We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rustic Wallace Homestead”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Cattle Creek Estate
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rustic Wallace Homestead”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We booked the Wallace Homestead for our recent trip to the Yarra Valley. The Wallace Homestead is effectively a combination of the two-bedroom Wallace House and one-bedroom Wallace Suite. As there were six of us, we booked the entire Wallace Homestead which is spaciously comfortable for all of us.

It is a very beautiful house with a rustic feel to it. The furniture feels like antique but the whole house is very well maintained, clean and comfortable. All rooms come with queen beds. The only complain was that the heating control did not seem to work very well. The house gots pretty warm in the middle of the night.

The detached bathroom has a bathtub and shower cubicle. The ensuite bathroom has shower only. Plenty of toileteries are provided (unlike most cottages we had stayed in all over Victoria) but the wooden toilet seats made you wonder if it's even possible to wash and clean them.

The country-style kitchen is fully equipped with oven, dishwasher, pots and pans, utensils and dishes. The breakfast provision is continental - jam, butter, bread, cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea - and very generous in portions. For eggs, bacons and other supplies, there is an IGA supermarket 2 minutes drive away.

Its location along the Warburton Highway means it is a slight distance away from Yarra Valley's big-name wineries. But there are several boutique wineries nearby which are really good.

We didn't attend the private tutor wine class given the poor reviews and also because they did not run the class on the Sunday we were there due to a wedding event.

The homestead is really beautiful, classic and leaves fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penangowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    22
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here for a wedding weekend. It is close to Warburton Highway and noisy. We were in newly renovated cabins and although nice and modern had absolutely no character. The morning of the wedding there was NO HOT WATER AND NO GAS - as a Bridesmaid this was more than inconvenient. When I called the manager, he was bothered by the call. When he did come down to check out the problem he asked us 'if we'd touched anything to turn it off' and then went back to the main building in a huff. It was not fixed until the next day so we couldn't shower or cook. We weren't offered any compensation or discount let alone an apology. The wedding reception was also disappointing. We were ushered in by the female manager before we had even been announced ending in the whole bridal party being quite embarrassed as the EMCEE was mid-speech regarding the evening schedule. Overall it is for common, middle-class weddings at best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

From the call back from the restaurant manager Dean to confirm our stay we had a positive and friendly feeling about the place and the people.
When we arrived we were greeted with a calm, relaxing attitude from all the staff and we could feel that we were in for a great break.
Our accommodation was so beautiful that my parents wanted to live the rest of their days there in such comfort and salubrious surroundings.
Our meal was of the highest quality I've tasted in Victoria and we were left content and full making the price justifiable and apt.
On our return to the Wallace Homestead we all enjoyed a peaceful, comfortable sleep in lavish big beds with high quality linen.
We could of easily of stayed for much longer and really enjoyed conversing with the owner Kevin who took a lot of his time out to share his passion of wine making and fine dining. He was honest, friendly with a great sense of humour and you could tell he demanded the highest standards in all areas of his business from the manicured grounds to each individual staff members attitude and candour.
An overall beautiful and pleasant stay in one of Victoria's beauty spots.

P J O'Neill and Edna Lal

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwarnaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I recently had our wedding ceremony and reception at WCC and it was perfect in every way! The staff service was OUTSTANDING and the quality of the food was amazing!
We also stayed over the weekend and our every need was met with 100% helpfulness and with the amazing food, surroundings, and wine the rest of the wedding weekend was PERFECT! Thank you Wild Cattle Creek! We will DEFINITELY be back! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VNess2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom villa on a last minute special for $195 per night including breakfast provisions. The Villa itself was "OK", modern, with a gas fire place, full kitchen and reasonably nice views.

The major downside of this estate is it's located no more than 100 meters from the Warburton Highway which is a very busy, very noisy road. On the first night the neighbours at the bottom of the hill (about 200 meters away) had a party and their loud music could clearly be heard until 1AM.

The 2nd night we decided to book for the 4PM private wine tasting, which was not private as we had thought, all in house guests were invited. Kevin who I assume is the owner, ran the wine tasting, very lovely guy and very knowledgeable however, we felt he rambled on far too long (15 minutes between each tasting) he also had the impression everyone in the group was tasting wine for the FIRST time. Whilst we still enjoyed the tasting, if you're knowledgeable about wine, I'd suggest skipping it and doing a regular tasting at another time.

We had booked for dinner at 6:30, were greeted promptly and seated at a nice table by the fire by a friendly young lady. That's where the enjoyment stopped unfortunately, we opened the menu and were shocked at the pricing. The menu consisted of 3 steaks, & five other main dishes. There was not a main on the menu less than $29, which I'm normally fine with when dining at a "nice restaurant", however being a man I enjoy a lovely steak on a special occasion and when I looked at the steak selection I was shocked to see that their cheapest steak, a 200g eye fillet was $35! Their next was a scotch fillet for $40, and finally their 550g rib eye was a whopping $59. Now I've worked around food a lot earlier on in my life and from experience I know that rib eye sells for $24 a kilo MAX! So please Wild Cattle Creek, explain to me why I would want to pay $120 per kilo??? There were a number of entrees on the menu but the cheapest was bread $9.50.

In the end we packed up, drove to Healesville and had a beautiful meal at the Grand for $65 (where of course I had a Rib eye, with chips and salad for $32...). To credit the restaurant, on the last morning we had breakfast there, it was perfectly priced and very enjoyable.

I've stayed at a lot of B&B's and cottages throughout the Yarra Valley region and take my advice, if you're looking for a quiet relaxing, value for money getaway, this is not the one for you.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a vineyard villa - further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Waters, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nothing better than a comfy bed and cosy pillows, and Wild Cattle Creek Estate's Wallace Homestead comes up trumps. A beautifully restored home with all the comforts you need for a small group. A spectacular location in the Yarra Valley. Make sure you take the short walk to the restaurant, and if they still have "Fruit Soup" on the dessert menu, then do yourself a favour...taste sensation!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Unit was well appointed for 2 couples, breakfast supplies were excellent for us to cook our own breakfast. Outlook over the vineyard from our villa was lovely. Dinner in the restaurant was a little disappointing- food seemed over cooked (stewed) a little like function food rather than restaurant quality. Our whole table felt the same about the food but we enjoyed the villas and property so much that we have booked to visit again and hope to enjoy the food a little better this time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumberEighteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seville
9.0 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
541 reviews
12.4 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
270 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Yering Gorge Cottages
13.2 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Cattle Creek Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cattle Creek Estate

Property: Wild Cattle Creek Estate
Address: 473 Warburton Hwy, Seville, Victoria 3139, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Cattle Creek Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the very few Wineries offering Yarra Valley Winery Accommodation, one of our range of eight different modern and heritage style accommodation options is sure to suit your needs, ranging from one, two and three bedroom options. Wild Cattle Creek Estate offers luxury Yarra Valley vineyard accommodation options with fine dining at our onsite Restaurant and tutored Yarra Valley Wine Tasting in our Cellar Door. Accommodation options range from the luxury of Wallace Historic Homestead B&B accommodation maintained in true 19th century style to our modern fully self contained Lotus and Vineyard Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wild Cattle Creek Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing