We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special occasion restaurant”
Review of Bistro Thierry

Bistro Thierry
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Toorak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the ambience of a night in a buzzing French bistro in Melbourne without the jet lag. We aim to make your experience completely enjoyable.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Special occasion restaurant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Love it here for those anniversaries, birthdays etc. Food is always excellent and very French. Great wine list too. The specials are well worth considering as they are often seasonal and therefore very fresh. I cannot eat here without having soufflé for dessert. The best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are so glad you've enjoyed BT once again. Consistency in food and service is what we constantly strive for. We look forward to seeing you again. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    110
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Atmosphere... and Food!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Birthday dinner... Ten guests... not a problem for Bistro Thierry... so that was a good start.
The place is big enough to cope, but still cosy with a good feeling about it. Additionally there have been clear efforts at sound deadening... so despite the place being busy it was not deafening. Tick number two.
The wine menu is extensive and well priced... tick number three!
The food is great... standard up-market French... from escargots to steak tartare to French onion soup.
The staff are friendly and attentive... special dietary requests accommodated
without fuss. Another tick!
So overall... lots of ticks. Zero crosses! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dansthyarra666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
It is a delight to have customers like you in the restaurant. Thankyou for the positive feedback, we look forward to having you back soon. Merci beaucoup!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“roger1278”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We reserve Bistro Thierry for special occasions & celebrated my Birthday with family. We love the Parisian feel of the restaurant which is always busy with great waiters buzzing about.
Our staple menu is steak frittes offering fillet steak served with a choice of sauces & perfectly cooked fries.On a Monday BYO wine is available at high corkage but still allows you to take an expensive wine at an affordable cost. The restaurant has yet to fail us & we thoroughly recommend the Bistro for great food good, waiters & a fabulous experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
242 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“fine food but noisy”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The food here is very good but the space on a weekday night was crowded and seemingly designed to be noisy. Service was good but there was still not time to have a third course within the allotted time. One can understand wanting to fit in extra tables and to turn those tables but it can be counter-productive too. We would not choose to go back. (I didn't mean to comment on th bar scene but don't seem to be able to remove the rating.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
On behalf of the BT team thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
516 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“A slice of Paris in Melbourne”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very authentic French style restaurant, very much like one you find in Paris. The ambience is fantastic, enhanced by the waiters with heavy French accents. The food and wine choices are perfect and are not too expensive. We (table of 5) had a selection of entree, mains and deserts, a bottle of wine, finished with coffees for $470. The meals were authentically French. It was A Sunday afternoon, and the Restaurant was booked solid, there was not a table spare, so bookings are essential. The only down side to this is that the space is quite limited so it became a little claustrophobic.
For this wanting a wine or two, access to this restaurant from the city is very convenient,Tram 72 stops right out the front.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry C, Owner at Bistro Thierry, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We have enjoyed reading your feedback and have shared your thoughts with all our staff. A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Thierry also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
Prahran, Stonnington
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Toorak, Stonnington
 

Been to Bistro Thierry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing