We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Azjure Studio Retreat
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the third time we have stayed but this is the first time we were in the Villa. There are two bedrooms, possibly more can be opened up. It is a beautiful house, not a unit, has everything you would hope for, so modern and décor has a calming and luxurious open space feel. One day we are going to stay long enough to need to use the BBQ, the washing machine and laundry facilities! If only.

Walk through the front door and seriously, the first thing you feel is you are home. It has all the vibes of somewhere you can live, sadly it's never long enough but that's why it's called 'going away' I guess. Two couples (maybe more, not sure) can stay, not get in each other's road, be completely private, very close to being two ensuited main bedrooms. The linen is lovely, we felt completely at home and welcome.

Room Tip: There are 3x one bedroom studios and 1x two+ bedroom house(very large), so it depends on what you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Azjure experience was the most romantic weekend away we ever have experienced! We came to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary and loved every minute of it.

The ease of checking in, the music playing on entrance, all got our weekend off to the most perfect start. It’s the small touches that put Azjure streets ahead of any other place we have stayed. The open pantry was very helpful, and the DVD selection was excellent.

We dined at Shiraz on the Friday night and found this to be delicious with fabulous service. What a great restaurant to have so close to Azjure. We also dined at the Vineyard Café and Barrel Room, both serving excellent food.

The national parks at such close proximity were beautiful, as was our “unplanned climb” up the Pyramid! Breathtaking views and well worth the effort.

What has been created at Azjure is truly unique and we cannot recommend it highly enough. We look forward to our next visit with much anticipation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross B, Owner at Azjure Studio Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad you loved azjure, and we definitely look forward to having you stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent block of land overlooking the beautiful Ballandean & offering perfectly maintained, ultra clean, accomodation. This is a retreat for couples who appreciate the finer things in life. You will not be disappointed in selecting this place and you will quickly realise that this place is a well oiled machine offering excellent customer service and a high level of care factor. You will receive emails, texts and an abundance of information to confirm the booking. This lovely establishment is close to everything the Granite Belt has to offer & is a perfect base for the weekend. Try Shiraz restaurant, Barrell cafe @ Ballandean Estate & the Vineyard Cafe for lunch (see my review). Also checkout Symphony Hills wines if you appreciate fine wine. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The problem with a few nights getaway is you don't usually feel like you've totally unwound until the morning you're checking out.
Not here.
From the moment we walked in the door, opened the first bottle out on the porch, or took in the first sunset from the spa - it was like one big exhale.
This is our second of three days here, don't want to leave. Total relaxation, will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brissie_Bugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We are return guests at this wonderful place. The Owners obviously know what people want to find in their accommodation and it seems effortless (although I am sure it isn't). From the lovely wildlife grazing in the mornings and late afternoons, so close to the Studios, the simple and efficient digital check-in, the comfortable large bed with good quality linen, the rural peacefulness that can be felt from both the big glass window in the bathroom and the sliding doors in the rest of the studio, the fully equipped kitchen (with a real fridge!), DVD's free to use, absolute privacy, access to some of the best wineries in Australia (yes, really, read reviews of Australia's top Wine Reviewers sometime), close to local fruit, cheese, olive, dairy producers, what's not to love about this place and the Granite Belt. It is so quiet at night I thought I had lost my hearing. Unless you really want traditional cottage accommodation, you won't want to stay anywhere else again. I also think that people don't realise that you don't need to stay in Stanthorpe itself, most of the wineries and food places are outside of there anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1navajo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross B, Owner at Azjure Studio Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. Everything you mentioned is all part of what makes azjure such a special and unique place.

Thanks especially for mentioning about not needing to stay in Stanthorpe. As you say, many people think it's important to stay either in the town or nearby. In actual fact Ballandean, which is where azjure is located, is the best place to stay on the Granite Belt. Within walking distance of azjure we have four of the best wineries, the top three restaurants and the best tavern on the Granite Belt. Azjure is also close to the National Parks. We find most guests only go to Stanthorpe to pick up supplies from the shops, otherwise they just spend their time relaxing at azjure and in and around Ballandean!

Looking forward to seeing you again at azjure soon.

Kind regards
Ross and Cathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

If you like a nice quiet getaway, this is the place for you. Spacious, well appointed and very comfortable studios. Lots to do and see in the local area, even if you're not a wine connoisseur. Winter is obviously the best time to visit, so you can make use of the in-room fire.

Room Tip: The studios are spaced well apart, but if you want a little more privacy from your balcony studio 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JezzaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Just had three nights in Studio 3 at Azjure and it was a magnificent experience. I have been to Ballandean and Girraween several times and this was by far the best experience in terms of accommodation.

The studios are massive for 2 people and have very high-end appliances and utensils negating the home-chef's need to sometimes take their own knives, pans etc. It was a pleasure to have great cookware, plates and quality wine glasses supplied, as well as those annoying things to lug along like paper towels, olive oil, salt and pepper grinders and even glad wrap!

The studio was well-situated for complete privacy and sitting in the spa poses no problems with the blinds open so you can soak in the view of hills, bush, wlid flowers, grazing deer and roos. Everything is super-clean and also easy to keep clean on your stay.

Location-wise, we were 15 mins to Girraween National Park for an early morning climb up the Pyramid and at 8am had the whole rock to ourselves.

Had lunch at Suttons on the way from Brisbane to stock up on juice and to snaffle an early morning piece of apple pie and then stopped at Sam's Fruit Shop in Summit for top-notch fruit and veg for the stay.

Symphony Hill and Golden Grove are the favourites for the wine for us and you can even get a bottle of Azjures own pinot if you wish...great with seared duck breast.

The new Granite Belt Brewery in Stanthorpe was worth a drop-in to taste their developing brews and have a casual lunch and another lunch at Varias with the hospitality students was great value and it's always good to support our learning chefs and front of house staff; the best panacotta I have had in a while.

We didn't leave the studio at night for dinner but there are several options within 2 minutes drive....think Ballandean Estate, Shiraz and the Ballandean tavern.

My partner and I had such a great stay we have pencilled in another 3-day sojourn in a few months time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
10.7 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
87 reviews
2.7 mi away
Windswept Country Retreat
Windswept Country Retreat
#8 of 8 in Ballandean
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
59 reviews
6.1 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azjure Studio Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azjure Studio Retreat

Address: 165 Sundown Rd., Ballandean, Queensland 4182, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ballandean
Price Range: £165 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Azjure Studio Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azjure is Queensland's most highly awarded couples accommodation. Azjure is an inductee in the Qld Tourism Hall of Fame, Winner for the last three years in a row of the prestigious Queensland Tourism Award for best Deluxe Accommodation, and Highly Commended at the 2010 Australian Tourism Awards. Exclusively for couples, Azjure features just three very modern, stylish, superbly appointed and fully self-contained eco-sensitive spa studios set on 100 acres and one magnificent two bedroom Villa, making it the perfect place for special occasions, short breaks and extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azjure Studio Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing