommend inquiring about theirs before booking.

Room Tip: Room #10 has an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 159jessieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The owner, Ricardo, could not have been nicer. We just returned to Cuenca yesterday after spending four days at Claro de Luna. All of his staff are excellent and they will do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We were a group of 3 couples traveling together from Cuenca, Ecuador.

Some things you may want to consider:
1) From previous reviews, we were expecting a great restaurant. Now, they only serve a breakfast buffet, which was very good. But if you want to eat lunch or dinner, you will have to walk down the beach to other hotels that still have full service restaurants. That was a disappointment because we just really wanted to kick back and stay at the hotel. But there are two good hotel restaurants within walking distance on the beach...just wash your feet off before you enter them.

2) If you are older or have any kind of physical limitations, the only transport into Mancora is by a "tuk-tuk" such as one finds in Asia; a motorcycle with a seat across the back. The road the hotel sits on is extremely pock-marked and bumpy. So going into town is not a good experience if you have a bad back, for example. The only evening we went in, Ricardo was kind enough to drive us in his SUV...so sweet...but we were forced to take a tuk-tuk back. If this is an issue for you, you may want to consider staying at another hotel that has a full time restaurant.

3) This lovely hotel is "out" from town, on the quiet part of the beach. It's away from night life and the fishing harbor. So for us, this was wonderful! The sand is beautiful, the weather was
sunny and not too hot. When the vendors or horse back riding people come up to you, if you are on the beach, you can wave them away and they won't hassle you anymore...unlike in other countries. Everyone was lovely and kind. Knowing a little Spanish is helpful but not necessary as Ricardo speaks English and he has a google translator.

4) Because we went in the off season (October) and because we are not Peruvian citizens, we got a $10 (USD) per night discount on our rooms. That was a nice surprise.

5) The number 1 rated restaurant in town was closed the night we went in (Tuesday) so we tried the Thai restaurant, called TAO, which is across the street and down a bit. It was VERY good. Be careful after dark with your belongings, especially if you are women traveling alone
or a young woman traveling alone. The local guys hanging around the main drag can get a bit aggressive towards women. But that can happen anywhere in the world, right?

So you will really like this hotel and it's staff and cleanliness. Room #1 is on the first floor, in the back and we had our own private veranda. We couldn't see the ocean but could easily hear it all of the time. Great way to fall asleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odysseus0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Wow this was the perfect place to end our holiday in Peru. The couple who own the hotel could not be more helpful, from translating the amazing specials board to printing boarding pass's. the hotel has a homely family feel right on the beach with sunsets to die for. Meals were excellent as we're the cocktails, we simply didn't move for 5 days its that good.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back last night and had to write about our wonderful finale to our trip through Peru. The Claro de Luna run by a wonderful family is truly an jewel on Las Pocitas beach. We travelled as a family of 5 with kids ranging from 17-10. We all loved the warmth, hospitality, kindness and delicious food at this small little hotel of 9 rooms. Gorgeous views of the ocean from room 10 and a beautifully designed layout make it feel like a home away from home. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a queen bed and fantastic ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schumis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in Claro de Luna for 8 days, in May this year. The Argentinean owners, Ricardo, Claudia and Lautaro made me feel instantly welcome. They master the art of hostmanship as do the staff: they are always there when you need them but never in an intrusive way. Everyone is helpful, superfriendly and the service comes with a truly meant smile.

The rooms are modern and elegantly decorated, and have a spacious private terrace with hammock, overlooking the ocean. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the accommodation. You can walk around all day and still go to bed without any sand or dirt under your feet. Considering the fact that this hotel is on the beach that's quite an accomplishment! The Wifi, big-screen movies on request, library, swimming pool and great deck chairs and couches make the picture complete.

The owners managed to assembly a great staff, including the chef: the food is awesome and no more expensive than in any good restaurant in and around Mancora. As a wine-enthusiast I especially enjoyed Ricardo's stack of great Argentinean wines. I had no reason to leave the premises other than to get some money out of the ATM's in the village or get my laundry done there. And that was great after 4 weeks of travelling through Peru.

I loved my time there. The owners are interesting people, they have great tips for you, are always in for a chat and take pride in caring for their guests. Not surprised to see two honeymoon couples there. What a perfect spot to spend some quality time together...

PS: This is not a place to go to when you have children. It is somewhat remote and nice and quiet... :-)

Room Tip: Any room is good. The pictures do not really reflect the quality or the cleanliness of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mancora hotels
2.1 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arennas Mancora
Arennas Mancora
#3 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Mediterranea
Casa Mediterranea
#6 of 32 in Mancora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Mare & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claro de Luna

Property: Claro de Luna
Address: Km. 1216 Antigua Panamericana Norte | Playa Las Pocitas, Mancora, Peru
Region: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Mancora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claro de Luna is right on the seashore, beach front row at the exclusive area Las Pocitas, 2km away from downtown Máncora. It’s suitable for up to max. 20 people and very spacious, with lots of spots with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Our concept: Private Villa with our high quality hotel service with more than 10 years of experience. Various alternatives for groups of 6 people or less, and up to a max. of 20 people. Claro de Luna has been re-designed towards a truly relax and comfort experience for our guests, with private lounge areas with stunning ocean views, a large infinity pool at seashore, sun-loungers at the beach, a fully equipped bar, cinema living room, board game´s table, daily cleaning service and a complete cooking service provided by our 2 Chefs with a wide seafood and international menu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing