We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballandean
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballandean Tavern Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballandean
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Although not staying here (we were staying on a farm nearby), we visited the Ballandean Tavern Motel for dinner after a long day out exploring Girraween National Park. A friendly welcome in the bar was followed by good, filling food in the dining area. Both the bar and restaurant area were clean and tidy, and the service good. It appears to be the sort of place that is used by locals as well as visitors to the area. Had we been staying in the area longer we would certainly have come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We did not stay here, instead we stopped in for dinner one night at the Tavern...then returned the next night as the food was so good! Loved the Chicken Caesar Salad (I ordered with dressing on the side). The local rangers frequent this establishment, so managed to find out a little more about the native wildlife and what they are doing in the area. It was great! They had a fire going, so it was also very cosy. Tidy, fresh decor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We made a last minute booking to stay at the Tavern because we could only get away for 1 night. Staying in Ballandean rather than Tenterfield or Stanthorpe was the much better choice as we spent most of our weekend in Girraween which is just down the road.

There are only 4 rooms at the Tavern but what they lack in quantity they more than make up for in quality. The rooms are large, clean and very well maintained. For the price they are a bargain and you would struggle to find better service anywhere else.

We had dinner at the Tavern and it was great food. And it was no trouble or extra charge to have entrees delivered to the room as we were waiting for a phone call. I would definitely stay at the Tavern again when we come to the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Solhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Ballandean Tavern is approximately 25 kilometres south of the Stanthorpe turn-off on the New England Highway. Alternatively it is approximately 17 kilometers north of Wallangarra. The hotel is is a family friendly establishment with great atmosphere, good food, friendly staff and interesting locals. The motel units are spacious, modern and very,very clean. The owners, Ian and Stephanie are on site and the smallest request is never a bother. We have stayed several times and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and motel to every-one.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fozzie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENNINGS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

I recently booked the motel rooms at the ballandean tavern for my husband and I. I was taken back when we opened the door to our room on how lovely and clean it was and how well it was done. It was just beautiful. The meals are just fantastic to. Ian and Steph are great host and if you are looking for a night away and not wanting to spend to much then this is the place. You won't go pass this for service. I highly recommened them in every aspect. I will be coming back again for sure. Brad and Peta Grogan

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL04GROGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Hi there, my husband & i just spent the night at the Ballandean Tavern in Ballandean, Granite Belt and can highly recommend it as accom if you're in the area. I looked into lots of different accom for the Sat nite, but most were for a min of 2 nite stay and expensive. If you're not looking for a real 'experience' with that olde worlde charm or a private little cottage on a pretty estate, then book into the tavern. It's brand new, lovely BIG rooms, sparkling clean, modern tasteful decor, great big modern bathroom. The rooms are out the back of the tavern and noise was not an issue at all (in fact we drove back from din about 10.00pm and the tavern looked almost empty on a sat nite). Don't even consider staying in Stanthorpe, daggy... all the $120 motels looked ancient, tired and in need of a complete overhaul.
The tavern was only $110 p.n. really, i can't recommend it highly enough, we would definately go back to stay if in the region.

Helpful?
1 Thank paradis0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
10.7 mi away
Granite Court Motel
Granite Court Motel
#8 of 8 in Stanthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
9.4 mi away
Alure Stanthorpe
Alure Stanthorpe
#3 of 8 in Stanthorpe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sancerre Estate B&B
Sancerre Estate B&B
#1 of 4 in Ballandean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Girraween Country Inn
Girraween Country Inn
#4 of 4 in Ballandean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballandean Tavern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballandean Tavern Motel

Property: Ballandean Tavern Motel
Address: Cnr St Judes & Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4382, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing