We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”
Review of Laguna Surf Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laguna Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This place could be paradise but for a few issues that could very easily be fixed.
Pros: location - it's a minute from the beach; ambiance - hammocks everywhere and it's so peaceful during the day; food - the Belgian chef is excellent; and their two lo(i)vely dogs.
Cons: Mancora is mosquito-ridden so ask whether your room has mosquito nets (our first one, first room under the restaurant, did not) and we were eaten alive; the dorm room, which we were moved to has a serious plumbing problem and stank horribly; noise: there is a party venue down the road (not the camp's problem, I know) but bring ear plugs; luggage storage: if you need to leave luggage for a while after you've checked out, these are just left behind the reception desk - don't have anything loose or dangling. The dogs made off with a pair of shoes tied to the outside of one of our packs and chewed through part of the leather. As in the rest of the town, and in fact Peru, the dogs run free and did have a pop at a few people so if you're nervous of dogs bear that in mind.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank weetruffle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The restuarant is very good and the cook is very friendly, we loved the breakfast. Great location and nice peaceful atmosphere.We stayed in a four dorm room which also has a toilet in the same building. I was unlucky to have the bed beside the toilet which smelled awful. We also found a mouse in our dorm which we alerted the staff about but noone realy passed any remarks or did anything about it, the second night we seen another mouse, again informed staff and again no action. We seen people come and go but the sheets don't get changed. Also there is no hot water here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

After staying at Kokopelli's for 3 loud nights we really needed somewhere a bit quieter & cheaper.
Just far enough off the tourist track to be peaceful but only 5 minutes walk away if you want to get a drink or some dinner, Laguna's was our haven.
They've just had a pool fitted which was really nice & the food in the restaurant was probably the best in all of Mancora. Great breakfast & their Rico milkshakes really are muy rico. Also had probably the best tuna I have ever had, better than La Sirena d' Juan & not with such an outrageous price attached. A must visit for a break from the garish party scene.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is my favourite hostel ever.
Comfy, clean beds, sooooo many hammocks, 2 outdoor chillout areas, a little pool to cool off in, a secluded beach 1 minute's walk away, and the dazzling jewel in Laguna's crown is Pepe, the incredible chef. Pepe is hilarious and his food is just divine, he isn't a cook, he's a chef who's learned his art in some of the world's best training grounds, and he LOVES what he does, if you order it a day in advance he will make you the best fish and chips you have ever had, his burgers are famous in Mancora, everyone who tried them said they were the best burgers they'd ever had, we only ate anywhere else during our trip because the restaurant is closed between Sunday afternoon and Tuesday morning (usually open from around 8am-3pm and 6-10pm). Andrea who was managing Laguna during our visit was wonderful, helpful and fun too.
The showers are cold, no problem when it's hot, but if you want a warmish one aim for about 4pm when the sun has heated the water up, or shower outside in the sunshine. Also, the water can stop working sometimes, but you just need to ask one of the staff to put the pump on briefly.
The atmosphere was chilled, and since they ask everyone to keep it quiet after midnight it's easy to get a good sleep.
Writing this is making me miss it all too much, I want to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 000Lauren000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We are overlanding from Argentina to Alaska with our 2 kids and can easily say that Laguna is on the top 10 camping spots on our list. We landed up staying 3 weeks instead of 1. Pepe is a fantastic chef and his hamburgers are the absolute best we have had in over a year! Pillar is very friendly and Mariano is a great guy to get to know. We would definitely return one day and will stay much longer!

Room Tip: We didn't sleep in the rooms but camped instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Laguna Surf Camp is exactly how a relaxing beach resort should be:
Hammocks to chill out everywhere in the garden, enough shady spots, a brand new swimmingpool and comfy sunchairs in front of your bungalows. The rooms are spotlessly clean, with room service daily. Surf- Kite- and SUP-boards and lessons are available. It's located a few steps from the beach.
Pepe runs a restaurant at the resort with divine food. The place is very cosy, the portions are big and prices are fair. Plus Pepe has an excellent sense of humor! Don't leave without trying at least: best omlette in the world, jucy chicken and pinape salad, huge tasty hamburger (comes with delicious fries), and his famous chocolate cake. Oh and the Mojitos (made by Andrea) are legendary! Eating in Pepes restaurant, even if you don't stay in the resort, is an absolut MUST!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I came here from Cuenca on a long bus ride! We were tired and looking for a cheap place to stay with some fellow travelers.

During that week-end nothing was cheap in town due to it being the national holiday, so we made our way in order to look for different place to stay. We arrived at this place and it was surprisingly cheap compared to the rest, we were told they only had two beds when we were three! That for them was not problem, they found another one and added it to the dorm for us.

The room were nice! the crowd staying there was very friendly and a lot of people enjoyed the hammocks to stay in for relaxation! Also it is possible to sleep really peacefully due to the fact that it is not in town itself!

The place has a solid restaurant that maybe was a little more pricey than the rest of town but it was so worth it! I really enjoyed the food and the music that was played there!

One of the only problem with the place was the swimming pool, it had been built but was still empty while I was there! However, I am sure that this will be resolved soon!

Room Tip: the rooms near the reception have WiFi in the room, the rooms in the back are incredibly peaceful th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mancora hotels
0.3 mi away
Suites del Mar
Suites del Mar
#2 of 33 in Mancora
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Giovanni / Balinese Suites y Gelateria
0.1 mi away
Casa Mediterranea
Casa Mediterranea
#6 of 33 in Mancora
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eco Lodge
Eco Lodge
#5 of 33 in Mancora
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Wawa
Hotel Del Wawa
#16 of 33 in Mancora
182 reviews
2.8 mi away
DCO Suites, Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Surf Camp

Address: Mancora, Peru
Region: Peru > Piura Region > Mancora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Mancora
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing