We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation - really bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wild Cattle Creek Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Agree 100% with last review. The villas are great. Everything very professional - from returning my call late on a Saturday evening to arranging bedding configuration. Breakfast provisions are plenty and fresh. Unfortunately no cleaning of villa during stay.
Had a good meal on steak night. Peppercorn sauce - something brown and watery but steak cooked to perfection. Unfortunately the tapas night was a disaster. Some of the worst food ever tasted. Obviously from a freezer and microwaved. Kids meals mediocre. No one even asked why I left my food. A real disappointment - stay only one night and avoid the restaurant.
Down the road is Whispering Hills - a beautiful small winery, great owner and even better red Barbera
Medhurst wines - very good Shiraz and nice people - also good food under the trees

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanAndKarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We spent one night in one of their lake side cottages. The setting was fantastic and the accommodation was excellent. The standard of the accommodation is very high with all the mod conns and a very high standard of finish. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant however and it was very disappointing. It was one of the worst meals we have ever eaten !! We had a full three coarse meal each and each dish was worse than the last. Either uncooked, overcooked, reheated in a microwave or over salted. When we told the waitress that we thought the chocolate fondant was raw and inedible she simply said "that's fine" and took it away - no apology!
They also do a range of their own wines. We did the cellar door wine tasting which was well done by the friendly and informative team. We through the wine however was of average quality and over priced
We would give the accommodation 5 stars, the wine 3 stars and the food zero!
It was holday season and perhaps they did not have their regular kitchen staff but no excuse.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We live just down the road from Wild Cattle Creek Estate and have been there on many occasions for meals.
The food is always fabulous, the service is always good too.
Only one thing, if your not going to refill our glasses of water, a bottle of water on the table would be a great idea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Talitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Yarra Valley was our 1st stop in our melbourne / victoria holiday. After seeing the photos fm the website, we had high expectations of the place & Indeed! It didnt failed us! The place was fantastic! we had a family of 7 so we took the whole Homestead, which was made up of 3 seperate bedrooms , big family area , kitchen. There was a whole lot of breakfast supplies provided, more than enuff for just breakfast. Wide selection of tea.
We enjoyed cosying up at the fire place after dinner to relax for tea. This would really be a dream house, lovely & romatic. Only sad thing was we were only there for 1 nite!
p/s there's a supermarket just few mins drive away, & free wifi ava too, but the network could only be found on laptop n not iphone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paStillieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Looks like this is the 1st review for this property...Stayed for 2 nights to visit the winery in the Yarra region. Very new & luxurious. The vines are at the door step with great view of the entire property. Well equipped with almost everything except for the lacking of a laundrette. This is important to non-local like us with 2 little kids in tow. Plenty of breakfast condiments were provided in refridgerator, more than enough for our party of 4 adults & 2 kids. Figured it'll also be a nice place for a romantic getaway as well...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaruTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seville
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
552 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
336 reviews
12.4 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
13.2 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Cattle Creek Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cattle Creek Estate

Address: 473 Warburton Hwy, Seville, Victoria 3139, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range: £127 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Cattle Creek Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the very few Wineries offering Yarra Valley Winery Accommodation, one of our range of eight different modern and heritage style accommodation options is sure to suit your needs, ranging from one, two and three bedroom options. Wild Cattle Creek Estate offers luxury Yarra Valley vineyard accommodation options with fine dining at our onsite Restaurant and tutored Yarra Valley Wine Tasting in our Cellar Door. Accommodation options range from the luxury of Wallace Historic Homestead B&B accommodation maintained in true 19th century style to our modern fully self contained Lotus and Vineyard Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Cattle Creek Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing