We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy rooms, warm hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Girraween Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Ballandean B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfy rooms, warm hosts”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

On our arrival, we were warmly greeted by Andrea one of the hosts. The rooms themselves were spacious and adequately equipped with the usual modcons. I was slightly worried about being cold seeing as we only had a small oil heater, but this and the election blanket did the trick. Shower was very clean and basic (no bath sadly). Water pressure isn't great so time your showers when others aren't having one! Our room was right above the breakfast area which meant it got noisy during peak breakfast time. These delicious small croissants are served straight out of the oven at brekkie (continental) so the noise could be forgiven. There is a small area between the rooms where a group of 5/6 can hang out and play one of the board games provided right by the fireplace. Our bed was a lovely four poster bed which was really cosy and comfy. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this BnB.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Ourselves and two other couples have just experienced the most wonderful long weekend at this glorious Inn. Nothing was too much trouble for Andrea and Valerio the hosts, whether it was the delightful dinner or chopping wood for the fire. We would all certainly recommend this Inn. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I and two other couples stayed for 2 nights over the June long weekend in 3 King rooms. Andrea and Valerio greeted us as soon as we arrived and welcomed us to the Inn. the rooms were very clean and well presented and the fireplaces throughout the Inn were comforting in the late afternoon. The 3 course meal served on Saturday night was wonderful, and we all enjoyed a couple of bottles of local wine. The continental Breakfast included in the price was a great start to the day, and Valerio's coffee was a real treat.
We all enjoyed our weekend immensely and would love to return for another visit sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From the moment we stepped through the doorway, Andrea and Valerio, the relatively newly-appointed managers, were enthusiastic, hospitable and friendly. They are the best feature of the Inn which is showing signs of age, particularly in relation to interior design. There is a lack of atmosphere in public areas with lighting that is too severe and rather old-fashioned decor throughout. It is evident that money hasn't been spent on the property for some time. Our room was comfortably, though simply, furnished and we enjoyed a good night's sleep on both nights.
A further example of the need for capital to be invested in the property is the requirement for a better quality coffee machine as even local guests expect a decent cup of coffee these days.

But the outstanding feature of the property is the young couple who manage it. Their energy and enthusiasm is admirable. No matter what was requested of them, they came up trumps every time. Andrea is a natural host, somehow managing to be receptionist, room attendant and waitress all at once while Valerio brings a touch of Amalfi to the Inn, the restaurant in particular.

Girraween is worth staying at for the warmth of the hosts alone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My family had a great weekend staying at this special place. We loved the personal touch Andrea and Valerio provided with the dinner, breakfast and sightseeing recommendations. We would definitely return to stay here in the near future to further explore the magnificent Granite Belt.

Room Tip: Family room with king bed and separate room with twin beds, perfect for our family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed in the family room for 4 nights in April for a wedding. The setup of the room was perfect for our needs with 2 small children and the massive bed was incredibly comfortable. Andrea and Valerio could not have been more welcoming and helpful. It is a beautiful location and we didn't really have enough time to explore, so if we ever pass this way again we will certainly be booking back in.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the family room. We had some special food requirements and Valerio elaborated some DELICIOUS vegetarian and gluten free 3 course meals every night. Would go there again just for the food!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballandean
9.9 mi away
Murray Gardens Motel & Cottages
5.0 mi away
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
Vineyard Cottages and Cafe
#2 of 4 in Ballandean
82 reviews
3.9 mi away
Girraween Environmental Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cypress Ridge Cottages
Cypress Ridge Cottages
#2 of 8 in Ballandean
128 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ridgemill Estate: Cabins in the Vineyard
8.5 mi away
Loggers Rest
Loggers Rest
#4 of 8 in Stanthorpe
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girraween Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girraween Country Inn

Property: Girraween Country Inn
Address: 1793 Eukey Rd, Ballandean, Queensland 4380, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Ballandean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballandean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Girraween Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Girraween Country Inn is in a land of huge Granite Boulders at a height of nearly 1,000 metres on a 40 acre Eucalypt forest. Relax in our comfortable and spacious King Suites, dine in our restaurant and enjoy a selection of the best local wines in our fully licensed bar. The Inn is also ideal for families with one bedroom and adjoining suites, common areas to relax and gardens to explore.All the local attractions are just on our doorstep. The Inn is just moments from the boutique wineries of Ballandean and Stanthorpe and a short drive from the four major National Parks. We look forward to welcoming you to the Girraween Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Girraween Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing