We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not love at first sight...But”
Review of Toorak Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Toorak Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toorak
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had to book a Hotel at the last minute as our plans had changed suddenly on a trip from the UK. This was the only reasonably cheap hotel we could find in Melbourne at short notice. We booked a triple room for my husband and I and our 13 year old Daughter.

When we arrived I was horrified, it looked old and run down with threadbare carpets. The room itself was large with an old metal four poster bed and a single bed. The four poster bed had bits missing and the cover looked grubby. My first thought was to leave immediately. But we stayed as had no other choice.

I AM GALD WE STAYED... Yes it was a bit rundown and the furniture did not match, but the room was actually spotless and it had a lovely clean bathroom. We had all the toiletries you would find in a modern 4* Hotels and a new hairdryer, Kettle and Iron. It had free Wi-Fi which pleased my daughter and it was so convenient to Melbourne we did not need our car for the three days we stayed.

The breakfast was lovely just what we needed and the Staff very friendly and helpful. If I had to stay in Toorak again for any reason I would definitely stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed years ago and thus came again- sadly it has gone downhill rapidly. The staff are reasonable at their job but have no local knowledge, and no warmth, breakfast is poor. This gorgeous Victorian Manor has been put to the sword. Add to this the decor needs a freshen up- badly worn carpets etc and we won't bother again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontouf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked a double room - there were no photos of the ACTUAL room which was at the top of the manor up narrow stairs away from other rooms. Was not period furnishings but worn out 1980's/90/s chairs, the single bedroom had no bedspread. The main bedroom had such a neglected isolating feeling and I left without spending the entire night there. Will not be returning

Room Tip: don't book room 20 at the top of the manor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays
Thank Simone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Location is good if Chapel St is your scene. It's close to two trams and a train station. It's very naff, very dated, etc. We were in room 19 which was in desperate need of a paint job and a make over in general. It was relatively clean, could have been better. Free parking! Common areas again naff, etc. Customer service was not bad because it really was non existent. We had to call the hotel back twice as the first booking confirmation came through without the correct bedding configuration; the second the wrong dates, oops. No sign of the rumoured ghosts though someone in the guest book had said room 20 was a bit 'scary'. There are better places to stay...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank akm191076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Overall, good hotel if you visit Melbourne and need or prefer to stay in or around South Yarra. Good size rooms, reasonably equipped (hair dryer, iron, working TV, free wi-fi that worked well). Had room overlooking the railway line, so we were aware of noise from trains, but never found it to be obtrusive or a problem. Literally a stone throw to train station (3 stops to Flinders St), 5 minutes walk to Malvern or Toorak Roads and trams. A modest walk towards the city (15 to 20 minutes for most) for shopping district and Prahran Market - the latter is well worth a visit as it makes the Adelaide market look a little shabby. The hotel is a lovely old building, but lacks grandeur, so in that respect the advertising is not entirely accurate, but it is clean, comfortable, quiet, well located and not overly expensive for reasonable accommodation if you are visiting Melbourne. Staff were cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThreeScrooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It's tired, shabby and not all that clean. TV didn't work. Double glazed windows keep traffic and train noise to a minimum. On the plus side, the staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate. It's centrally located. Outdoor furniture should be thrown out - broken chairs a very poor welcome.

Room Tip: Front rooms are larger and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caminowalker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Toorak Manor as we attended a 50th and needed somewhere close and comfortable to stay so we didnt have to drive home. Toorak Manor is a gorgeous Old style accommodation. We booked a Deluxe Queen as it included breakfast. The room itself was charming, comfortable bed, ensuite, tea and coffee facilities, Tv etc. We arrived late after reception closed and were given a code to enter and found our keys and info left at reception desk. The Toorak Manor is furnished throughout with the old world charm of antiques and furniture from an era long gone. A very comfortable stay at a reasonable price for whats included. Breakfast is just a basic continental consisting of cereals, toasts, yoghurt and tinned fruit, with oj, tea and coffee. We enjoyed our 1 night stay, :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toorak
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
391 reviews
Quest Windsor
#2 of 2 in Prahran
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
217 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toorak Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toorak Manor

Address: 220 Williams Rd, Toorak, Stonnington, Victoria 3142, Australia (Formerly Flag Heritage Toorak Manor)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Toorak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toorak
Price Range: £55 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toorak Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Toorak Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toorak
Toorak Quality Inn
Toorak Manor Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing